Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Fine Overall

Posted Nov 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
It is very good. Confortable and very kind people.
2 out of 5
by Stef from London

Old facilities and uncaring personnel

Posted Oct 27, 2013
I stayed there for 3 days. The check in is at 14.00' even though the check out has to be by 11.00'. The room was very old, gloomy and misty. Even though it looked cleaned, if you saw carefully the towels and the bed covers were with spots and the ceiling and curtain rail were full of spider webs. The second day, the cleaner came in to tidy up but left the room unlocked. She misplaced things that I had left on the nightstand having as a result things to be forgotten in the room. After I left I asked them to check and call me back and they didn't even bother to do so. Straight away they claimed that the room was empty without even consulting with their cleaners. After my continuous insistence they said they will look into it but of course I never heard of them since. Tried to contact them again but they claim that they didn't have the time to check. Even though the place is in a quite central location it definitely doesn't worth it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by DeekG from Glasgow

Adequate

Posted Oct 25, 2013
Pros: proximity to the city (Tolcross)
Cons: quite a lot but that would up the price.
Location: 10 minute walk to the Grassmarket and castle, 20 minute walk to Princes Street. Lots of buses from the end of the road.
at £40 p.n. this was perfectly adequate but not someplace to consider for a long stay. My room was OK if dim, the bed had a footboard, which I can't stand because I am tall and need my feet out of the end (very much a personal fact). Furnished with second hand furniture (not a complaint just a comment). Toilet was cramped (especially for me 6'4" and 17st) and the loo seat was detached, the shower took about 5 minutes to reach a comfortable warmth. Staff were friendly on reception (at the Braveheart, some 70 yards along the road); breakfast was good (at the Braveheart) with friendly helpful staff. Adequate for a one nighter and close enough to the city.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Basic, as expected

Posted Oct 3, 2013
Pros: Price and location
Cons: Cleanliness, new sheets, fix the heater so guests can turn it off if/when needed
Location: Good bakery right down the lane on the main road, easy to catch buses or walk up to Cowgate and the Grassmarket
This is a basic bed and breakfast. The room could have been cleaner and we couldn't turn off the heater. But the beds were comfortable enough and the location was good for wandering around the city. Edinburgh is an incredibly easy city to get around so the location worked well and the price was good for what we received.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Howard from London, UK

Not very close to any known place

Posted Oct 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
When you offer your hotel as guest house, we in America do not know that it is an inconvenient bread and breakfast, housed 2 blocks away from the house that offers breakfast. Pretty inconvenient !!!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good family b and b

Posted Aug 1, 2013
Very clean, the owners are very friendly and the breakfast is delicious!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Alex from UK

Close to city centre

Posted Jul 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
Good location, good value for money. Breakfast wasn't that great, but ok.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alexandre from NJ

Good as the layover point

Posted Mar 16, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Check-in restrictions
This is good hotel if you just need one night stay on your way and really do not care much about anything but the overnight stay. Separate bathroom (one per 6 rooms) is clean and noise insulation is good. Most important feature is 15-20 minute walk to Airlink bus (primary transportation between Edinburgh airport and city centre). You need to check in in the different guest house on the same street so if you are walking around with the heavy luggage you will be greatly annoyed. Late check-in requires prior arrangements and some mechanism to procure the key.
3 out of 5
by Sarah from England, UK

A Little Shabby!

Posted Mar 4, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: bathroom
Location: Excellent
I had to clean the toilet when we got there, as it had skid marks on it. There was no bulb in the bedside lamp.Th e Curtains were falling off the rail and breakfast was limited and in another house along the road. However it was an excellent location to see Edinburgh and the staff were friendly and helpful.