Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 25, 2015
Pros: front desk morning staff were helpful and let us stay an extra hour because both of us were terribly ill
upon checking in we found that our request for two twin beds was not honored; the staff were in a fuddle about what to do until I suggested a cot, which was then brought to the room. really they could have thought of this themselves.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A wee bit far from Edinburgh

Posted May 24, 2015
It is Southeast of Edinburgh, in a quiet, isolated (dangerous) one vehicle road area outside of the city. If this place wasn't a pre-pay, I probably would have left and gone elsewhere in the area. The facility did not notify us that there was going to be a wedding reception while we were there (it led to one sleepless night and difficulty parking, which they were unwilling to help accommodate us for...so we had to make do with the world's tightest parking job). The last day we were there, no one set up the breakfast room and they decided to push the time of breakfast back, which did not work for us since we had to leave for an early return flight. All in all, their customer service was subpar, the hotel room itself was "alright" - the beds were old and you could feel the springs in the mattress as you slept. It looked as if the second day they just made the bed and changed the trash, they didn't tidy up the room at all and it appeared they folded up our towels, though, we wanted clean ones (we indicated that by throwing our towels on the floor). If you have a choice, I'd choose elsewhere to stay. It's not really a castle per se, more like a large manor house.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kamloops BC Canada

Beautiful Setting

Posted May 24, 2015
Pros: The quiet setting, the size of the rooms, food, the grounds
Cons: Nothing really
Location: Golf, sight seeing, hiking
Really enjoyed our stay here. The rooms were huge and comfortable, with everything you'd need. The food was fantastic. Would definitely come back to stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom sverige

Bo kungligt

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Mkt bra boende maten ok och man kunde önska lite bättre städning i lobbyn, det var lite dammigt
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom perth australia

Not what you expect

Posted Apr 20, 2015
I booked this place because I wanted to stay in a castle not an add on, on the side of it... Disappointing and understaffed. Each time you wanted a drink from the bar you had to go and get the person off reception to organise it. On the positive the breakfast and the room you have it in is excellent and the grounds fantastic with the occasional deer running around. A good location they just need to service a bit better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom tyne wear

overnight stay with two teenage daughters

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: beautiful impressive historical castle girls loved the features and room in the attic with fabulous views i thought it was extremely good value
Cons: nothing at time of visit perfect
Location: 25 min by bus no 3 from northbridge st stand N outside waverly train station enjy d dundgeons and hardrock cafe booked tickets online first hitchfree
last min plan to stay overnight in edinburgh saw castle details looked beautiful and price was within budget so booked.easily accessible by bus from waverly train station .stopped right outside castle.scenic 15min walk through tree lined road leading to main entrance. beautiful appearence outdoors . beautiful decor inside room was cosy tasteful clean and tidy.breakfast was buffet style plenty choice hot and cold lovely
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Verona

Un castello, ma si può fare meglio.

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: Esterni, colazione, personale.
Cons: Odore in ascensore...tremendo!
Location: A meno di mezz'ora da Edimburgo e vicinissimo alla Rosylin Chapel.
Il castello è uno spettacolo! La camera forse un po' troppo spartana, ma piacevole e grande. Non sono stata contentissima del servizio di pulizia...un solo cambio di asciugamani, un rifornimento dell'acqua (gratuita in camera) che non è avvenuto tutti i giorni, ed una mancanza di accortezza sui particolari. Viste le stelle date all'hotel, mi aspettavo qualcosina di meglio. Colazione varia ed abbondante, e personale disponibilissimo. In generale, un bel soggiorno! Una pecca assoluta, l'odore insopportabile in ascensore.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas, Texas

Beautiful hotel and setting...inside not so much

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Pros: The setting was perfect. Beautiful "castle" in a beautiful setting.
Cons: The bed needs a new mattress. The carpet was dirty and the window in the bathroom was filthy. Spider webs everywhere.
Location: Edinburgh was fantastic. We took two private tours and loved them both. We will definitely be back to Scotland but we won't stay here.
The hotel and setting were absolutely idyllic! However, the room was greatly lacking. Our room was far from clean and the bed was so awful that sleeping on the floor, had it been clean enough, would have been more comfortable. The hallways and elevator had an awful, overwhelming odor of fried food. Unfortunately, this smell on occasion wafted into our room. The shower was absolutely horrible. It was so small that you could barely move. It was either too hot or too cold and the water would randomly just stop in the middle. Everyone dreaded shower time! There was a wedding in the middle of the week that we were unaware of. The party was extremely rowdy and went on well into the night (well after midnight). It was obvious that the hotel was much more concerned with the wedding then they were with guests staying there. The staff was quite ambivalent to our presence. If you are going to have this quaint hotel in a perfect setting and offer sub par rooms, your staff must be absolutely charming and charming they were not! I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom warrington

15 mins drive from the city but hidden away.

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Charming location, hidden from sight. A lovely hotel , perfect for a break or visiting family
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Great Hotel Great Grounds Perfectly Romantic

Posted Feb 24, 2015
I had seen bad reviews of this castle hotel and glad I ignored them! My room had two floors and en suit for £70.00 which included massive hot breakfast with views of the grounds as you eat! The restaurant had the most amazing food and the staff were engaging and they really understand customer service, when can I go again! :)