Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange, Ca

Great hotel

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: very professional and helpful staff, great food.
Cons: more choices on the room service menu.
Location: There's a lot of walking, it's 3-4 blocks downhill of Princes st, but once you get up there you can do all of the sightseeing the city offers!
We stayed for 8 days, and the whole experience was delightful. Everyone we encountered at the hotel was friendly and willing to help from calling a cab, mailing our post cards, finding a restaurant, to giving advice and directions (with a map) to must see sites. The breakfast was fabulous! Everything you could want to choose from--fresh fruit, meat and cheeses, cold or hot cereal, eggs, bacon, haggis, salmon, on and on....and the staff didn't hurry us up at all, they let us sit and enjoy our tea or coffee and the rain outside the window. The room was comfortable, but a little warm because it was above the kitchen. FYI there is no elevator, but the staff put our luggage in our room for us (we got there before check in and left our bags with the front desk and explored the city until dinner time) The bathtub was a Jacuzzi tub and the shower was really nice. There was a mini bar, a nespresso machine, and teapot in the room along with a flat screen tv and a radio/docking station.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Nearby everything without the hustle and bustle

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Weekend getaway between two weeks of work in Europe. Staff were amazing, love the feel of the hotel. Make sure to tell the cab driver Nico Caledonia, stress the Nico or you will be dropped at a different hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellence

Posted Jul 17, 2014
At every level this hotel surpasses any I have visited. Their staff are simply superb at every little detail.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G

In the best New Town location

Posted Jul 7, 2014
In the heart of the New Town, next to the best eat outs and close to everything Edinburgh. An excellent hotel with the best breakfast and ambience one can ask for. A real Scottish experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Ron from California

Great hotel with superb staff

Posted Jun 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Every aspect of the stay was exceptional. From the moment we arrived to the time of departure the hotel staff responded with energy, dispatch and good humor to every stated and implied need. They made many reservations, provided advice on accessing Edinburgh attractions and restaurants and even fed the meter for our street parking. The room was well appointed. The shower was modern and had spa features. The breakfast was ample, well prepared and served efficiently. We loved the neighborhood with its many restaurants and bars. We enjoyed the 20-minute walk to Prince's Street and the shorter walk to the Royal Botanic Gardens. I cannot commend highly enough the service provided by all the staff we encountered at this hotel. I would stay there again and will recommend it unreservedly to anyone I meet who is traveling to Edinburgh.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel, great staff, and restaurant

Posted Jun 8, 2014
We were greeted warmly by the staff and the room was beautiful with plush robes and slippers. The only real drawback was that our room and bathroom were very small.The restaurant food was excellent. Overall it was very pleasant and we would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from London

NC Great as always!

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Pros: As ever NC is strong on every point.
Location: Great location behind Princes street in New town.
Have stayed here many times before, and its really a great hotel. All the rooms have now been refurbished. I arrived with rather a lot of business work to get done, so the reception staff helped to set up my room so I could have a desk and chair, which was going over and above what was expected! Also I ate in the restaurant for the evening meal for the first time, and the food was of a very high standard, and the surroundings were totally relaxed and ambient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jean from morayshire

Super Stock bridge stay

Posted Jun 5, 2014