Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
5.0 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Cons: > 90' to have dinner in a half empty dining room on day 1 was a bit too much. Materially faster on day 2. Excellent food but choice is limited
Very nice hotel, quiet, 30' walk or 5' cab ride from the centre of Edinburgh. Staff exceptionally helpful with all doing their best to make it an enjoyable experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Connecticut, USA

Superb!!!

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Cons: The only think we can think of is the butter at dinner was not served at room temperature so that it more easily spread. In other words....nothing.
Location: A little out of the main area requiring a taxi ride to the main attractions and dinner but well worth it.
They staff was incredibly responsive to our every request and need. An example: Breakfast was open from 7-10 AM. We were departing early for a flight and the staff opened and served a personal breakfast at 6:15 AM (just for us). The food for breakfast and dinner was terrific. The Hotel is actually a historic landmark built is the 17th century, filled with artwork. A hotel person agreed to take us thoughout the hotel and gave us a personal tour including rooms that were un-occupied. We have stayed at 5 star hotels thoughout the world. This is one of the best!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom las vegas

A suburb place to stay

Posted Mar 23, 2015
The service and comfort is unrivaled in Edinburgh a beautiful house,with great scenery and surroundings and very peaceful.The food was very enjoyable and a great atmosphere surrounds you with art and antiques from a bygone period in time,this transfers you back to that time.i would stay again and my place to stay when I go back to Edinburgh.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Northumberland

Just Magic

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: It is very luxurious.
Cons: I really don't know, nothing.
Location: The grounds are lovely and you are close to the city.
From the moment we arrived till the moment we left we could not fault anything with this hotel. The hotel is beautiful the staff are wonderful and the food was the best we have tasted.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Edwinfrom Texas

Like stepping back in time

Posted Dec 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Wonderful place!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Siobhanfrom London

Divine interiors & flawless service.

Posted Dec 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
We have stayed at Prestonfield House once before and choose to stay there during our wedding celebrations in Edinburgh. Firstly, it is a beautiful hotel, the interiors are gorgeous and we highly recommend The Franklin Suite. Secondly, the service is the best that we have ever received. My (new!) Husband & I are avid travellers both for work and pleasure and we are in agreement that the service is utterly exemplary in every way.... thoughtful, kind and outstanding in every way. We know where we'll be celebrating our anniversary!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Clairefrom Glasgow

Wonderful escape.

Posted Nov 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything was perfect.. Luxurious surroundings, wonderful food and wine, friendly approachable staff and the added bonus of, unusually for even a 5 star hotel, a powerful, effective hairdrier!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Silveryefrom Stirling

As good as they say

Posted Oct 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Wonderful stay, was a night away with my wife for our anniversary and it was as good as the other review say. Amazing setting, food and rooms and I've not been to a place that has higher quality staffing. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by ARSfrom Brooklyn, NY

A Luxurious Stay

Posted Aug 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
We knew the Prestonfield House would be quite glamorous given the pictures, but when we arrived we were informed that we were receiving an upgrade. Living in a small apartment in Brooklyn with one bathroom, an upgrade that gave us a sitting room and a second bathroom was almost too much to believe. Each room was spectacularly appointed. The service was top-notch, the food was magnificent, and my only regret was that we could not stay longer. The hotel is in a more residential part of the city, so if you don't rent a car or want to pay for taxis, it isn't the right place for you, but treat yourself to a taxi or two and stay at the Prestonfield. You won't want to leave.