Ratings based on 87 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

For the traveler that want's everything

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: Hotel is clean and easy to get to.
If you don't want the expenses of a city centre hotel and you don't mind walking, this is a great choice! It's around a mile to the castle and the Royal Mile but near plenty of the culture that defines Edinburgh. It's easy to get to from the airport via the Airlink bus or Edinburgh Trams. WiFi is available but for a charge, unfortunately, which wasn't clear when I booked the room. However, this was really the only negative to our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

I will do it again

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Good position, close to the old and new town (walking distance) but a little detached, with coffee shops around.
Cons: Maybe shampoo in the bathroom?
Everything very small, but nicely kept, and very 'characteristic' (that is, not new, but with fancy moldings and heavy carpets). The staff, especially Giuseppe and another lady (sorry I forgot her name!) were very helpful with the many minor problems I had.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

Good value hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Very spacious room. It's an old building where the rooms were recently remodeled. Not too many sights right near hotel, but it's very close to the Haymarket train station and bus stops so you can easily get around town. Overall a good value hotel. Only negative was they were 15 minutes late on my wake up call.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

A disappointingly mediocre experience

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Good access to transport and easy walking to the center of town.
Cons: The room furnishings could be improved. Free Wifi access should be provided
The location of the hotel is convenient at a reasonable walking distance from the center of town and with good connection to the tram, bus and train services. The hotel itself however leaves a lot to be desired. The hotel is spread over three neighboring houses in a row. From the hotel rooms it is clear that they were converted from various rooms of a house. The first room I stayed in was converted from the front lounge, resulting in a large, mostly empty room. Two beds, a sofa and a lot of empty space a section that was built in for the bathroom. The bathroom was easily large enough to contain a bath but instead had only a large shower. Facilities in the room included a hairdryer with a fixed connection at the power point in the wall via a cord that was too short for use when standing. Most annoyingly, there was a noticeable pulsating-buzzing sound coming through the wall. I was able to move to another room, which was smaller but adequate and quiet. Internet access through the hotel WiFi requires a voucher (£2.50 for 1 hour). To get your airline boarding-pass printed it is required to e-mail the pdf to the reception desk. When I asked to print the pdf from a memory-stick I was told they couldn't do it. Instead the receptionist told me to go to an internet cafe. she pointed me to two possible internet cafes, neither of which appeared to exist.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shane from Orkney

Hotel close to conference centre.

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Pros: Location was very convenient for my visit to Edinburgh. Managed to book my room at a discounted price.
Cons: Better sign posting to room 34 would be a good idea. A lift would also be useful, but recognise that this is an old building.
Location: Next to good transport links and lots of local amenities.
Friendly staff and a nice room. My room number was difficult to find as it was not clearly sign posted on the ground floor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marie from Scotland

Great hotel

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Stayed in the piries for 1 night staff were nice and room was spotless would definately stay again and recommend to others
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by edinburgh visitor from north england

Location good and reasonable for the price

Posted Jun 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Location was exactly what was needed but room itself was a little bit in need of tlc. Bed not comfy and shower could have done with an update but considering the cost overall was fine for an over night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kate from New York

Good location

Posted May 9, 2014
Good location and price. The internet was a bit finicky, but not very expensive. Room was average European size, but my only real complaint was the shower, which was bad. The water temperature was always too hot or cold and would change throughout the shower. Great location-around the corner from the Haymarket train/bus station, close to pubs and restaurants, and 10-15 minutes from old town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tony from Blairgowrie

Good location for getting into centre

Posted Apr 26, 2014
Pros: Comfort and location
Nice comfortable hotel in West End of Edinburgh. Close to rail and bus routes. Easily walkable into the centre. Only problem we had was that each night we needed to have the keycard recoded as it wouldn't open the room door.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by E M Thomson from Fife

Good location for Haymarket Station

Posted Mar 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice little hotel that is a few minutes walk from the newly refurbished Haymarket station but a little out of the city centre, however very close to bus route for getting into the town centre. Very pleasant reception staff and clean and comfy room. A lot of door slamming during the night and early morning by other residents which is unavoidable, however, perhaps the doors could have quiet closure facility fitted to resolve this as you definitely have to hold the door whilst it closes to ensure it doesn't slam.