Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good close to restaurants and castle

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Loved Edinburgh and all the quaint street will come back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Edinburgh 4 night stay in June

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: Ideal location within walking distance (< 10 min) from both the fort and Princess St. With a short walk from restaurants.
Cons: No wi fi or internet access. Public wi fi & 3G signals are weak within the apartment, therefore offering wi fi is a must for future renters.
Location: Location ideal for sightseeing and shopping. Buses can take you to vitrually any tourist attraction in the city within 1 bus ride. Tram is a 10 min.
Derek is a great host. He goes out of his way to be helpful and informative. He was quite accomodating for early check in. 2 bedrooms and 2 baths are plenty for a family of 5 or less with 1 queen 3 twin beds. The building itself is 200 years old but thoroughly updated with a modern kitchen with all cookware, utensils, bed linen and towels, soap etc., living and dining areas. There is a washer/dryer, stove top, microwave and full sized fridge. It is located just south of the castle which is visble though the front window. The new tram from the airport has a stop 10 min walk away. This is much more convenient than taking the air bus to Waverly station and then trudging up/down a hill to go anywhere. There are plenty of restaurants in Lawnmarket, along Lothian Rd and even a short walk to New Town. Nearest grocery store is < 2 min walk. It is ideally located near several bus lines as well. The only thing uphill is the castle and Royal Mile itself - only 10 min walk up and then everythting is downhill after that. Scotland weather is what it is. Frequently (even in summer) you will experience chilly winds, warm sunshine, and cloudy overcast days with a light drizzle, all within 24 hours. Edinburgh city is quite compact but save yourself some wear and tear and buy a daily bus/tram pass for GBP 3.50 per day. I canot say I had a single meal that was anything less than good. Only negative is lack of wi fi. For price much less than 2 or even hotel room.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Would expect better for the price

Posted Jun 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
There are definite positives about Greyfriars Apartments. As mentioned by other reviewers, Derek was very helpful and does the company proud. Also, the apartment (90 Grassmarket) is perfectly located for visiting Edinburgh. However, there are couple reasons why I would not consider staying in the apartment again. First, the apartment is simply rather run-down; e.g., it has no air conditioning and gets extremely warm on sunny days, it has virtually no sound-proofing (while you should expect some outside noise due to the location, the level of noise audible is just ridiculous). Second, there was no housekeeping (despite staying in the apartment for 4 nights) which is not what would be expected from a company aiming for the upper end of the market. While the apartment is by no means without its appeal, in my opinion, it doesn't reach the standard it is advertised as in terms of quality and comfort. I simply didn't think that it was worth the money asked for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by jennadupreez from London

Wonderful Service and amazing apartment!!

Posted Jun 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
From start to finish the entire process was so easy! Derek met us the moment we arrived and showed us around the apartment. Nothing was too difficult. The apartment itself was amazing and spacious. I couldn't have asked for anything more!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Andrei from London, UK

A place like no other

Posted May 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
If you want an unforgettable night in Edinburgh, forget the hotels - try this place! Located literally across the road from the castle and the beautiful park & gardens, the accommodation offers a superb split-level apartment featuring 3m ceilings, cozy beds, modern and fully equipped kitchen and bathrooms and some stunning views onto the castle. Couldn't imagine a better place to spend the night in Edinburgh!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Fab apartment with lovely views of The Castle!

Posted May 11, 2014
We were extremely impressed with this apartment which was actually more of a townhouse, it was very clean and nicely decorated, huge ceilings and original features. It was a short walk from a Edinburgh Castle which you had a lovely view of. The Manager was very friendly and went met us as soon as we arrived (which was 10.30am) to let us in which you wouldn't get from a hotel. We would definitely recommend this apartment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sean C from Seattle, WA

Edinburgh Home Base

Posted May 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
What a delight to meet Derek and the rest of the Greyfriars team, and then to see the fantastic apartment we had rented (1 Parliament Square). First off, Derek was polite and prompt in meeting us and letting us get our (very heavy) bags off and into the apartment. It was huge compared to the other places we had stayed during our visit to Europe! A nice sized living area, good kitchen, eating nook, and the biggest bathroom we had in three weeks (my wife is a huge fan of a soak in a full-sized tub). The location on High Street was about as centralized to Edinburgh as you can get, and we had a charming view over one of the famous "Close's" that lead between buildings down the sides of the hill. I think from a traveling standpoint, the best gain was the large and functional kitchen- after traveling for two weeks prior, it was really great (and cost-effective) to be able to make our own breakfast and coffee each morning to get the day started. I think the only negative I might say about the place was that water seemed to spill from the shower to the floor despite our efforts to stop it. I"m guessing that we weren't the only ones to have that issue, as the floor in there was already a little warped under the linoleum. Otherwise, though, I will ABSOLUTELY contact Greyfriars again if/when my wife and I get to Edinburgh for our next trip. THANK YOU!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by AR from Sydney

Room with an amazing view

Posted Apr 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Amazing location, directly under Edinburgh castle. Large 2 story apartment with plenty of room for 4 people. Great stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marilyn

Excellent location, very comfortable and spacious

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: Location. Space.
Cons: Kitchen towels would have been nice
Location: Walking distance to the Royal mile, supermarket closeby
The apartment was excellent. Wonderful location, view of the castle from the front windows. Large rooms on two levels with very comfortable beds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Phil from Bay Area

Unbeatable location

Posted Apr 12, 2014
The apartments are in good condition right in the center of all touristic attractions in Edinburgh. Parking may be a problem. Very pleasant experience.