Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Great Hotel Great Grounds Perfectly Romantic

Posted Feb 24, 2015
I had seen bad reviews of this castle hotel and glad I ignored them! My room had two floors and en suit for £70.00 which included massive hot breakfast with views of the grounds as you eat! The restaurant had the most amazing food and the staff were engaging and they really understand customer service, when can I go again! :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Absolutely beautiful area and the castle was lovely.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Groningen

kasteel dicht bij stad

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: de sfeer
Cons: schoonmaak kan beter en personeel is Oost-Europees en snapt niet alles in het Engels.
Location: de prachtige stad Edinburgh
Hotel kan wel een opknapbeurt gebruiken. Mijn kamer was ook niet heel schoon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom India

Excellent place to stay in!!!

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: Castle converted into a hotel, the scenic beauty and the suites!
Cons: Probably more street lights on the road from the main entrance to Melville Castle will help
Location: By bus one can go to Princess street or North Bridge and then one can explore the old & new Edinburgh city or take a highlands tour
Awesome place, away from the city,walk to hotel is just amazing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect lovely place just out of Edinburgh

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Brilliant little gem of a place, shame the staff can't do anything about the weather ;)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom North Yorkshire

Wonderful Hotel

Posted Nov 26, 2014
Pros: Just about everything from it's location to it's service.
Cons: Softer bed option.
Location: We were there to golf at Royal Musselburgh and this was ideally situated.
Everything about this hotel was perfect, nice rooms, excellent food and brilliant staff. My only complaint (and this is unique to me) was that I found the bed far too hard, my back was really hurting and so slept on the sofa; my partner was fine with the bed. The other couple who stayed at the hotel with us found the everything to be outstanding.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by twsfrom newcastle

review

Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is very tired and needs a jolly good clean. We were in room and the bathroom was dirty and the bath panel was falling off
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Danmark

Nemt at finde, venligt og hjælpsomt personale

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Pros: Historisk slot med udsøgt stil
Venlig og informativ modtagelse. Fint værelse med god udsigt. Hyggelig og stemningsfuld restaurant med hjælpsomt og underholdende personale.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

It's a Castle.

Posted Oct 2, 2014
The restaurant food is top quality but everything else was perfect. What else do you need to know, IT'S A CASTLE.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Stephenfrom Kent

Lovely historic place to stay

Posted Oct 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a lovely hotel, pleasant and attentive staff and supurb evening meal (shame I had to leave early and miss breakfast). Room was clean, comfortable and spacious. I was suprised to read afterwards that there were some negative comments in there but it seems more geared to wedding packages and from people not even staying at the hotel. Can't comment on them but can say as a hotel it is a very good establishment. Comments related to poor signal for phones/ipads etc. I would say what would you expect for a castle in a valley and if you are staying in a hotel like this then you should not if it is a pre-requisit that you have a phone welded to your ear.