Ratings based on 107 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Large, private room on a quaint street.

Posted Aug 18, 2014
An excellent, spacious room just outside of the heart of Edinburgh. Some reviewers have warned not to get a basement apartment, but the basement apartment with Fountain court is just partially sunk, so the windows in the back are large and bright. In addition, the hedges around the windows provide great privacy. The room was much bigger than we'd anticipated.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Good apartment, but noisy, "well lit" location

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: The apartment itself was pretty good, but you need to get one away from the street.
Cons: Ask the wine bar to keep the patrons inside and not on the street plus remove the street light. The latter is not rocket science.
Location: Edinburgh is great. The location is good with the old town within walking distance.
The apartment was fairly spacious and clean. I was happy with the apartment, but there were a number of problems with the location. The apartment was located on the second floor beside a busy road. That was OK, but on the other side of the road is a wine bar, where the patrons like to chat quite loudly until 5 am in the morning. I am happy for them, but it is not always easy to sleep when people are shouting and singing outside your window at 3 am in the morning. Another problem is that some genius attached a street light to the apartment where the street light was directly above the bedroom window. I kid you not. Seriously, who with a grain of common sense would think that it is a good idea to locate a high intensity street light directly above a bedroom window of an apartment?
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 13, 2014 by Stephen, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review you have given to our Morrison apartments, we do apologise that on this occasion the location has not been of the standard expected. Unfortunately Edinburgh at this time of year has extended licensing due to the Festival which can result in later than usual revelry. We do have other locations which may be more suitable and we do hope to welcome you on future trips to Edinburgh. Best regards, Colin Mackay, Fountain Court team.
3 out of 5
by Gavin & Kerrie from Brisbane Australia

Room clean staff lovely but would not stay again

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Could walk to everything Lots of parking but at Grove St apartments
Cons: Maybe a bit more explanation that there is three towers so people could chose better what they require
Location: Could walk and easy flat walking to the City and to the base of the Castle but you still have to walk up to the entrance
There are three towers of apartments in three locations two in Grove street and one in Morrison St. We were in Morrison St it seemed a lot older and no elevator so up the narrow stairway with the large suitcases, As I said nothing wrong with room but the other locations would of been better as that is where the car park was. We had to lug the suitcases a block to get into our apartment. There is no reception in the Morrison St area. The Serviced apartments did not get serviced until 5pm Sorry we had been out all day at that time we were relaxing or getting ready to go out. Just asked for clean towels we did the servicing ourselves. Stayed because it was an apartment so we could wash and dry not a fan of the combination washer drier they take hours and hours and the clothes are never fully dry.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 13, 2014 by Stephen, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review you have given to our Morrison apartments, unfortunately it is not possible to offer parking at our Morrison street apartments and we do apologise that on this occasion the service has fallen below our usual standards. We do hope to see you on future trips to Edinburgh. Best regards, Colin Mackay, Fountain Court team.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pippa from London

Great if you don't want the formality of a hotel

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: A very good supply of tea, coffee, sugar and milk substitute were provided. Kitchen was well appointed and clean.
Cons: Would have been good to have matching hand or body lotion for the lovely shower gels. Only one bath towel was provided for a double room.
Location: Close to a Sainsbury's and Tesco for provisions. Easy walking distance to the center of town, and/or good bus routes if you don't like walking.
Arrived before 3pm but they kindly let us check-in early as the room was ready. Very straightforward, though had to go to the Grove Street branch to get the keys. This was not a problem for us as we only had a light bag each, but families with lots of baggage may find this a bit of a pain. Decor is a little tired, but clean. The lack of nets or blinds means that you have to either close the curtains or put up with the folk across the road staring in at you if you want daylight in the rooms - something to bear in mind if you like your privacy. It was great to have a separate living room. The wifi was a little temperamental but we were there over the weekend so this may have been down to the number of people trying to use it at the same time (?).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by KenG from Troon

Excellent value

Posted Apr 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stayed for one night. Wish I'd stayed for longer as the apartment was great. On street parking is free after 1830 at weekends.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Traveller1986 from Singapore

Overall decent

Posted Mar 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Decent hotel for the price you pay.. Considered rather spacious and quite well equipped (there was even a dishwasher provided). Bed was very comfortable..bathroom was also awesome. However, there were obviously areas that needed improvement, such as overall maintenance of the apartment. The living area had not been properly aired and we could smell food the moment we stepped into the apartment. Dustbin in the kitchen had also not been cleared which was quite disgusting.. One chair in the living room had a big patch of stain on it. And when we booked through Hotels.com, we were expecting breakfast to come along with the stay (as stated in the booking form); however, the guy at the reception insisted that they do not provide breakfast for free and that it was a mistake which had something to do with a third party which liaised with Hotels.com. He even suggested we take it up to Hotels.com, insisting the hotel had no part to play. Ok, assuming that it was a genuine mistake, we felt that he could at least offer to provide complimentary coffee just as a nice gesture or at least call up the so-called third party agent to clarify matters and not brush us off like that. Felt a bit cheated. Not that we really cared to have their breakfast but the bad service just left a somewhat bad taste in our mouths.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Monali from Coventry

Good Stay and centrally located!

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything was fine, the only problem is the keys are to be collected from Grove Street which is a very short distance from the apartments, but if you are not driving and if you are tired after the whole days travelling it is a bit difficult.In my case I flew in to Edinburgh early morning and had to wait till half past 1 for the keys. The lady at the reception , was kind and allowed us to keep our luggage was really a bit stressful when we had to collect the keys and drag our luggage and then climb the stairs to get to the room. However the room was comfy and had all essential amenities and the housekeeping was regular.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 9, 2013
Pros: Close to downtown Edinburgh.
Cons: It was just a little too small. Bath was a nice touch though.
Location: I was working, but the Castle is not too far away, Haymarket railway station basically across the street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Matt from Warwick, UK

Better than a hotel

Posted Nov 4, 2013
Pros: Location, price, size of room.
Cons: Needs refurbishment, but everything is clean and functional.
Location: 3 minutes walk from the EICC.
Fountain Court Apartments have several locations in this area. The Morrison Street ones are definitely shabbier than the others, and are now in need of refurbishment. However, this is only surface deep. What I got for my money (about half the price of hotels I was looking at) was a good sized bedroom with a comfortable bed, a huge living room with a serviceable kitchen and dining table, and a separate bathroom. It also had a washer/dryer. This last is an incredible saving in itself if you're staying long enough to have to wash clothes: hotel laundry rates are criminal.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Some rooms good, some not so much

Posted Oct 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
No elevator, so luggage may be an issue on higher floors. Parking lot is down the street, which it takes 5 streets to get to because of all the one-way. Parking is 10 GBP/night. Slept in two rooms. The studio down in the basement had a busted shower, slow drain, running toilet, and an uncomfortable bed. The room upstairs was really nice and clean.