Ratings based on 155 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by jogcog from Aberdeen

Perfect for Swim Competitions

Posted Dec 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
We were staying in Edinburgh for a swim competition at the Commonwealth Pool and this hotel could not be in a better location. With free parking, we literally parked up on arrival and never needed the car until it was time to go. The room was spacious and clean and the staff were lovely, even provided breakfast bags as the breakfast was not served early enough for the swimmers. We did walk into the City Centre one afternoon to see a movie, and the walk was only 20 minutes. We will definitely stay here in future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Perfect city centre hotel

Posted Dec 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel was absolutely great. We had a late arrival and the staff on that evening were fantastic, got us out key really quickly, gave us a map of Edinburgh and explained it briefly too us. The room was great except our room was a bit cold even with the heating on fully (but that could maybe be down to the time of year) Breakfast is a must! Couldn't fault it and the staff in the dining room were very friendly! Overall stay was great and I would definitely stay there again! Was just a 10 minute walk from the royal mile.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel tucked away at the edge of the City.

Posted Nov 25, 2013
Pros: The cleanliness, decor, shower and wood panelling and staircase.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Close to city centre at foot of Arthurs Seat, easy walk into town with plenty buses for those not wanting to walk.
We found a great little hotel tucked away just of the heart of the city at the foot of Arthurs Seat. In what was once a large mansion house which has been converted with just 37 rooms but still maintains a lot of the original character. The rooms are beautifully furnished to a high standard and extremely comfortable, the bathroom was spotlessly clean and showers are excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel, clean and in an quirky building.

Posted Nov 25, 2013
Our room had a turret, which was awesome. Decor is not as boutique as you would hope for such a lovely and quirky hotel, but it was perfectly enjoyable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 23, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rosey

Great character

Posted Nov 19, 2013
Great building, breakfast was excellent, good value. It's £7 cab ride into town but worth it. Reception is not within the same building.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Basic Hotel

Posted Nov 7, 2013
Location: It was situated in a poorly lit area - not nice for single women
Hotel ok, but the area not great - It was situated in a poorly lit area
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Geoff K from Preston

Posted Nov 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Hotel was great, allocated a terrific room. The location is great for tourists with easy access into Town. Not easy for the Business guest - travelling at rush hour is difficult, morning and evening, took an hour to navigate my way to and from the motorway. The breakfast was first class, freshly cooked and a vast choice for all tastes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Valerie from CT

Good location for the University of Edinburgh

Posted Oct 28, 2013
Pros: Easy location out of the city center.
Very eco-friendly room; convenient walk to University events; however most major tourist sites are a bus ride away. Very nice breakfast included. Free parking
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Marc from Toronto

Very nice alternative to others

Posted Oct 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
First things first, this hotel is on the Edinborough University, so you need to enter by the main school entrance to find it. You can't access it from Dalkeith Road, even though you can see it from there. That being said, we enjoyed our stay. The hotel building is old, but the rooms are very contemporary. Lots of nice amenities in the spacious rooms. The check in is in the building next door. The breakfast buffet is in the hotel, very extensive, and attended by good service staff. There is wifi, but it will disconnect you if you aren't active on it for 15 minutes or so, and with a very complex user ID and password code, this can get quite annoying quite fast. The price was very reasonable, so the value was solid, and the walk downtown is an easy one. And if you enjoy a more vigorous walk, you are right next to Arthur's Seat, which rewards your climb with stunning views of the city and beyond. All in all, a solid choice I would make again.