Ratings based on 828 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom suffolk

hotel is in the center of city

Posted May 9, 2015
Pros: it was central
Cons: internet, and heathing
the room was very cold, the wifi was free but with very poor reception
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tampa

room with a view

Posted May 6, 2015
Pros: Centrally located for train and bus services. Also close to most visitor attractions.
Cons: Once renovations are finished this will be a lovely hotel, sorry the name is being changed as the hotel name was a part of the Edinburgh heritage.
Location: In Princes street with train, bus and tram services. Lots of shops and in sight of Edinburgh castle and various visitor attractions.
Arrived at reception at 9am, spoke to receptionist about early access to the room and about an hour later I was in my room. After flying in from Florida this was appreciated. Tea and coffee making facilities were available although socket box for plugging in was missing. Hotel is being renovated so a few workmen around and a bit messy but this did not impact me. Kitchen provided sandwiches for me after a late night arrival from visiting Oxford. Also had lunch in the coffee lounge, friendly service and good food.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London

A building site is not a good place for a relaxing

Posted May 4, 2015
The hotel is undergoing a very belated and necessary refurbishment. We saw none of the benefits and suffered all the disbenefits. The only thing going for it at the moment is the convenient location. Potential guests should be warned and receive some reduction in the price if they do decide to stay, especially in one of the very outdated rooms which have such poor sound insulation that you hear every noise from the street below.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 2, 2015
it was clean & comfortable handy location. Being upgraded so some noise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Wife's 40th Birthday Weekend

Posted Apr 24, 2015
The hotel is being upgraded, so some disruption. However, the staff were amongst the best I have met and I stay away quite a lot through work. Our room was immaculate and comfortable. We decided to eat in the hotel on our first night and are so glad that we did. It was sensational food. Book a table in the Juniper bar for cocktails as it gets very busy. Situated directly across from Waverley station, this hotel is in the perfect location. I would gladly stay here again whenever I visit Edinburgh. Thank you to the staff who helped to make our visit memorable.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Midden van het land

Prijs/kwaliteit verhouding slecht.

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: Locatie is top voor een weekend Edinburg. Leuke (cocktail)bar.
Cons: Kamers en gangen, algemene uitstraling van het deel van het hotel.
Location: Stad is top, veel te doen, veel te zien, veel om te eten en drinken. Midden in de stad direct aan openbaar vervoer.
Locatie hotel is prima, midden in de stad vlakbij station en bussen naar het vliegveld. Ideaal voor een weekend in Edinburg, wat overigens een prima stad is om een weekend te verblijven. Kamer was verouderd, matrassen van niet al te beste kwaliteit. Doordat de kamer aan de achterzijde van het gebouw lag hadden wij uitzicht op ramen en een dak. De lobby is modern en oogt nieuw, de bar ernaast is prima en gezellig voor een afzakkertje of een borrel in de middag. Wij hebben niet ontbeten in het Hotel. De kamer daarentegen was zeer matig, gehorig, verouderd, smoezelig. Niet direct vies. Ditzelfde geldt voor de badkamer. Het personeel aan de receptie was vriendelijk en behulpzaam. Totaal indruk was dat de prijs kwaliteit verhouding behoorlijk scheef is, gewoon te duur voor het gebodene. Overigens was het restaurant/grill dicht wegens verbouwing, dit werd niet vermeld bij het inchecken.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago USA

Lovely stay in Scotland!

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: Location, lots of space in room and maid kept replenishing all teas, waters, creamers that were used. Thank you!
Cons: I didn't take showers because I was not able to regulate cold faucet, so I enjoyed baths my whole stay - plenty of hot water.
Location: Perfect location - near bus lines, trains and walking to all major points of interest.
I was a little concerned due to previous posts but as soon as I opened the door to my room I knew I had nothing to worry about! The view from my huge room 107 overlooking Princes Street with Scott Monument on one side and the Castle in the background was outstanding! The bathroom was roomy with lots of water pressure and hot water, plenty of towels, amenities, teas/coffees too. There were two space heaters with one burning out but quickly replaced. The windows were a little drafty but hey with views and space like this, I can deal with it (did I mention the price was right!) There was construction going on during the day but I was out touring. Check in and out was quick and staff very accommodating. I didn't go to the restaurant or bar so I can't say. My stay in Edinburgh was everything I hoped/dreamt it would be! I'll be back to Scotland and to Royal British Hotel!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Inverurie Uk

Centrality in Edinburgh

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Pros: It's centrality is its main attraction. Linen and bathroom accessories were perfect
Cons: Rooms require massive upgrade. Ceiling tiles, taps, wrinkled bathroom Lino and carpet all need urgent attention.
Location: Location perfect for National Gallery, Castle and main department stores. Try out the new tram service for a number of stops, Harvey N's for coffee
Undergoing refurbishment led to rating of this hotel. The staff made up for the disappointment felt I'm sure it will be ok when work is completed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Reneefrom Indianapolis

Great location, but traffic noise is loud

Posted Feb 12, 2015 on Hotels.com
Hotel was fine. Clean, safe, average condition (water mark on ceiling). While the location was handy, and the view onto Princes St was lovely, the traffic noise was too loud all night long so I didn't sleep we'll.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brisbane, Australia

Excellent location, fun room, fantastic bar

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: The bar, location and the room
Cons: Wear and tear in some hallways, made me worry initially about hotel quality
Location: Can't be beat for location - come off the train, cross the road, and you're there. Everything in central Edinburgh is close by
Directly across the road from the train station and our room had a view of the castle (it was visible at least). Some wear and tear in the hallways made me worry, but the room was clean and comfortable with very cool blue lighting effects throughout. The noise coming from the bar made me think it was a loud, packed disco, but the sound quality is excellent - it only seems loud, if that makes sense. Was able to hold a conversation and enjoy the music at the same time. The bar is beautiful, fantastic seating, nice atmosphere. And did I mention the location?