Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by T from The Hague

Little gem

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Wonderful B&B in quiet residential area, with welcoming hosts and harty breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by nhs employee

Easy to access town and the royal infirmary.

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Breakfast is sociable and. Generous.fab Edinburgh house. Lovely people running it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Could not of been nicer

Posted May 27, 2014
A lovely well looked after hotel, where nothing was to much trouble for the owners.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by lone female traveller from N. Ireland

warm welcome

Posted May 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Delightful hosts. Good quiet location quite with good bus service to city centre. Great breakfast. Comfortable,clean and reasonable price. What more could you ask for?
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by kim18418 from South Korea

Awful experience

Posted May 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
The owner's mother was in hospital when we arrived at the house. So there was no one to help us when I had a question. There was no refrigerator, which is common nowadays. The door of the toilet was abnormal, so we thought it was locked, but after the owner came it was solved. We were in the sitting room, which was open. But it was closed accidentally, then we could not open it, we shouted to help us, but no answer, so we strongly pulled the door and it was open, and found that the door was also abnormal. I strongly ask the "Hotels.com" directly investigate whether the rating is correct. I think "the 45" could not be 4 star guesthouse.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Excellent stay

Posted May 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good friendly service and excellent breakfast. Manny thanks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

yes and no

Posted Feb 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
No 45 is a family run guesthouse. It is located in a quiet area and it is easy to get to the downtown as the bus stop is a couple of minutes walk from the property. The couple who run this guesthouse are friendly and ready to help if you need information or help. The room service is performed daily although the daily cleaning is not comprehensive. You need to make sure you book a double room if you need an ensuite room as the single room has a private bathroom that is not ensuite. You might get a free upgrade if they have a double room available. Breakfast is between 8 and 9 AM everyday and they offer cooked breakfast, cereals, yoghurt and fruit. There is a nice sitting lounge at the entrance. The TV in the room is small. One thing that I could not understand was that they did not give me an invoice because they said that they only get paid after six weeks of my stay. This might be something hotels.com should improve maybe. Other than that I enjoyed my stay there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by PoppyRed from Glasgow

Very Comfort Stay

Posted Dec 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is in a quiet and nice neighborhood. We arrived later than 7pm and were welcome by the host no problem. Our room was at the 1st floor. It was a small but compact room. New shower unit although bathroom is tiny. We loved the bed the most. The mattress is thick, firm and with high quality fresh lining. That makes this B&B different from many others budget ones as it added the comfy/luxury factor into your stay. There is very nice Christmas decor all over the house which gave us a warm Christmasy home feeling. Host lady was very helpful and friendly. Break fast was served on time and freshly cooked. All in all, very nice B&B. We were impressed. Suitable for shortstay visitors. There are rooms for improvement - It would be great if there are potato scone and mushroom available for breakfast. Separated dinning tables maybe better than a commute long one. WIFI password could be included in the room's welcome pack. Put the lounge area back in?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by LovelyLancaster from Lancaster

Posted Dec 9, 2013
Pros: The hotel was warm and welcoming. the rooms were beautifully furnished and the linen and towels were spotless. The breakfast was hot and plentiful.
We had a wonderful weekend in Edinburgh taking in the wonderful sights and Christmas markets. The atmosphere was great, really festive and the stalls provided some good quality merchandise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by LovelyLancaster from Lancaster

Posted Dec 9, 2013
Pros: The hotel was warm and welcoming. the rooms were beautifully furnished and the linen and towels were spotless. The breakfast was hot and plentiful.
We had a wonderful weekend in Edinburgh taking in the wonderful sights and Christmas markets. The atmosphere was great, really festive and the stalls provided some good quality merchandise.