Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Nice B&B in a 1830's house.

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: The 1830's row house has been well taken care of. Our room had beautiful draperies, carpeting, television, mini fridge, microwave. Great breakfast.
Cons: The bathroom down the hall was awkward. I believe the rest of the rooms were en suite. Our room over looked the street which was noisy from traffic.
Location: Sherwood sits in a neighborhood of shops and B&Bs. A beautiful city park is within walking distance and a bus ride gets you to city centre quickly.
This was our first time in Edinburgh. We had less than 24 hours and wanted to see as much as possible. Travel around Edinburgh is easy by bus as this B&B is located right on a busy bus line. Those unfamiliar with the city should take a cab if arriving from the train station(depart at the Waverly Station) or airport. The bus system is an easy way to move around after one becomes accustomed to their surroundings. The owners gave us expert advise on the bus routes, numbers and fares. We took the bus to the airport at minimal cost.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Wayne from Michigan

Perfect in every way

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Pros: We liked everything, especially the owners, Susan and David.
Cons: Our room - the twin room #4 - is a bit small but is priced accordingly. It still offered plenty of space for the two of us.
Location: You are within walking distance (a mile) from the heart of Edinburgh. Buses run frequently on this main route. Good neighborhood. Many restaurants.
Susan and David Greig have operated a B&B for 31 years - and it shows. Nobody who does it wrong lasts long in this business and the Greigs do everything right. First of all, they themselves are a delight. Get to know them. They make this part easy with their warmth and charm. The guest house is clean and the breakfast room offers plenty of room and soothing music. The breakfast is not a full English one but certainly has enough cheeses, meats, cereals, breads, fruits to satisfy. David will ask you if you want anything griddled like eggs or potato scones. So there is plenty to start your day. For dinner, there are numerous ethnic restaurants along the main street - French, Italian, Nepalese, etc. The Reverie pub is also nearby and offers entertainment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

lovely hotel,all staff very friendly and helpful.

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: all of it .
Cons: nothing.
lovely stay. loads to do in edinburgh.pubs and food all good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by HOw

Very Welcoming

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: Service, location and the breakfast was excellent.
Cons: More space but it is the UK.
My airline misplaced my luggage on the way to Edinburgh, the staff at Sherwood were excellent in accommodating my needs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Very convenient location - lots of buses into city. Lovely hosts , very welcoming and helpful. Room very clean, quite small but we only slept there, nice breakfast.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Bed mtress was about as old as the building

Posted Jan 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel was never worth 90 odd pounds a night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2014 by david, Hotel Management
matresses are changed every 2 years. There is currently no matress in the house that is over 18 months old we do not have anything at the price range you are talking about in the early part of the year it nice to see you were not brave enough to add your name. did you even stay with us?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sherwood House from Edinburgh Scotland

3 Night stay in Edinburgh

Posted Oct 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
Extremely Happy. David and Susan were very welcoming. Just like family. We needed to catch a train before breakfast our last day and they sent us off with a very nice lunch. Thank you for such a lovely stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2014 by david, Hotel Management
sorry for taking so long to respond. we didnt know there was a section for comments/reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ed

B&B recommended

Posted Apr 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
We found courtesy and helpfulness, small but hospitable room with all the facilities available.A breakfast table set very-well with everything and more. B&B located just a few minutes from downtown, about 10 min walk and well served by buses.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Cynthia from Belfast, UK

Well located guesthouse

Posted Jul 10, 2012
A very welcoming guesthouse. The owners were very chatty and helpful, especially with driving directions - the city centre was being dug up to create a tramway and diversions were in placewhen we were there. The room and bathroom were comfortable, but a bit on the small side. A fridge and microwave in the room is an asset. Thankfully we got one of the parking spaces at the front as it was raining heavily when we arrived! Very good location, with excellent bus service into the city centre. Breakfast very nicet, lots of variety for guesst to help themselves. Thoroughly recommended.