Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Davidfrom Hull, UK

Quiet B&B just outside the city centre

Posted May 18, 2013
Pros: Very clean guest house with owners who care about their guests
Location: Located 2 miles from Princes Street, but easy transport with 2 bus routes from Princes Street stopping right outside the guest house.
I stayed at the Mackenzie guest house during my short stay in Edinburgh for a short break. It is situated about 2 miles from Princes Street and close to Leith waterfront for the Britannia and several seafood restaurants. I stayed in room 2 with a double bed (even though I was staying alone) and had a private bathroom with shower gel etc across the landing (with a bathrobe in the wardrobe). The room had everything you could possibly require, flat screen tv, kettle and tea/coffee facilities, bottle of water, hairdryer and on request iron and ironing board. A bathrobe was also provided. Breakfast consisted of fruit juice, cereals, fry-up (where you could specify which items you did/did not want) and toast and jams with tea/coffee. The owners Danny and Jasmine are a young couple who care about their guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Veronifrom Edinburgh

Gewoon goed

Posted May 3, 2013 
Prima locatie om een of twee nachten te verblijven. Netjes maar oudbollig.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Norwich, UK

Good overall experience

Posted Apr 4, 2013 
Overall the experience was good. The first night there were a few people who made a lot of noise around 1 Am which woke us up. Then in the morning the toilet was totally stuck and we could not use it at all. The toilet on the other floor was locked to our dismay.But the problem was rectified after we left a note to Danny/Jasmine. The hosts are really nice and warm. The breakfast is quite good with some nice choices. Rooms are almost the same as are shown on the site. Location is good and the bus stop is two steps away. Catch the no. 12 or 25 from the Waverley station/City centre. No. 25 is quite frequent. Quite a few places to eat nearby (Indian, continental etc.) and also tesco is there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Kimhamhamfrom Leicester

Fantastic Experience

Posted Apr 4, 2013 
This was my first trip to Scotland, plus my first experience at a bed and breakfast. The hosts, Danny and Jasmine, were very welcoming and kind. The property was clean, quiet, well maintained and easy to find. In our room there was a kettle along with cups and saucers and tea/coffee. Other ammenities were small soaps, shampoo/conditioner, bodywash and shower caps. There was also a sink in our room which was a nice surprise. The sheets were glorious and I appreciated the oversized towels. The Scottish breakfast cooked up by Jasmine was absolutely wonderful. Try her scrambled eggs. Would highly recommend this place to family and friends. Location is in a quieter neighbourhood. We walked about 10 minutes (across the park, and about 4 streets) to the canal area to catch the #22 bus into City Centre. Great place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by K2from France

A lovely little place to stay

Posted Apr 2, 2013
Pros: Homely, quaint and fantastic value for money
Cons: Unsure about its suitability for a family, based purely on its size
Location: Opposite a very pleasant public park, in the immediate suburbs of the city. A quiet area, but on several direct bus links.
On making my booking - at somewhat short notice - I was a little concerned that I would be too far out of the city centre to make life easy. However, I need not have worried. The hotel is around 30 minutes walk from town, but is very easy to find, and is located in a fairly quiet area, opposite a very nice public park. It is also very easily accessible via public transport - connected by the #12 or #25 bus straight from Waverley Station (about 20 minutes, and £1.40). The owners - Danny and Jasmine - are very eager and attentive young couple, for whom nothing is too much trouble./ They went out of their way to ensure that everything was up-to-expectations; even arranging to leaving breakfast provisions out for me on my day of departure, since I had to leave before 7am. The room that I had was very warm and comfortable, and well-furnished with tea and coffee, as well as TV with satellite channels, and a sink. I also had sole use of the bathroom on that floor. The breakfast room is small, but breakfast was very nice - offering a full English breakfast (including vegetarian options), as well as cereals, fruit, yogurts and juice. All-in-all, a really nice, small hotel that deserves to be highly-rated!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by YN

Good room, friendly proprietors, good price

Posted Dec 27, 2012 
My room was spacious and comfortable, and had everything I needed - sufficient lighting, power sockets, wireless connectivity etc. I returned every day to find it neatly and inobstrusively tidied up. Danny and Jasmine are a warm and friendly couple, willing to accommodate requests such as my very late check-in without additional cost or complaint. Breakfast with them each morning is always a pleasure. I will definitely be trying to get a room here the next time we go to Edinburgh.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Annie

Sejour mackenzie

Posted Oct 31, 2012 
B&B tres agréable accueil chaleureux
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

hosts very obliging and welcoming

Posted Oct 12, 2012 
great loacation. use bus - which stops within 50 metresof hotel. parking in cityexpensive. breakfast enjoyable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Susan

Excellent!

Posted Oct 9, 2012 
Room was really roomy even with a twin and a double bed and an easy chair. View of the park across the street was nice. Even though the room was in the front of the house there was very little street noise. Room was very clean. And the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was a bit small but it was a later addition to the room. Free wi- fi was a plus and worked very good. The breakfast was simple but good. A big plus was the bus stops both ways were right out front. The hosts Danny and Jasmine were extremely nice and helpful. Danny even called to book my tour to St. Andrews for me. I would definitely stay there again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Peeters

goede locatie, lekker ontbijt

Posted Sep 30, 2012 
Guesthouse ligt buiten het centrum maar er stoppen 2 bussen precies voor de deur die je in 10 a 15 minuten naar het centrum brengen. Uitzicht over een mooi park. Ontbijt was prima. Je krijgt een (kleine) menukaart overhandigt waar je uit kan kiezen.