Ratings based on 219 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tim from London

Nice hotel in a great location

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: The location, and it was very well-maintained.
This is a very nice hotel that's just a minute away from George St and the shops on Princes St - it's also a quick and scenic walk up to the castle (less than 10 mins). I would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Philip from Hull

Excellent location

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Pros: Ideal location, close to station and overlooking Princes Street. Comfortable bed.
Location: Ideally situated, close to station and Scott monument; good base for seeing the city.
Really enjoyed my stay. Wonderfully comfortable room and fantastic view from the breakfast room. Really set me up for the day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pete from Shetland

Weeknight stay

Posted Feb 28, 2014
Convenient, clean, good breakfast spread. Can't fault it for a business trip, but would also be more that satisfactory for a family stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central hotel for sightseeing and shopping

Posted Feb 13, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Breakfasts
Location: Sightseeing, theatres and shopping. Very close to railway station.
Hotel good but breakfasts pre cooked and kept on hotplates.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carlisle, UK

Central hotel with amazing view of city & Castle

Posted Feb 12, 2014
Pros: Excellent panorama of city from this hotel, view in the evening was amazing. Tremendous value for money, our room was spacious with king size bed.
Cons: Overall rating would have been 5 but for tired decor in bar and restaurant seating was grubby
Location: Central, just opposite Scottish National Gallery, 15 mins from Royal mile. 5 mins from station. Next door to Jenners department store.
Enjoyed central location on Princes street, staff friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Val from Kent

Booked this for my 50th Birthday.

Posted Jan 21, 2014
Pros: We were made very welcome and it was central for everything. The breakfast was delicious and varied, a realy good menu and great staff serving.
Cons: Can't think of anything!
Location: We visited the castle, which is within walking distance and there is a great shopping area,
This hotel exceeded our expectations. It is right in the city centre next to Jenners in princes Street. We were made very welcome by staff, who knew it was my Birthday. The room was lovely, overlooked The Scott Memorial and Princes Street. Well appointed room (thank you for the extras!!) Comfy bed, sofa in room and plenty of space for clothes. Tea & coffee in the room and the room was quiet, a big factor for us.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mike from Cheltenham

Great location, shame about the rest

Posted Jan 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
I’ll start with the positives, the hotel is in a great location, and the view from the rooms on the main road is stunning. Rooms are big, clean and beds comfy, but the décor everywhere needs a refresh. Coming down for breakfast (included in room rate) on Saturday morning at 9.15 to find a queue with around 20 people in front of us, we waited for 15 mins and only 6 people had been seated. So only having a day in Edinburgh we gave up and went elsewhere. In fairness, on Sunday morning before we left, there was no queue. This was mentioned at checkout and no offer of a refund was even mentioned we were just told “It’s busy on Saturdays” not even a sorry. This was even worse for the fact at 12:30am on Sunday morning the fire alarms went off, no staff knocked on the door or were to be seen, and elderly people were struggling down the stairs from the 5th floor with no sign of staff to assists, this was left to other guests. Once stood out on the cold street for 15 mins, with no information we were let back in with no apology or mention of this again. In short this hotel is a very bad advert for the Mercure brand. And in fairness I have waited a week for a reply to an email I sent to Mercure regarding this stay.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by David looker from London

Posted Jan 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Tired, scruffy, rubbish bathroom. But cheap I guess.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Lynn n Stephen from Glasgow

Fab location

Posted Jan 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
was good , their was a offer for half price breakfast well worth it ..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ninjamum from Leven, Fife

Princes Street Hotel

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Pros: The closeness to where we wanted to be
Cons: A bit of TLC to the rooms and decor
Location: we went to the vue cinema, 5 minutes walk plenty of eating places and pubs closely
We only booked this hotel for a night away in Edinburgh to go to Winter Wonderland without having to worry about driving back to Fife. Hotel was easily found and reception staff were very helpful while checking in and out. Room was in need of a bit of TLC and we didn't have any view as out room was at the back of the hotel but not an issue as only staying one night. Breakfast options were ample, and a great view of Prince Street Gardens (including Winter Wonderland Big Wheel) and the Castle from the dining room.