Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by M from London

At least it is not far from the city centre

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: The building itself is very nice, the interior decor a bit dated but that means nothing. The bed was comfy and it was quiet. Breakfast was fine
Cons: The shower could be fixed and proper curtains installed.
Location: The hotel is a short bus ride away from or a pleasant walk to the city centre. There is a grocery store near by as well.
My street-facing room had plastic white vertical blinds which let in a lot of light from the street lamps outside. Consequently, the room was brightly lit all night and I didn't sleep for three nights. I would highly recommend that black out blinds or thick curtains be installed in the street-facing rooms. On my first morning, the power shower stopped working before I had the chance to rinse myself off. The only option given to me was to use the shower of a recently vacated and not cleaned room. I was assured that someone would look into the shower problem but when I returned to the hotel that evening and asked if the shower had been fixed, the woman at the front desk said she didn't know because she wasn't there in the morning. Perhaps if staff left notes for each other, customers might be left less irritated. As it was, the shower stopped working on my last morning as well. I booked my stay through Expedia and provided all of my credit card details at the time of booking. The hotel did not charge me until I arrived, which is fine, but I really didn't appreciate the added 5% charge for using my credit card or 1% charge for using my debit card. I have not found any mention of this in their Policy and Fees section.
2 out of 5
by Pedro from Cambridge, UK

Hard to recommend

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Cons: Double fire doors are a terrible idea for a hotel
Location: Little shopping center nearby. Bus stop across the street that is a 20-minute ride to center of Edinburgh
Not that it's a bad hotel, just lacking in many areas. It's in a neat old building and the staff are nice, but there are no amenities to speak of. The room was very basic and luggage was hard to get through the fire doors. I could not recommend this hotel over the dozen others on the same road or the Travelodge 200 yards away.
2 out of 5
by pockych

Green dirty bathroom

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Dirty green bathroom. Noisy!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
2 out of 5
by Peri from England

Convenient for city centre

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: Convenient for city centre, big room for 4.
Cons: They need to fix the shower in the room for 4 so that it works properly!
Location: Frequent buses into city centre
Although there are some positive things about the 2 night stay we recently made at this hotel, our whole experience was spoilt by the fact that none of us (we were 4) were able to take a proper shower. I complained on our first morning that the water cut out after a few minutes and didn't come back until later when I had had to abandon my shower. The staff were sympathetic and offered the use of another room for a shower - on a different floor- but although my husband used it, he said that the room - just vacated that morning- was too disgusting to send our teenagers to. In the evening I tried our shower again - this time the water didn't even get hot and again cut out after about 4 minutes. In my opinion this must be a fault known to the owners - we also didn't have hot water from the sink tap. I managed to have a very quick shower on our second morning but no-one else wanted to risk it. When we checked out I asked for a small refund to compensate us for not being able to use the shower but was told that this was not possible - instead the staff lady offered us the use of another shower or a free breakfast but we were more keen to get out of there and go home. Apart from this, the hotel was in a good location for getting into the centre of Edinburgh with good bus services from just outside. We liked the massive room for 4 we were given - even though it was cold due to the poorly insulated windows If you are not bothered about showering, this hotel could still be good for you
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient for central Edinburgh

Posted Feb 10, 2014
I stayed with my son to watch a match at Murrayfield. The Hotel was convenient (given taxis), economical and friendly. Staff were very helpful. Rooms were serviceable if a little Spartan, but if you want a base to explore Edinburgh it is worth considering.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by MarkyD73 from Newcastle upon Tyne

