Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wifi code (pilrig2014) ;)

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Cons: Paying for wifi.... Come on, who does that?
Reviews weren't great for this place so I wasn't expecting much when I got there. however once you get over the fact you have to pay 3 quid for wifi and extras for breakfast, it's a bargain. I had a basement room which had a very nice ensuit and a very comfortable bed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Cons: Customer service. Making sure that services that they are providing are working - i.e. TV, wifi, etc.
The stay was disappointing at many levels. It doesn't really feel like a proper hotel. It doesn't seem to be run seriously. Just some thing that some people are doing as extra money on the side and hence not caring much about customer service, etc. The house is squeaky, the rooms are very small, not many amenities are included, the TV didn't work, and the wifi didn't work. There are many other hotels/hostels that seemed to be better and nearer to the city center.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from scotland

Average hotel in Edinburgh

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Pros: The number 11 bus stops every 10min close by.
Cons: The room decor, sound proofing, room size, room facilities
Location: Leith walk is 5min walk and the city centre roughly 20min up leith walk.
We stayed 3 nights in the Edinburgh house hotel. The attic twin room was small and hot. The decor was a bit tired and basic. The ensuite was clean, but the window opened only a inch. The stairs up to the attic rooms are steep. We also had a noisy neighbour the last night so the sound proofing between the rooms is poor. The hotel is about a 20min walk from the city centre with the number 11 bus stopping close by every 10min. Overall this is an average hotel, slightly overpriced.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pakistan

Nice hotel close to the city centre and attraction

Posted Jul 9, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brenda from Montreal, canada

Staff makes all the difference

Posted Jun 21, 2014
We found this accommodation on the internet not knowing anything about Edinburgh or the surrounding areas.. We just went on the reviews.. We are happy we did! Although the outside appearance is not maybe as polished as it's neighbours, the rooms inside are all clean. Our beds were very comfortable and the staff all go the extra mile for the guests. We were able to sit in the back garden and enjoy fellowship with the other guests.. Any request we made at the front desk was cheerfully accommodated. Leith is very convenient, a short taxi or bus ride to all central attractions. The small area of Leith itself is very interesting and we loved checking out what the locals had to offer. In particular, Azlina and Gina, the two gals at the front desk are just marvellous as they seems to magically handle the in and outflow of all the guests.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was comfortable but noisy
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sumit jhawar from amsterdam

Stopover for Highlands tour

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Close to center, moderately price, small n clean, basic room. We went at night just to sleep.. So ur was ok... Good for two ppl.. Size of room is small but it's convenient, clean n comfortable. I got front facing room on first floor, nice view of park. Hotel staff was friendly.. I missed a small refrigerator personal ref in room..as it was nice sunny weather, bottle opener was not available in hotel, there were towels n shower gell but I missed shampoo, body lotion...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alicia from Michigan

Good but not great

Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was under the impression that the hotel was significantly more central than it actually was. The room was nice and once we understood where we were, it wasn't a bad walk, it was just the first time searching that was difficult. The room was fine, a bit cramped but not too much and the shower was good. No major complaints but not positive if I would book it again.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Ex-Pat from Canada

Mis-informed on services

Posted May 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Probably the worst place I have steyed in Edinburgh, I booked with an en-suite, but this was one floor down from the room. On booking I asked if breakfast was included answer "yes", when I went down next morning I was told that this service was an additional charge. When I called3-4 times to find the exact hotel location I was given all sorts of wrong information, suggest that the staff aquaint themselves with where they are working. Overall total dis-satisfied
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good links and even walking into city centre ok

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: liked hotel was good value for money
Location: playhouse nearby, omni centre for food and rose street for pubs
hotel room massive clean and tidy. road was pretty noisy even for a sunday