Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

disgrace

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Terrible. For such a price you get an old english house, which has not seen any major refurbishment from WW2. For such price you'd expect a full english breakfast (eggs, sausages, baked beans, etc.). All you get is few pieces of ham, bread, butter and corn flakes (nearby Tesco treat). The only hot thing served is tea and coffee. Breakfast starts 8.00 and finishes at 9.00 (total disgrace), and from 8.30 it's almost impossible to get anything because they just stop replenishing. You can't even get tea or coffee. They call it hotel, in fact it's B&B (not the best of a sort).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Guest House, clean, tidy and comfortable

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: It wasn't too far away and it wasn't too expensive
Cons: Provide a cooked breakfast
Location: Not too far away
I was in Edinburgh for the Edinburgh Marathon Festival and I thoroughly enjoyed the weekend. The only thing I would say is ask where the bus stop is, as it's just down the road, but I failed to ask and ended up in taxis all weekend until the last day.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by frequent traveller from borders

freezing room, bad wifi, mini tele

Posted Dec 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is one hotel I shall not go back to.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from london

fantastic service staff is helpful

Posted Jul 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Abs from Birmingham

Awesome three nights

Posted Apr 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
What can I say about park view house hotel ,from the day me and my family stepped in and was greeted by Trevor and Lorraine with a such a warm welcome ,and Trevor checking us in and showing our room and all the usual do's and don't he was great and was very very helpfull and so was Lorraine ,the hotel was nice and clean ,our room was fantastic and clean every morning we had room service with clean towels and our rooms where left nice fresh and clean . Trevor especially was great . Thank you Trevor and Lorraine and we will without a dought be booking park view house hotel if we are in edingburgh again ,once again thank you guys ,Trevor and Lorraine .xxxxxx
1 out of 5
by the hiltons from inverness

Extremely poor.....

Posted Oct 8, 2012
Pros: Nothing, we wouldn't even class it as a hotel. Daylight robbery
Cons: Service. Room. Facilities.
Location: Location is the only strength it has
We were extremely disappointed. All began with impolite phone manner, then we were asked to pay before we checked in but they made a mistake with our booking. We were in a building next to the hotel not in it. Only two towels given, not even a hand towel. Television same size as a kindle. You can hear outside. No room for anything to sit. No keyring on key.no space for us at breakfast. Staff didn't speak English. should not be called a hotel. Never again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Park View House Hotel

Posted Mar 29, 2012 on Hotels.com
Location was quiet and good. The guy on the reception was waiting for us (we arrived very late). He gave us a lot of information about buses, attractions, he was really helpful. The room looked like tidy, but all the mirrors and carpet was extremly dirty! And the bed smelled of cigarettes. Couple from Hungary 1 night stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 1, 2011 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth

Park View House Hotel - Avoid at all costs!

Posted Jul 31, 2011 on Hotels.com
The smallest double room ever. The bed was pushed against one wall - making it dificult for one person to get in it. Bathroom was so small it was impossible to get dressed in it. Had to pay up front before shown room which was in separate annexe. This was extremely noisy and hostel-like. Pillows were very thin. Told breakfast was 8 to 9 on Sunday morning. Had to wait for half an hour for a free table and then still had to share with another family. Table wasn't very clean. No cooked breakfast. Food was of cheapest type available. Staff were bossy and rude. Also one female member of staff who was clearing tables was dressed in sweat pants and slippers. A horendous experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cape Town, South Africa

Adequate Stay

Posted Jun 20, 2011 on Hotels.com
Although the hotel staff are a little aloof. The general stay was adequate. The cotinental breakfast was sparse and not well presented.