Ratings based on 115 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boise, Idaho

Lots of charm and good location

Posted May 30, 2015
Pros: The location and charm.
Cons: The room was a bit small. It had one chair and the bed for seating, so another chair would have been nice.
Location: Close to a bus stop, shopping, grocery stores, and restaurants.
The hotel is beautiful, full of charm, and the staff is friendly. Our room didn't have a lot of space, but it had an updated bathroom and nice TV. It is on a fairly busy street but is surprisingly quiet inside. It's close to the buses and within walking distance of stores, restaurants, and groceries. And it's across the street from a large, lovely park.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 4, 2015
Bigger room than expected but the shower didn't properly work. The hot water go and come.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario Canada

Posted Apr 26, 2015
The room was comfortable, clean and recently updated. The only complaint was it became very cold over night and the wind whistled through the windows, maybe these need to be updated as well. No separate heat source in the bathroom which made it chill for showers.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ian from UK

Staff ok, but poor room/building standards

Posted Apr 4, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed four nights. On arrival, first room - freezing cold and radiator in room half-buried by built-in wardrobe, so no way to turn on rad. Moved to another room with no fuss. Third day, no hot water in morning. Had to shower in another room just vacated, not cleaned and very dirty. That evening, found carpet soaked - inch of water! Moved to another room, no fuss. This was on ground floor and staff made so much racket during evening and night - even at 3am - didn't get much sleep. Glad to depart! Overall, staff ok, building/room standards very poor.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Edward from Largs

Very Poor

Posted Mar 8, 2015 on Hotels
Very disappointed with my stay at Edinburgh House Hotel. I booked to stay for 5 nights for work and in that time I had to move rooms twice. The first time there was no signal for wifi in my room at the rear of the hotel and the second time there was a problem with ants! Missing kettle, missing TV remote controls, TV remote controls which barely worked and bedside table lamps which didn't work. The rooms were comfortable and the staff were fairly helpful but this time I got what I paid for.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Victoria, BC

Posted Feb 25, 2015
So wifi was an extra £3 per day, which I would have been happy to pay if it had worked. As it turned out the "wifi" in our room was actually a cord that only reached about a foot from the door and then turned out to not fit my laptop. When I went back to the front desk to say I wouldn't be able to use the Internet the staff grudgingly gave me money back but didn't believe us when we said we weren't going to use it. (I suppose they thought we'd written down the password . . .) Also the room, bathroom in particular, was freezing cold even with the heat turned all the way up.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You get less than what you pay for.

Posted Feb 5, 2015
Reception girl was aggressive. Heating was non existent (required in February). Door security was a joke, could have opened with a bump. En-suite was shower cubicle in a normal size bedroom.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good rates, basic facilities

Posted Feb 3, 2015
My stay at the hotel was absolutely ok for travelers on a budget. The staff was nice and helpful. It was a simple room, a comfortable bed and small and clean bathroom. It's only 15 minutes to the city centre and about 15 to Leith, a variety of restaurants, express supermarkets and pubs are only 7 min away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Great location, good price, massive room!

Posted Jan 29, 2015
Very well priced room with 2 TVs!! Newly decorated and very clean. Comfy bed and lovely shower. Would stay again. Staff also let us check in 3 hours early :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Graeme from Edinburgh

Edinburgh house

Posted Jan 29, 2015 on Hotels
Straight forward, stayed several times, clean rooms that are very modern compared with pics, never had a problem