Ratings based on 146 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Apr 14, 2015
I wasn't so lucky with my visit, the lights were not working the first night, the friendly staff tried to fix them but ended breaking them. I booked cooked breakfast but the chef didn't turn up. The room was cleaned everyday but I felt they just put the cover back in a rush and not shower products were restock the second night........
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Suffolk, United Kingdom

Good value for the money

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Hotel was in a safe area, had friendly staff, was close to city centre, was only 15 minutes from a beach. My only complaints are the the beds were hard as a rock and that the hotel was quite dirty. I don't expect quality mattresses at a budget hotel, but regardless of price I expect cleanliness. Carpets were stained, floor boards had months of dust, rooms and bathrooms had only minimal cleanings done prior to us coming, and weren't cleaned during our stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London

Worst Hotel Ever Seen

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: Everything required Improvement
Haven't seen such rude Staff. Worst hotel I have stayed ever
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Milton Keynes

Room 7 : Overlooking main Road

Posted Apr 2, 2015
The room had only old single glazing, so no soundproofing from the continuous traffic noise from the main road. Also only thin white blinds that allowed all the street lamp light (just outside) to stream in. Would have benefited from some thermal curtains to help against the cold draughts, street light and to lesson the noise. Room was fairly cold even with heating on high. If you can cope with continuous traffic noise rumbling past day and night, and a room lit up better by night than day by outside street lights! Then this room is large and airy. It had two singles and one double bed easily sleeping four. Though the furniture has seen better days. The beds were comfortable. The ensuite's power shower was good and hot. Though we couldn't physically shut the bathroom door, which was a little disconcerting especially when using the toilet. The staff were nice. The breakfast conservatory room was pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom newcastle upon Tyne

Lovely friendly hotel.

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Great location, hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Would recommend to anyone who is wanting to go to Edinburgh. Fab fab fab!!!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Peterhead

overnight stay

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: The staff are very welcoming, friendly and more than happy to give me very useful advice about onward travel etc
Cons: I was in Room 12 and have to say the mattress was well past it's best. Any time you moved the springs crunched and creaked. Not comfortable
Location: Perfect location quiet enough for a peaceful night and within a short taxi ride of the city centre. Off street parking. Really excellent hotel.
I left it quite late to book but managed to get a double room at a very reasonable rate.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place to crash, cheap hotel

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: Good location, cheap
Cons: Should have free holding of luggage, bit ridiculous you had to pay to store luggage, much cheaper to go to city station in city centre & rent locker
Location: Go city centre
Nice hotel, friendly staff at reception, good location, great cleanliness
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Laurafrom New Jersey

Unexpected fees; Middle of nowhere

Posted Jan 14, 2015 on Hotels.com
When we checked in, they charged us an extra 50 pounds because we were using a credit card, even though they had told us it would be one price when we booked they charged us more. Plus they tried to charge us for WiFi access, and additional key, and breakfast, all of which we staunchly refused to pay extra for. The room was fine, very big and well lit (no WiFi). The hotel is also a 15-20 minute bus ride from absolutely everything, which we could walk coming back it was about 2 miles uphill to get to the Royal Mile. It was a fine stay, but I wouldn't stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, TX

Great hotel close to Edinburgh

Posted Jan 10, 2015
This hotel was excellent and staff were super friendly. It is only a short bus ride away from Edinburgh city center and bus stops are right next to the hotel. The rooms were clean and cosy. Would definitely stay at this hotel again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, cheap and very pleasant

Posted Jan 10, 2015
Excellent hotel. Good experience. Not the most modern, but i had a very enjoyable stay.