Ratings based on 230 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ireland

My wife loves her shopping this the place!

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: As above
Cons: A bit of furniture refurbishment
Location: As above
Wonderful helpful staff, great reception and dinning room staff, food excellent and very convenient to shops, restaurants and transport
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Des from Market Harborough

Good location although hotel a little tired!

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Decor and furnishings.
Location: Location is right in the center of Edinburgh on Princes Street with a view of the castle.
Staff were friendly & helpful. Our standard double room was small in dimensions low ceiling and very warm. (temperatures were 18 degrees during June) The decor of the room was showing it's age and wear. On the plus side the room and bathroom were clean. The facility to print airport boarding passes from a computer situated in reception was very helpful and free. Would recommend but expected more for the price paid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel with a great view.

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Just the one night on a business trip. Room had a fantastic view. Breakfast good make sure you pay in advance for the best deal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted May 18, 2014
nice, cofortable. good value for center of city, BUT, toilet not flushing until we left
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by GregD from Sheffield

Perfectly adequate for a 2/3 night stay

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: Location for sight seeing and close to station
Cons: More Fresh fruit for breakfast (very minor point)
Location: Centre of Edinbugh ....convenient for Old Town, New Town, Shops, Train station and trams and buses. Well kept park across the road.
Standard chain hotel. Reasonable breakfast. Room faciities fine for us as we only slept there and got ready.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tim from London

Nice hotel in a great location

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: The location, and it was very well-maintained.
This is a very nice hotel that's just a minute away from George St and the shops on Princes St - it's also a quick and scenic walk up to the castle (less than 10 mins). I would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Philip from Hull

Excellent location

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Pros: Ideal location, close to station and overlooking Princes Street. Comfortable bed.
Location: Ideally situated, close to station and Scott monument; good base for seeing the city.
Really enjoyed my stay. Wonderfully comfortable room and fantastic view from the breakfast room. Really set me up for the day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pete from Shetland

Weeknight stay

Posted Feb 28, 2014
Convenient, clean, good breakfast spread. Can't fault it for a business trip, but would also be more that satisfactory for a family stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central hotel for sightseeing and shopping

Posted Feb 13, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Breakfasts
Location: Sightseeing, theatres and shopping. Very close to railway station.
Hotel good but breakfasts pre cooked and kept on hotplates.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carlisle, UK

Central hotel with amazing view of city & Castle

Posted Feb 12, 2014
Pros: Excellent panorama of city from this hotel, view in the evening was amazing. Tremendous value for money, our room was spacious with king size bed.
Cons: Overall rating would have been 5 but for tired decor in bar and restaurant seating was grubby
Location: Central, just opposite Scottish National Gallery, 15 mins from Royal mile. 5 mins from station. Next door to Jenners department store.
Enjoyed central location on Princes street, staff friendly and helpful.