Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice Lodge. Lovely view and friendly staff

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: Close to the Carberry Tower
Cons: Internet connection is really poor
Location: Local churches, lovely scenery.
Lodges are fit for purpose and within the compound of the Carberry Tower. Nice clean and comfortable. 30 minutes drive away from Edinburgh town city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

perfect!!

Posted May 1, 2014
Pros: peaceful
Cons: nothing!!
Location: perfect for us as we were close to portabella beach
this was booked as a stop of....and what a lovely surprise to see that we were actually within a stones throw from the MAGNIFICENT tower!!!!...wonderful breakfast and service..................what more can I say!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mark from London

Castle Escape!!!

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: It was a CASTLE!!! It was beautiful and a lovely retreat with very comfortable linen and facilities. Highly recommended!
Cons: The booking system - I had confirmation codes on two separate rooms but hotel only were aware of one. Fortunately, the staff assisted and resolved.
Location: Musselborough does not offer a lot but Edinburgh is a short 10-20 minute drive away. Not sure how well serviced the public transport is.
This was a fantastic actual castle from the 11th century! Amazing! Very luxurious, comfortable and lots to see and do both within the castle and the private grounds. Absolutely highly recommended, friendly staff and very reasonably priced as well!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Disappointing overall

Posted Mar 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Impressive corporate venue, but lodges less so. Room small but adequate. Bed is standard double, so short if you are tall, and rather hard. TV reception poor. Shower room adequate but needs refurbishment: tile grout, heater thermostat faulty so was stiflingly hot. Got woken in early morning by very noisy guests in other rooms. Overall disappointing: may be OK for overnight, but would not consider for longer stay. After complaining to manager, decided not to bother with the, typically, over priced breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Diane from York

Nice lodges only 5 mins away from station

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Pros: Closeness to Edinburgh, peaceful surroundings and price
Cons: Nothing, we were happy for that price with what we got, it is nicer and better located than several of the budget hotels
Location: 5 mins from Wallyford Station which has regular trains to Edinburgh, the last train being at 11.15pm on Saturday night. Musselburgh very close.
This is a very peaceful location and only 5 mins away from Wallyford Train station where you can park your car for free all day and get on the train to Edinburgh for £3.60 return (kids go free if travelling with adults). We checked in at Carberry Tower (the posh hotel) as there was no-one on the check in desk in the lodges, we were told where to park the car and which lodge our room was in. We had a triple room and it was fine for the 3 of us. We didnt use the bar or restaurant in the Carberry Tower, but were told we could. The only slight downside was noise during the night from possibly a water heater or some sort of water boiler, it was quite loud at times, but not sure if this can be heard in all rooms. As we were only staying one night, we didnt bother querying it, but would have done if staying longer. For the price and ease of getting into Edinburgh and the A1, it was definitely worth the money and we will definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

nye

Posted Jan 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice lodges located next to Carberry Tower. Main hotel fantastic place and grounds very nice. You get what you pay for clean free parking and cheap for New year decent overall
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Hannah from Australia

Nice people, not great location

Posted Jan 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
I only meet the cleaner who was so lovely and helpful, she was great! The rooms were nice, in a pretty spot however your not near anything. Literally we were an hour walk to the closest bus stop which was 45mins from edinburgh, your also not near any shops, so if you have a car yes this is good value however if you have no car, you can't stay here unless you want to pay for a cab to do anything, which for us was very expensive. Should have done my research.
2 out of 5
by sharon from Perth, Australia

Below expectation!

Posted Oct 14, 2013
Pros: Looks good from outside
Cons: Rectify above problems
Location: Its more a hideout for honeymooners! Nothing nearby.
1 Difficult to locate. Listed in Expedia as Edinburgh Lodge but in actual fact it is listed under Carberry Tower. Check in at Carberry Tower and they will then assign you the Lodge. 2 Electricity keeps on tripping. It affected the whole Lodge 3 Water temperature from the taps was difficult to adjust
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Leo harrigan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 14, 2013 on Hotels.com