Ratings based on 548 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel in Edinburgh old town

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: location and decor
The room was vey hot and uncomfortable. also the Wi-Fi was so slow that it was impossible to use.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bahrain

Great location near Royal Mile

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: Great location near many sightseeing spots, cafes, restaurants and pubs. Very nice room.
Cons: Laundry facilities.
We had a very nice room, we were told it was the largest in the hotel (we were traveling as a family), so we had a bedroom, bath and living area with a sofa bed and kitchenette. Unfortunately, the windows in the bedroom are on the stairs coming up from down the hill and since it was very warm and we kept the windows open, we were awakened very early in the morning by people going home from their night out. Also, they told us they had a free guest laundry room. This consisted of two washers and two dryers but the cleaning staff were using the facilities to wash face clothes and other towels and the dryers were not working properly. I was lucky I got my washing done and then dried for the most part before they completely gave out, I would have hated to have been the person behind me, who's laundry was in the washing machines when the dryers both quit working.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Amazing location, great accommodations

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Location was perfect. Good value for the money.
Location: This is the main tourist area of Edinburgh! So many things are less than a 5 minute walk away - St. Giles Cathedral, Edinburgh Castle, many, many more
The location of this hotel is superb. I walked outside, turned the corner, and was immediately looking at the St. Giles Cathedral. It's situated in the middle of the Royal Mile (the high street), and I was able to walk here from the train station, and walk everywhere I wanted to go in Edinburgh from the hotel. The accommodations are lovely as well. The room was very clean, well kept, and had all of the amenities I needed. It doesn't have AC but you don't need it - I stayed in the middle of summer and open windows were all I needed for cooling. Very clean and roomy (although you won't need to spend much time in the hotel in such a beautiful city). They had complimentary on-site self-serve laundry facilities as well, which is huge since hotel laundry service fees are always exorbitant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nova Scotia

Near the Royal Mile

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Location: One would never be bored if staying here for one night or a week with many attractions, castles, shoos, pubs and restaurants within walking distance.
My wife and I had a wonderful stay here in the heart of Edinburgh. So close to many attractions and such a wonderfully kept hotel. The room, although not spacious had a luxurious comfort and pleasantness about it. It was clean and well kept.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Location perfect!

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Good size room, with tea making facilities and microwave. Nice bathroom and power shower.
Cons: The room we were in was too hot and the view was not very nice, at the back of buildings.
Location: Sightseeing, shopping and eating out!
Very nice hotel in a perfect location around the corner from the Royal Mile and Edinburgh Castle. Also in walking distance for coaches to and from the airport and the train station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: Close to the center of the city close to most everything
Cons: Coffee maker in the room
very good clean comfortable staff very friendly and helpful room was small compared to North American standards but functional
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Virginia

Excellent location to OldTown

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: Location, friendliness of staff, very clean, nicely furnished.
Cons: The room wasn't hot but it is not air conditioned.
Location: Right beside St. Giles Cathedral in Old Town and the News steps which lead to New Town. Perfect location to walk to everything!
We were so pleased with hotel that we would definitely book the same one if we return to Edinburgh. The staff is very helpful, the hotel clean and newly furnished. Excellent spot, excellent value!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Central location and elegant hotel

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: The central position and the room!
Location: Close to the Cathedral and the Castle and 10 minutes walking from the train station!
I have booked this hotel to spend a lovely night with my mother visiting Edinburgh. It was the best hotel comparing price and location. In the centre of the city and very clean elegant and comfortable. Unfortunately we spent just 1 night!!! I will definitely recommend it to my friends! Very funny episode was that when we went out the train station we wanted to catch a cab to the hotel and the taxi driver said is just here behind you can walk! It was actually very close but with 200 stairs to reach it because we took the short cut. My mum wanted to kill me!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, great hotel

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: The junior suite was lovely and the location was brilliant.
Cons: The WiFi wasn't great, we really struggled with any connection. If the WiFi was better I would definitely have given 5* rating
Location: Great location right by the old town yet walking distance to the shopping centres.
Would definitely recommend if you're travelling to Edinburgh as the location was incredible. WiFi could definitiely be improved by all in all I'd definitely stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by norrie from northumberland

Great location but ....

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Location, original features, comfy bed.
Cons: Sound proofing from outside noise
Location: 3 minutes to princes street gardens, 5 minutes to princes street/rose street/George street. 1 minute from royal mile, 3 minutes from grass market!
Great location just off royal mile with views over princes street gardens but the noise from outside through the original sash windows was the biggest let down.