Ratings based on 510 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seoul

Wonderful stay at the G&V

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: Clean and location.
It was right on the Royal Mile and very close to nearly all attractions of Edinburgh. Hotel was very clean and design was up to date.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Brilliant location and the hotel spec and services are all excellent. Very elegantly appointed rooms with lovely colours and great touches - like fresh milk in the fridge, sliding doors to make best use of space, mineral water. Quiet too. Nothing to fault - a perfect place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Angus

High quality, amazing location

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Pros: a massive room, a very comfortable bed, a huge bathroom and just excellent location.
Cons: I would have liked to have opened the window a little, but I understand due to health and safety reasons.
Location: For any visitor this hotel is 2 minutes walk from the castle, 2 more in the opposite direction to the grassmarkert and you are already on the mile.
Although I reside in Scotland I needed a hotel to stay over in Edinburgh after attending a gig and having stayed in several other hotels in the city I am always keen to try new ones and this was my first stay at the G & V. I had been before for cocktails but the room was lush and luxurious and that theme was evident throughout the hotel. I got an incredible price via Expedia and the service was excellent with lots of nice features including fast free wifi and a complimentary newspaper in the morning.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to The Witchery and Edinburgh Castle

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Hotel clean and staff excellent but I did feel the feeling of luxury had been marginalised to make the hotel a boutique hotel, e.g thin towels black thin bath robes etc also the window didn't open to let any air in. However lovely Sloe and Steady cocktails served in the bar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cumbria

Excellent hotel & friendly staff

Posted Feb 9, 2015
We have just returned from spending Saturday night at the G&V Hotel in Edinburgh. We were in a party of 8 celebrating my daughter's 18th birthday. We had the most perfect stay at this fantastic hotel. From the minute we arrived to the minute we left we found all of the staff to be friendly, helpful and extremely courteous. In particular, we found the bar staff to be very friendly who asked us about our day and what our plans were for the rest of our stay. The decor of the hotel is modern, bright, funky and incredibly clean. Our leisurely breakfast was fantastic and we enjoyed taking our time and just enjoying being in the hotel. We would recommend this hotel to anyone and we look forward to visiting again at some point in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Glasgow

Excellent hotel on the Royal Mile.

Posted Feb 7, 2015
Pros: We could not fault this hotel and will certainly stay again when in the city for future events. Extra facilities include car park, spa and gymnasium.
Location: Hotel is situated on the Royal Mile, views of the Royal Mile and Castle, close to all amenities, attractions and fantastic restaurants in the city.
Hotel was booked for an overnight stay as we were attending a wedding in the capital. The welcome and standard of service was excellent. The staff were professional, attentive and friendly. The bedroom was very comfortable; the ensuite had a walk-in wet room, beautiful bathrobes, slippers and toiletries provided. We had a meal and breakfast in the hotel both of which offered a comprehensive menu and wine list. We had a stunning three course meal, beautifully presented and the staff were very attentive. The beautiful and very modern surrounding were a break from our usual choice of hotel. I particularly liked the simple lines and colour block throughout the hotel. My husband had forgotten his cufflinks and the staff sourced a new pair and arranged to collect them from a local store, then 'Anne' stepped in and offered to loan him a pair, what more can you ask for in terms of service with a smile!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not as nice as the Missoni

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Sadly losing what was very special about it. The rebranding is poor and the touches that made this amazing arent there anymore!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Glasgow

Lovely Edinburgh hotel on Royal Mile

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Pros: The people, the colour scheme and location
Cons: Spa was a little small but the staff made up for that.
Location: Very central , many restaurants and shops close at hand , not forgetting the Castle of course.
One nights stay to celebrate a special birthday . From the moment we were greeted at the front door to the collection of the luggage & presents we'd left in storage while we went on a little tour , every member of staff was cheerful & helpful. Special mention Marika at the bar who couldn't have been more helpful , she even telephone the restaurant to tell them we were running late. Victoria and her colleague in the spa were also lovely , providing us with a free glass of prosecco to continue the birthday celebrations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Melton Mowbray

New Year break

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: The key ingredient is the staffs attitude - excellent.
Cons: Nothing to mention.
Location: Perfect - very central - out the door and you're straight into it.
Great location, great staff, good bar and good food. Ideal location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2015 by Ann, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback. We are absolutely delighted you had such a fabulous time with us. We wish you a very Happy New Year and look forward to meeting you again sometime soon, Kind regards, James Archer Guest Services Manager
5 out of 5
by Peter Blackburnfrom Australia - WA - Perth

Posted Nov 26, 2014
Pros: The shower
Location: Close to everything
Facilities: Best shower ever; Value: Affordable; Service: Go the extra mile; Handy to the castle, but no view of it