Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by asha

NEAR TOWNCENTRE

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Hotel is near town centre.I stayed for 2 days and took the suite room. My bathroom was not cleaned. Hotel staff are helpful. Breakfast was not of standard you would expect for a rate of 150/night. No hot food such as baked beans etc. Staff were polite and helpful. The stay was not for me s I was a business visitor. I had to pay additional £10 for internet which I felt was too much for the rate I paid a complimentary internet must have been appreciated. The first night the internet did not work and the 2nd night it worked.I would not stay again there as business customer due to lack of business facilities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by David from Barcelona

Lovely Hotel with an Amazing Staff

Posted May 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
I have traveled a lot throughout Europe and have to say that I have never met such a delightful staff during my travels. Edinburgh is such an amazing place and the people are the most friendly and authentic that I have ever experienced. The hotel is charming in a lovely, quiet neighborhood. It's a 10 minute walk to Rose Street or the Haymarket train station. The rooms are nicely decorated and clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by deb from leeds

Excellent customer service!

Posted May 15, 2014
Pros: service
Cons: evening meal availability could be reviewed - Couldnt eat in the hotel unless I ordered in room service from external
Location: a 20 minute walk to city centre, 5 minutes from Haymarket station, lovely restaurants nearby, and old fashioned cresents full of georgian houses.
Last minute booking due to being let down by booked hotel. Georgeous Georgian building in a quiet and attractive location just outside the city. Internally hotel was traditional - a real labour of love with the restoration by the owners and this gave it a wonderful and homely feel. Upgraded to the Suite by owner (lovely after the day I'd had!) which overlooked the main street - very quiet and welcoming room. Lovely bathroom and best bit - fluffy robes! Not a fancy boutique hotel, no pretentions, just homely, welcoming, warm - I had a really pleasant and enjoyable stay. Id definitely return to this hotel, and was pleased to have landed such a gem at such late notice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Vanessa from California

Charming, Quaint & Close to All

Posted Apr 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our stay was excellent. From the moment we walked in the door, Annick greeted us as if we had just stepped into the home of our great aunt. We stayed in the Manor Suite; huge open space, almost like a studio apt, comfy bed & a view overlooking the street with large impressive windows. Having just come from EU, we forgot to get USA-->UK power adapters and Annick was kind enough to loan us one of hers. Location is perfect! We walked everywhere from there. Every staff member was extremely helpful & went out of their way when we needed something. We will definitely stay here again when visiting Edinburgh.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by smc from Norton

Nice hotel but location wasn't great

Posted Mar 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff were friendly and the rooms were good considering price although it was quite a walk from where I needed to be
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Gavin from London

Good location

Posted Mar 13, 2014
Pros: Friendly helpful service
Cons: A restaurant.
Friendly staff, good location for Princes Street. Shame they do not have a restaurant, but plenty of places within 10 minutes to eat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Smithlp from Brechin

Ideal location

Posted Mar 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent hotel, staff very friendly, room nice and clean. Ideally situated - 5 minutes from Haymarket railway station. We were attending the Rugby at Murrayfield which was our decision on hotel location, but Princes Street was only a 10 minute walk in the opposite direction.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jc46

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Katiej from Cumbria

Super efficient and friendly

Posted Feb 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lone female traveller. Very friendly, secure hotel with very professional, helpful staff. Room excellent for this *** hotel as was everything else; breakfast, rest of hotel, parking, helpfulness. Will stay again. 10 minutes walk from city centre & plenty of eateries within a few minutes walk
4 out of 5
by Debbie from Washington

Nice hotel 10 Minutes away from Princes Street

Posted Oct 15, 2013
Pros: Staff were lovely.
Cons: Bathroom decor.
We booked this hotel as a last minute weekend break. We paid £280 for two nights bed and continental breakfast. We were a little disappointed with the location - it took 10 minutes to walk to the start of Princes Street and so it felt quite out of the way with no bars or restaurants close to the hotel. That said, the staff were very helpful, room 24 was spacious with plenty of storage. The bathroom could have been better kept (flaking skirting boards, cracked tile on the floor) but adequate shower and lots of fluffy towels. Breakfast - there was an option for a full cooked breakfast for an extra £10 but we just stuck with the contintenal which was waitress served - toast, croissants. Got a good nights sleep as the hotel is in a quiet residential area. Note that the parking in the area is all permit holders an ticket machines and I think the nearest NCP carpark is quite a way from the hotel if you are taking you car. Saw a couple of cars getting tickets on the Saturday morining. I would not choose to stay in this hotel again just because of it's location.