Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by Aine from Dublin

Lovely hostel just off the Royal Mile

Posted Feb 7, 2014
We booked into the hostel on Tuesday to stay for two nights, we arrived early and they let us leave our bags in the luggage area until it was time to check in. The bar is very nice for food and drinks and always has a nice number of people in it. Bathroom and shower facilities also very good. We came back after a night out with food and one of the staff opened the kitchen just for us so very happy about that. Thank you!! Would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Thomas from Sydney, Australia

Good location and staff yet frustrating to stay at

Posted Jan 8, 2014
Pros: Location on the Royal Mile.
Cons: Music in the bar, shower curtains in the bathrooms, better WiFi range into the rooms, better elevator.
Location: Walk to the Castle or the many places to see along the Royal Mile or Princes Street.
We stayed in a private twin for three nights over Hogmanay. The location is excellent, just off the Royal Mile. The rooms are a little tired but functional - the beds were comfortable enough and there was a cupboard for storage. Unfortunately our experience there was one of small frustrations. No shower curtain means the bathroom gets flooded and without a squeegee it meant there was a permanent pool of water in the bathroom for our entire stay. The cleaning staff only empty the rubbish bins, leaving you with the swimming pool. The bar space is lovely with good food (except the oily breakfast) and drinks at good prices but an absolutely woeful music selection played at maximum volume through the worst speakers I have ever heard. It was positively unpleasant to stay there for more than 30 minutes... which is unfortunate, because it is the only place the WiFi works. There are no other common areas unless you want to sit outside in the rain. The elevator was unreliable and we ended up taking the stairs every time as you could end up waiting more than 5 minutes. Overall a disappointing experience that could be significantly better with just a few small changes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay!

Posted Nov 10, 2013
Cheep and cheerful! Clean and pleasant! Very helpful staff! I couldn't believe how close it was to the Royal mile! Half a block!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overnight stay in a lovely hostel

Posted Oct 24, 2013
Cons: There was a constant noise (like a bathroom fan) that became quite annoying over time but it wasn't a big deal.
Location: Calton Hill, Palace, Edinburgh Castle, ghost tours
The hostel is in a handy location, lots of brochures and maps of Edinburgh City. Didn't get a chance to go to the bar but that looked nice too. Met some really friendly people in my room!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Was not close to Waverly station as advertised.

Posted Aug 22, 2013
Pros: Restaurant bar downstairs
Location: The Royal Mile and Edinburgh was decent walking distance if you weren't lugging lugage
Had to hall 3 suitcases up and down a mile of steep hills from and to Waverly station. Restaurant and bar downstairs was very good. Room was 2 bunk beds shared with strangers. Wasn't expecting that. But it worked out OK this time. Would not do this to save money next time!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sue from Sydney NSW, Australia

Pleasant stay

Posted Aug 9, 2013
This hostel was in a great location, right in the heart of Old Town Edinburgh. The staff were polite and the room was clean. The only downfall for me was that the shower was not a closed off shower so the entire bathroom floor was wet after someone had a shower - a bit annoying if you just want to use the toilet or the sink. They offer breakfast at the bar downstairs which is convenient if you need a quick and easy breaky but I thought the quality of the food wasn't the best - eggs were watery and meats were drenched in oil/fat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A great stay

Posted Jul 23, 2013
Surprised with just how nice this hostel was. Will stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by Mike from From the USA

Great location and value in Old Town, Edinburgh

Posted Apr 30, 2013
Pros: Servie, proximity, and price.
Cons: A bit noisy into the night.
Location: Right off the Royal Mile, right in the middle of everything!
I am a family guy in my mid 30s and was a long traveler. I can appreciate both what young and old patrons are looking for. That being said, its a hostel in a downtown urban center, so its going to be a bit noisy and a little crazy... but if you know that going in, its a great place that has excellent accommodations. The staff is very friendly and helpful... even if the place is a zoo. They have luggage storage you can use even before you check in. The bar/lounge is large and comfortable for any size of group. And the room and bed's aren't bad, actually kind of good... for a hostel. Younger patrons will love it for its proximity and night life while older patrons will love it for its proximity, price, service and connivence.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Ingolf from Norway

Good hostel

Posted Apr 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
Friendly staff. Too much noise during the night from the neighbors.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by D. from Barcelona, Spain

Confortable and worth it.

Posted Apr 3, 2013
Pros: I really liked the kind of people I met here. Everyone is kind and friendly but will respect your privacy.
Cons: The elevator was very slow.
Location: Great location, walking distance from many great places
It was a great experience. The rooms are clean and the staff hardworking and efficient. Really enjoyed my stay. Would stay here again.