Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by Gavin & Kerrie from Brisbane Australia

Room clean staff lovely but would not stay again

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Could walk to everything Lots of parking but at Grove St apartments
Cons: Maybe a bit more explanation that there is three towers so people could chose better what they require
Location: Could walk and easy flat walking to the City and to the base of the Castle but you still have to walk up to the entrance
There are three towers of apartments in three locations two in Grove street and one in Morrison St. We were in Morrison St it seemed a lot older and no elevator so up the narrow stairway with the large suitcases, As I said nothing wrong with room but the other locations would of been better as that is where the car park was. We had to lug the suitcases a block to get into our apartment. There is no reception in the Morrison St area. The Serviced apartments did not get serviced until 5pm Sorry we had been out all day at that time we were relaxing or getting ready to go out. Just asked for clean towels we did the servicing ourselves. Stayed because it was an apartment so we could wash and dry not a fan of the combination washer drier they take hours and hours and the clothes are never fully dry.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pippa from London

Great if you don't want the formality of a hotel

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: A very good supply of tea, coffee, sugar and milk substitute were provided. Kitchen was well appointed and clean.
Cons: Would have been good to have matching hand or body lotion for the lovely shower gels. Only one bath towel was provided for a double room.
Location: Close to a Sainsbury's and Tesco for provisions. Easy walking distance to the center of town, and/or good bus routes if you don't like walking.
Arrived before 3pm but they kindly let us check-in early as the room was ready. Very straightforward, though had to go to the Grove Street branch to get the keys. This was not a problem for us as we only had a light bag each, but families with lots of baggage may find this a bit of a pain. Decor is a little tired, but clean. The lack of nets or blinds means that you have to either close the curtains or put up with the folk across the road staring in at you if you want daylight in the rooms - something to bear in mind if you like your privacy. It was great to have a separate living room. The wifi was a little temperamental but we were there over the weekend so this may have been down to the number of people trying to use it at the same time (?).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Monali from Coventry

Good Stay and centrally located!

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything was fine, the only problem is the keys are to be collected from Grove Street which is a very short distance from the apartments, but if you are not driving and if you are tired after the whole days travelling it is a bit difficult.In my case I flew in to Edinburgh early morning and had to wait till half past 1 for the keys. The lady at the reception , was kind and allowed us to keep our luggage was really a bit stressful when we had to collect the keys and drag our luggage and then climb the stairs to get to the room. However the room was comfy and had all essential amenities and the housekeeping was regular.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 9, 2013
Pros: Close to downtown Edinburgh.
Cons: It was just a little too small. Bath was a nice touch though.
Location: I was working, but the Castle is not too far away, Haymarket railway station basically across the street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Matt from Warwick, UK

Better than a hotel

Posted Nov 4, 2013
Pros: Location, price, size of room.
Cons: Needs refurbishment, but everything is clean and functional.
Location: 3 minutes walk from the EICC.
Fountain Court Apartments have several locations in this area. The Morrison Street ones are definitely shabbier than the others, and are now in need of refurbishment. However, this is only surface deep. What I got for my money (about half the price of hotels I was looking at) was a good sized bedroom with a comfortable bed, a huge living room with a serviceable kitchen and dining table, and a separate bathroom. It also had a washer/dryer. This last is an incredible saving in itself if you're staying long enough to have to wash clothes: hotel laundry rates are criminal.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Some rooms good, some not so much

Posted Oct 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
No elevator, so luggage may be an issue on higher floors. Parking lot is down the street, which it takes 5 streets to get to because of all the one-way. Parking is 10 GBP/night. Slept in two rooms. The studio down in the basement had a busted shower, slow drain, running toilet, and an uncomfortable bed. The room upstairs was really nice and clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mike from London

Reasonable Budget Apartments

Posted Oct 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
Clean and reasonably maintained. Good business rather than tourist location. The apartment was clean, and all the appliances etc were in reasonable shape. Definitely not luxury though! Nothing in the fridge or cupboards. 3rd Floor with no lift. In the morning there was no hot water. I did complain about this at check out, and fair enough the guy said he would have come round and sorted it if I had called. But I didn't call because I didn't have time to faff about getting it sorted when I had to get to the office.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Amy from New York

Excellent value in convenient area

Posted Oct 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed our stay at the Fountain Court and would happily stay there again. The flat is quite comfortable for two people, and it was clean and well maintained. Management is professional, with courteous, helpful service. The area was safe and very convenient, and though Morrison Road is a busy street, the flat faced a quiet courtyard and was quite quiet. Cons: The wi-fi worked only sporadically, which wouldn't normally have been a concern, but I had a presentation to finish and needed access. Also, there was a dripping tap that needed repair, and it kept us awake till we figured out how to dampen the noise. But overall, we were very pleased indeed with our accomodations and would recommend the flat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Nova Scotia, Canada

Excellent value

Posted Sep 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
The apartment was very well equipped and clean. There were lots of good, and reasonably priced restaurants in the area for those nights we wanted to to eat out. Although it took about 15 minutes to walk to the main tourist areas it was nice to be in a bit quieter (and less touristy) neighborhood. It was also very convenient to be so close to the Haymarket train station (5 minute walk). We would definitely stay her again
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our central location. I look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards Stephen Kinnear Reception Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Brian from Edinburgh

Posted Aug 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great accomadation. Pity about the check in time being so late. Will prob not stay again because of this reason. Checkin time is 3. We landed at 11 am. Disappointed