Ratings based on 209 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 7, 2014
3 out of 5
by Debi from Surrey, England

Very nice hotel and spa but...

Posted Jan 7, 2014
Pros: The staff at the bar were more friendly than the reception staff!
Cons: Please see "about your experience" above.
Location: Excellent location in Edinburgh. Walking distance to many areas but not right in the middle of everything.
This was an excellent spa hotel in so many ways but they fell short on making everyone feel welcome and catered for. It had a "cold" feel to it.The most disappointing was - 1. Having to pay extra each day for wifi in the rooms. 2. Not being able to have FULL use of the pool's facilities (i.e such as the jacuzzi) if in a standard level room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel and great staff.

Posted Jan 3, 2014
Make sure you order room service it's gorgeous
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by MandV from Frinton on Sea

Location, location, location

Posted Jan 3, 2014
We stayed for two nights over New Year (Hogmonay), the Hotel and the Spa are in the perfect location and we had a great view of the Castle and fireworks, which was why we paid the exhorbitant price. The Hotel is splndid in every way (especially the World famous Spa), although showing signs of wear and age.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location to all Edinburgh attractions

Posted Dec 30, 2013
Pros: Excellent location for many of Edinburgh attractions. The hotel staff are all very helpful and courteous.
Cons: The water pressure for the shower and wash basin.
Location: Just perfect
We have stayed at this note on several occasions over the years and the experience just gets better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by darren from harrogate

fantastic all round hotel

Posted Dec 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
great service from check-in to check-out, everything you would want/expect from a 5* hotel. Spa was amazing also.
3 out of 5
by Andy from Peterborough

A little dissapointing

Posted Dec 17, 2013
Pros: Castle view room was great, beds to die for. Food was very tasty in the bar area, and staff wer all really very good.
Cons: Leisure area offering to paying guests needs to improve before I would stay or recommend the hotel. In fact my son and friends are now staying in the
Location: Castle and theatre close, shops food etc not too far but not great if it was raining.
Don't normally stay here but after looking at reviews decided to choose the Sheriton over my normal choice. Location wasn't as good for city, but great for theatre and castle. Rooms and staff fantastic. But for a 5 star we were dissapointed in the leisure facilities, the pool area had no spa or steam room and the turkish baths were out of order. yes Escape at One was available at a cost which we did do before we left, but for a hotel of this standard access to the spa at least should be free for guests. So we paid the £60.00 for two people at escape at one to find that at least three of the experiences were not working correctly, despite us and others complaining it made no difference in the 3 hours we were alloted. No offer of refund or compensation was forthcoming. Another little thing that annoyed us was when we purchased two drinks in the lounge bar (cost £15:00) we were not offered crisps, nuts etc. After 20 minutes I realised other customers were offered these as a matter of course. A visit back to the bar sorted this out but these should have been offered.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

amazing next to usherhall

Posted Dec 2, 2013