Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overnight stay

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Good location for what we needed.
Cons: We were very surprised that proper coffee was not offered we understood it was only instant, it is advised that this policy should change.
Our room was as advertised, a very nice old house.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice B & B with friendly owner, lovely food.

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: The food, ambience and helpfullness
Cons: The fact that it is quite far out is not the fault of the place but it might not suit everyone seeking more to do.
Set in a lovely little village. One needs a car but the buses work well too
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by TM from Wales

nice accommodation, very easy access to Edinburgh

Posted Sep 3, 2013
Pros: Easy access to park and ride
Cons: There is no wi-fi which could be useful to have. Room windows wouldn't open would be good to get some fresh air into the room.
Location: The hotel is beautiful, as is the location.
Had a very enjoyable stay. The owner was lovely, very accommodating in regards to what you want for breakfast and gave us advice on the best ways to get in to Edinburgh. Though on the road side it is quite quiet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Tomball, Texas

B&B to Remember

Posted Aug 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is a historic B&B built before 1772. It was a coach Inn for passengers t eat and sleep. The manager, Ms. Gordon is the best. Every morning at breakfast it's like a United Nations meeting. Everyone from all over the globe sitting and eating breakfast together, and the breakfast is very good. Always plenty to eat. Our room was always clean and very comfortable. The B&B's location is excellent for making daily sight seeing trips. We would not hesitate to stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kirsty from Huddersfield, West Yorkshire, UK

A lovely B&B, worth a visit

Posted Aug 19, 2013
Pros: The owner was great and very accommodating. The room was lovely and clean with everything you could need.
This is a lovely B&B run by a very nice lady who couldn't be more accommodating. It's about 20 minutes from Edinburgh so is a great base to explore from. We only stayed one night but would love to go back. You have to try the home made jam!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Place to stay by Car

Posted Aug 17, 2013
This is a great place to stay as long as you know a couple things and they fit your needs. The proprietor runs the place on her own and you have to live within her schedule, meaning she locks the doors at midnight and expects everyone to be in their rooms at that time. You don't have a key to the outside of the building so you have to be in by then. I'm sure if you were late and rang the doorbell you would be let in but that was certainly frowned upon. It wasn't a huge issue but we did find ourselves cutting the evening short in Edinburgh to race back in time for midnight. There is a bus stop right out in front of the place that runs once an hour. I believe it stops at 8:00 at night though. If you have a car there is a car park about 10 - 15 minutes towards Edinburgh and regular buses that go from there into the center of town (about another 10 minutes). We did this both days we were there and it worked great. Parking is free in the car park and you don't have to mess with parking in town. It would be pretty tough to stay here if you didn't have a car. Overall, we were happy with the stay and the cost. The owner put out a nice breakfast every morning and was eager to please.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Aseer

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Paul C from Cheshire

Good traditional guesthouse

Posted Jul 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very friendly and helpful owners. Rooms are large, no en suite but good provision of toilets / showers. No TV in room which is a blessing after staying in numerous hotels with wall-mounted TVs which can be very loud in adjacent rooms. Free wi-fi, TV lounge. Breakfast nice. There is a restarant providing evening meals half a mile down the road, an easy 10 minute walk. The guesthouse is on a main road so good access to Edinburgh, bus stop just over the road. Free parking. Good price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Edinburgh Marathon Festival - Great Base

Posted May 29, 2013
Nice, friendly bed and breakfast. Beautiful old house. Welcoming, warm and clean. Ideal base for trips into Edinburgh. Close to park and ride. We used the hotel as a base for the Edinburgh Marathon festival and wouldn't hesitate to do so again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good b and b close to Edinburgh,in rural location.

Posted Aug 26, 2012
Very accommodating in every sense of the word - lady who ran it could not have been more helpful. Thoroughly recommended.