Ratings based on 542 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Excellent customer service

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: Friendly helpful customer focussed staff, location, comfy bed with excellent pillows. Excellent breakfast and good gym facilities
Cons: Some of the hallways and carpets could do with a spruce up, restaurant could expand menu
Location: The hotel is in the middle of the "Royal mile" in the old town; so it is within easy walking distance of the castle, museums, restaurants and railway.
I enjoyed Edinurgh; it is one of those cities that makes you breathe "wow" on first sight and it keeps getting better as you explore and learn more,. People were very friendly and helpful from my arrival to my departure three days later. I hope to get back some day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York

ruby wedding anniversary

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: Every thing. Our Chambermaid even found us a large plastic sack for my wife to put her Flowers in to bring home.
Cons: As I said we were in a beautiful suite settee's, chair's everywhere,but the lighting was very poor.
Location: In Edinburgh on the Royal Mile what more do you want?
After an awful train journey we were greeted by a very friendly check in Girl,After welcoming my Wife &I to the Hotel she told us because it was our Anniversary we had been upgraded to a Suite,thank you very much. The Itchicoo Restaurant Staff were excellent,We had a small Party on the Sunday Night everybody said how much the had enjoyed it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Nice Hotel well sited to Royal Mile

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: Proximity to site seeing and amenities of Edinburgh.
Location: Location is very close to most of the major site seeing in Edinburgh.
The hotel location is on the Royal Mile and within very easy walking to most of the site seeing e.g. The Edinburgh castle and Holyrood House. Easy walk to the convention center.Also close to Princes Street(shopping) and the train station.Made the stay very pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carrollton, TX

Lovely hotel in the heart of the Royal Mile!

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: Location -- comfort/size/cleanliness of the rooms -- wonderful staff.
Cons: If you have health issues and/or tons of luggage, get a cab for the short ride from Waverly train station to avoid climbing all the steep steps!
Location: Very convenient for shopping and for catching tour buses to all of the wonderful sightseeing spots!
What's not to love about this fabulous hotel with comfy, spacious rooms in the heart of the Royal Mile? The concierge (such a cutie pie in his kilt!) was very friendly and helpful. We had good Internet service, and the entire staff was fabulous!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

convenient, central

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: service
Cons: the appalling state of the carpets make you feel the place is dirty. they are disgusting.
Location: v good location. central
The staff were superb. very good recruitment and training. they were all very helpful, service with a smile, and came across as being genuine. In fact the service was superior to the standard of the hotel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen

In desperate need of refurbishment.

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Location, Breakfast & Staff.
Cons: Pretty much everything else
Location: Prime location in Edinburgh with ease of access to train station, buses and trams. Endless activities and night life with loads of tourist attractions
Arrived nice and early at the hotel and first impressions were good. Nice clean lobby/bar and friendly staff in an excellent location, unfortunately this is where the good points end. After reading other peoples reviews we put things like noise, dark rooms etc. down to them just being a tad fussy, however upon exiting the lift we realised otherwise. The carpets which led to the room could be used to play dot to dot with the stains and upon entering the room there were little things again, dirty glasses/mugs/ice bucket, ripped duvet covers, dust on every surface. Definitely not 4 star quality. But the biggest let down, and one of the main reasons for booking the hotel besides location, was the leisure facilities. The pool was tiny and on occasion shared with swimming lessons, again not an issue until the instructor tries to teach you how to swim, if I need an opinion on swimming technique I wont be taking it whilst on holiday. Not ideal is the sauna location as there is one in each changing room. Going away for a break with my partner we would at least expect to be able to use one together. The changing rooms were also changed overnight during our stay leading me to walk in on a woman changing and another bloke walking in on a woman in the male sauna due to lack of information, hardly surprising seeing as the leisure attendant was never there. But I would say the final nail in the coffin would be my partner finding make up on a towel and me finding skid marks on mine!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montreal quebec

Excellent location and great staff

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Staff could not have been better. Prompt service with a smile despite the busy season. Very close to castle palace etc...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Friendly helpful staff. Service a little slow , but overall it was really lovely
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol, England

Perfect location.

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Location, friendliness of staff, great breakfast and pool.
Cons: All good.
Location: Where do I start, Castle and Hollyrood palace very near, also visit the museum, excellent. Get a 48 hour tour bus pass, you'll see everything.
Friendly check in, very helpful staff, requested room change to back of hotel, no problem. Terrific breakfast, good pool and spa facilities. Most places of interest within walking distance. Hotel located on Royal mile between the castle and Hollyrood palace, perfect! Would reccomend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central hotel right on the Mile

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Easy walk to the station and tram to airport. Despite being Right in the Royal Mile it was a smart , quite and classy hotel.