Ratings based on 561 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from japan

Good hotel for business and holiday.

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Closed to station, shopping and historical place. Good hotel in u.k.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TX

Great location.

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Centrally located downtown, walking distance from train station, airport bus station and local buses. We stayed here for 2 nights. One vlock away from pubs and restaurants at Rose St.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Noisy & stuffy

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Needs an upgrade. Including better hot water and ventilation systems
Location: Location is good - most things you might want to do in Edinburgh are nearby
Room in the eaves, very stuffy even on a showery day. Traffic and building noise all night. Bitten to death by mosquitos. Hot water a dribble. There are better rooms available on the same street just 20 metres away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Max & Jo from NZ

Great location

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Great location, good facilities, bar, bar meals and an in house restaurant, we booked on line and were disappointed to have to pay 10 pounds for 3 days wifi because we had not booked directly with the hotel, the cost of the breakfast was the most expensive we have ever seen in all our travels at 11 pound for a continental style breakfast.all credit to the staff who were most co operative when we left for the airport and took our room key, they kindly arranged its retrieval at no cost.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jennie from Modesto,California USA

Great Hotel center of city awesome view of castle

Posted May 16, 2014
Pros: We liked how the Old Waverley was in the middle of everything! A easy walk to castle , cool pubs, or the mall. Lots of shopping and great food.
Cons: The Wifi was very poor!
Location: Visit the Edinburgh Castle, Wool Mills, great pubs, parks,museums,Queen Palace, Rose & Princess street shops!!
We had a wonderful time at the Old Waverley Hotel! Our room was beautiful, our beds were very comfortable,bedding was crisp and relaxing! Our room faced the Edinburgh Castle, everyday I had tea and looked at a amazing view!! Breakfast was delicious and fun to try new foods! Hotel staff were always helpful !!
4 out of 5
by Patrick from London UK

City centre hotel close to Waverley Station.

Posted May 16, 2014
Pros: Both room and meal service were good.
Cons: A lift to ground level. OK I know its not practical!
Location: Close to Waverley Station, many bus routes, and the tram to the airport when it starts running at the end of May.
I was daunted by the fact that reception was on the high first floor and there was no lift. Luckily someone carried my bag up. Good room with views across to the Old Town and of the Walter Scott memorial.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by marion from London

Excellent spot in the centre to be able to explore

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: its location and staff
Cons: some of the bedding could to with a revamp
Location: great location near all the things you want to see in the centre of town.
Staff friendly and knowledgeable of local area excellently positioned for all the attractions both old and new, also good for transport links.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A quick get-away

Posted Apr 12, 2014
I had to go into Edinburgh for an overnight stay and this had the best price and was close to my destination. The staff were lovely and patient. The room was clean and comfortable. I really liked the bathroom! Large, modern, with lots of hot water. My only complaints were the reception desk is up some stairs, which makes it hard with bags. And my room looked out on Princes St, so the bagpipers were heard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jade from Canada

Beautiful hotel close to most places of interest

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: its proximity to everything that I wanted to see.
Cons: nothing
Location: the hotel is situated on princes street in the middle of old town
It was a beautiful hotel and the staff were helpful and polite
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sparky from Monifieth, Scotland

A Very Nice Good Value Centrally Located Edinburgh

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: Location, tarrif, rooms.
Cons: Possibly some modernisation, however the title states "Old Waverley". Some fresh fruit available to purchase.
Location: Easy access to Princess Street, Rose and George Street and the Royal Mile.
We only stayed one night room only, the location in Edinburghs Princess Street was first class, the tarrif was very reasonable, the staff were friendly, room was very nice, comfortable and cozy-only downside being the drilling in next doors H&M which started at 07.30. The first floor lounge was lovely as was the view. We will definately return soon with friends, no need to look elsewhere anymore for accomadation in Edinburgh.