Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.0 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
2.3 Service & staff
2.1 Room comfort
1.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Small hotel near Murrayfield rugby ground

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: Room was comfortable and did not have to share the detached bathroom. Sink in the room convenient. TV was good. 3 bus routes stop across the street.
Cons: Front garden needed plantings. WiFi weak on lower floor. You need a cell phone to call staff to check in after hours - to get door key from lockbox.
Location: Except for proximity to Murrayfield Rugby ground, you need to take a bus to get downtown or take a bus in the opposite direction for Edinburgh Zoo.
The room was fine, but there were no breakfast facilities which was inconvenient since the guest house was far from city center.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from scotland

Disappointing hotel being refurbished,

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: The young member of staff was lovely but she said it was only her to do all rooms and breakfast. When work finished the room could be nice.
Cons: Television was not working had to wait untill next day to report it as there was no staff on at night. Staff should check rooms ok before guests arriv
Location: Buses plentiful nearby and zoo nearby.
We arrived at hotel at 2.50 pm and although our check in time was from 1pm there was no room ready for us. The young member of staff appeared stressed saying the computers were down and couldn't check our booking and she was waiting for bedding to dry so she could iron them. I did have my booking reference although due to their computer down she couldn't be sure which room we were allocated. The girl said they had been busy hence running out of clean bedding. We had been travelling for8hrs and were tired and hungry. Eventually the girl got bedding and took us down to a very dark room as it was under the house. We watched as she made the bed. The room was nicely decorated but dark and couldn't keep curtains opened as as car park above and people could see into room. The lock on our door had been changed but the new lock that was in had no cover over it and looked like holes all round the lock. We put our cases in and went out to eat on our return around 10pm we couldn't open the outside door as our key was stiff hence we had to call a phone number on the door. The owner said just pull the key out a little and turn after several attempt the owner who obviously lives out with his hotel came and let us in. I said we were disappointed about our arrival he appeared annoyed saying they had been busy and the place was being refurbished and I didn't understand how things were in Edinburgh at this time of year. I told him although I did understand it was no fault of the guests.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Harry from london

good location....and thats about it

Posted Jun 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
The location is ideal for any rugby fans, with the stadium almost visible from the guest house. However with my room, that is where the compliments end. This was the only room available in the area I needed for work, due to the RHS, and so despite the poor rating I had no choice. Initially I tried to call ahead during the morning and the day to advise what time I would arrive, but to no avail, left answer machine messages with no response, so the initial contact was poor to begin. Fortunately I arrived just before the cleaner was leaving, who let me in and showed me to my room...no sign of the manager of any description and absolutely no communication about check in times, only check out the following morning. Had I arrived late in the evening I fear I wouldn't have got in at all. The room (3 I think) on the service looked recently decorated, however slight details including a lack of the casing on the lock on the door, leaving just a small metal bar to twist to lock the door. And the shower...it had less pressure than a leaky tap and too 10 minutes to reach ambient temperature. As there was no sign of a manager or any staff once the cleaner left there was no opportunity to request a board and an iron, which was detailed on the email, which meant I went to my meeting with a creased shirt and had to keep my jacket on all day in the heat.....again very pleased about that. Overall pretty poor and much the same as others found it.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Klo from Scotland

No staff members on site

Posted Jun 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
No staff members on site at all which wasn't very helpful. No plug for the bath, no blind for the window.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Pretty basic

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Pros: Location was decent not too far from the town.
Pretty basic, but had all the required facilities that one needs for a weekend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy stop over Ty x

Posted May 11, 2014
Lovely helpful staff, nice clean room needs new shower with some power but awesome value.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

scroll on

Posted Jan 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
by brown from lancashire

Hostel not a guest house

Posted Dec 30, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: needs to be re named a hostel
Avoid terrible place cold, dirty. damp not staffed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

EXTREMELY BAD HOTEL

Posted Oct 5, 2013
Worst hotel ever!!! Never stay here!!! Communication is awful!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wouldn't recommend

Posted Sep 2, 2013
Cons: The lamp in the room was broken, bedding was worn with holes, towels were shaggy... Was overpriced for what you got
Location: Long walk from town best to catch the bus which was handy. The zoo is nearby
Staff were friendly, things in the room were falling apart, close to road so could hear traffic, all very old dated and tired, over priced for what it was! Felt safe there, just not comfortable - holes in the sheets, ratty towels etc