Decent affordable hotel

Posted Jan 29, 2014
Friendly welcome on arrival, decor slightly outdated and could do with some TLC but can't really complain given the price I paid for a 2 night stay (£44 in total). The hotel is situated on a main route into the city centre and a typical bus journey into the centre is approx 10 minutes. Room-wise, the facilities were basic but - for me personally - were as expected, given the price and the purpose of my stay was only to 'get my head down' each night after working up in Edinburgh for a few days. I was in a family room and the only issues I had were; 1) behind a wardrobe in my room, there was an adjoining door to the room next door. This door (although it was no longer in use) seemed to lead into next door's bathroom and there were 'noises' that I didn't really want to hear! 2) the shower in my room served its purpose but was extremely noisy! It sounded like a lawnmower Car park at the back of the hotel was an added benefit and is free. The hotel also has a residents bar / lounge which is handy for a nightcap if you don't fancy venturing out. If your looking for a 'no frills' but comfortable stay on a tight budget, this is an option worth considering. For those looking for a more modern, contemporary place to stay, I doubt the Northumberland will be for you!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Better off staying at the travelodge nearby

Posted Jan 9, 2014
Pros: The one saving grace of this hotel was that the bed was extremely comfortable. Free parking and location on bus routes.
Cons: Lots to work on here, see above review.
Location: Edinburgh, enough said!
Overall experience of this hotel was poor. It did not start well, I arrived at 9:45 pm thinking I was in plenty of time for the 10:30 pm last check-in. However, I arrived to discover that my card had already been charged (highly irregular) and that the last check-in was actually 10 pm. The card I used was one I didn't want to use to pay for the hotel but didn't get a choice. Hot water was a rarity in this hotel, stayed for 5 nights and got 2 warmish shower (which wasn't powerful), 2 were luke warm and one was freezing cold on the first day, not a good start! Then go down to have breakfast, which was a pricy 7.50, and it was certainly not worth it, many better cafes up the road charging far less for better food. Yes, the hotel was cheap, however, there were a number of things at fault with this hotel. There are a number of things which were not as advertised on the website, WI-FI was not free and cost 3 pound for the stay (ambiguous on list - not clear that there is a surcharge), there was a bar but it didn't open, there was a TV in the room but it didn't work and was so small I wouldn't have bothered anyway. Rooms were not cleaned at all during my five day stay. In short, stay at the Travelodge, this is no more than a glorified B&B, would not recommend.
2 out of 5
by KC from Perth, Scotland

Nice spacious clean room

Posted Dec 10, 2013
Cons: Water supply and heating
I stayed here with my mum. First impressions of hotel were good, friendly reception lovely spacious clean room but we came away very disappointed with our stay. The heaters did not seem to work very well, giving off very little heat. The water cut out mid shower for my mum (which was not long a long shower at all) and when I tried to have shower I had to wait a good 20 mins for the water to come back on and it only lasted a couple of minutes so I had to rinse my hair in the sink to get the shampoo out. The other disappointing fact was I read on the hotel website that a hair dryer would be in the room so I didn't bother to take my travel one. There was no hair dryer and no one available on reception before 8am to ask to borrow one if possible. As I had to leave early (around 8am) I had to go out with wet hair which is not ideal in December.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Al from Airdrie

Friendly Staff, Great Transport Into Town Centre.

Posted Dec 9, 2013
A fantastic price for a Saturday night stay over, you will struggle to find anything better. Although not in the centre of town the transport by bus to and from the hotel more than made up for it. Only had to wait a couple of minutes and one way costs just £1.50. Didn't have time to sample the optional breakfast and the only slightly negative in my stay was the room was just a bit too warm and comfy!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Kelli from Pittsburgh, PA, USA

Budget hotel on busline and not satisfied

Posted Dec 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
The staff was not very available (granted we were coming in most nights after 10:00 and there was never anyone at the desk at this time). Three of us checked in, and only two towels were left in the room both nights. The shower water in the morning was barely warm, and I suspect they turned off the water heater at night. All information I would have used (ie showered at night) if I had been informed. Tea cups left in the room were left for us to use dirty, and we found items from past customers under our beds. Overall, very unimpressed, but a good enough place to crash for the night. POSITIVES: The hotel was right on the bus line into Edinburgh and the hotel staff offered us an umbrella on our way out for the day and gave us a slip of paper w/ all the closest bus lines on it.