Ratings based on 251 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gilbert, AZ

Autumn in Edinburgh

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Hotel was approximately a 15 minute walk to the Grassmarket which is full of pubs, dining and the Royal Mile. Our favorite restaurant was a tapas place called Andaluz located in the newer part of town. Our hotel was a bargain and centrally located in the Old Town area, but I'm not sure how comfortable it would be in warm weather as there are no fans or a thermostat in the room. Wifi was good and was able to print my boarding pass with help from the front desk. The Haymarket was also a short 15 minute walk to the train station where we picked up the tram/light rail to the airport for £5 each -coins only in the kiosk. For a short 30 minute ride on the train I suggest a visit to Stirling Castle, you won't be disappointed!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cqnada

A great location . The beds were very comfortable.

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Cons: Cooler room for sleeping the heat was on and we could do nothing to regulate it.
This hotel had a great location. the beds were very comfortable and the room was unite and clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was too hot at night and we couldn't regulate the temperature. it was what it was. I would recommend this hotel . It has character.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

OK hotel, too expensive for what you get

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Staff were fairly silent, considering the price you can get much nicer rooms elsewhere, our room had marked and stained walls, the bed was fine and the bathroom was clean but it had a shabby look.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

hotel 10 mins from main shopping/touring area

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: It was clean and tidy.
Cons: larger room bigger bed. bathroom towels looked tired
Location: shopping in the main part of town is up to a 15 min walk, Edinburgh castle 10 min walk, lots of places to eat and drink
The hotel from the outside look fabulous, our room was a standard room, the double bed was very small, as was the room, however we were not in it much as we were down for the Ryder Cup & taking in the wonderful sites that Scotland have to offer. The hotel had a very odd arrangement regarding the booking of breakfast, you had to purchase a ticket at £8 before 11pm that night to allow you to have breakfast in the morning, I felt a hotel of this standard should not be requesting their clients to do this, so we went to Costa coffee instead !!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Belfast, UK

Great hotel-very handy for conference centre and G

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Really enjoyed my one night stay here. Staff excellent and very helpful. Room was very nice and comfortable with a separate sitting area. Breakfast was really good too with a great selection of continental breakfast and also a cooked breakfast to order. Reception and waiting staff were very helpful and friendly. Ten minute walk to International conference centre and the same to the Grassmarket/Castle area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Christchurch NZ

Excellent hotel

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: The hair dryer in the room was wired into the draw and so never reached the mirror. Never bothered me but the missus was very annoyed.
Location: Quite central for the castle and the tourist areas.
Stayed for two nights. A good location and a great hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2014
The room wasnt ready on time but once it was after an hour it was a very pleasant experience and a great place to stay. The room was huge and a great price for the size and amenities
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Beijing

Nice Hotel closed to Edinburgh Castle

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: The location at Edinburgh City
Cons: It's better if the time for Check-Out could be able to delay to 2pm rather than 12 noon.
Location: Visit the museum of Edinburgh, the castle and the old city tour.
It's easy to go to the Museum, Gallery and the Castle. Nice stay at the bar for a leisure time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Cons: More parking, but being in the heart of Edinburgh its understandable
A nice hotel in the heart of Edinburgh. Was able to walk to the castle and Royal Mile.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Exceptional find

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Being Festival time, affordable accommodation was very thin on the ground, but reading favourable reviews we decided to book this older 3 star property. I've no idea who awards or how these stars are chosen, (I'll Google it later), all I can say is 'they got it wrong'. This was one of the BEST hotels we've ever stayed in. It has character as soon as you enter the courtyard. The receptionists are pleasant and helpful and without fuss directed to our room; 204, a corner room in this old hospital building. The windows had secondary glazing, so there was no noise from outside, not even the fireworks from the Edinburgh Tatoo nearby. The bed was comfortable and the pillows ideal. The room decoration was in really good repair and all amenities serviceable. Not an exceptionally large room, but we only wanted a place to rest as we were there for the 'Fringe'. Breakfast was outstanding. The staff attentive without being too imposing. My full English breakfast (it's not Scottish/Welsh etc.) was well cooked and substantial. 5-10 minutes taxi ride from Waverley train station and within walking distance of all Edinburgh's main sights makes the Edinburgh City Hotel the ideal place to stay.