Ratings based on 106 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from norwich

Good!

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Good! Kind staff! Good position! Very quiet sleep time! Everything good!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

A base to explore Edinburgh

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: Centrally located
Cons: Kettle and facility to make drinks in the room
Location: Central - easy walking distance from station and to the main tourist attractions
Perfectly adequate accomadation for our purposes and good value for money - somewhat noisy at night, but to be expected due to the predominant student aged clientele.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice location!

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Smart city hostels is located in the heart of Edinburgh! It's very convenience! Recommened!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ireland

3 nights Private twin - Overall good experience

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Location & Bar.
Cons: Better pillows. More clarity at reception regarding getting bookings and information correct.
Location: Just a few minutes walk to the bus and train station. Everything is within easy walking distance. Bar and food on location.
Slightly mixed feelings about this hostel but overall its good and I would stay there again. I think we might have just had a bad initial experience as the staff seem a little dis-organised. It was the during the fringe and they were flat out, but the staff mixed up our booking - a lot of the private twin rooms just have a bunk bed but we had specifically requested two free standing singles which had been confirmed by the hostel weeks in advance. Despite this we still got a bunk bed. They did rectify this for the next 2 nights. We also paid for a late check out for our last day but were still woken up at 10am by a member of staff banging on our door telling us that we had to check out! they hadn't realised we'd paid for the late check out. The beds are just ok, the pillows are so thin that they're kind of pointless, the en-suite and towels is a nice touch. Overall the hostel itself is pretty good. The location and bar totally make it and I would probably stay here again for these reasons. The staff are also lovely and the hostel is clean with good facilities and the rooms themselves are adequate. Its also busy and sociable which suited us as we were there for the fringe and going out in Edinburgh. They have a fringe venue in the bar as well which was great :) it is quite expensive but then I think hostels in Edinburgh are expensive anyway so I would still recommend this hostel to others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg, Canada

Close to Train station.

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Close to train station and easy walk to city centre.
Cons: Laundry facilities for guests.
Location: Castle gardens close where walking tours start. Lots of pubs and restaurants close by.
Clean and worked well for our family. Good full breakfast buffet. My only complaint is the lack of laundry facililities. I'm used to hotels in North America having a laundry room, but they don't seem to be the norm here. After a week of travelling, we really needed access to a washing machine before our next weeks' travel. The laundry service offered was horrendously expensive, (2 pounds for a pair of boxers, seriously?) and there was no laundrette close by, particularly as we weren't driving. And the service wasn't available on the weekend anyway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Waterloo, ON

Great hostel near the action in Edinburgh

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: Location was perfect.
Cons: Wifi coverage.
Our family of five stayed in Edinburgh but because it was a dormitory style, we rented for six. Totally worth it so we had the room to ourselves. We were just off the Royal Mile and could walk everywhere we needed. Breakfast was sufficient (could only choose six items but was enough to fill us, not as bad as it seemed). Wifi was terrible - couldn't connect in our room but could in the pub - until it stopped working. Not uncommon in our European stays.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Ok hostel in good location

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Price.
I booked a twin room for three nights recently and I think that as it was so close to both the fringe festival and during the commonwealth games that they must have pushed their prices up a lot. Definitely not worth what we paid! But it is clean and comfortable with a good shower although complimentary toiletries is a soap dispenser so bring your own. Room was pretty noisy as we were above the bar but the breakfast for £5 is pretty decent although you will have to fight for somewhere to eat if you get up too late. But it is well located for all the sites - if it was just more reasonably priced I would have given it a far more preferable review.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, nice staff, not so good rooms

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Location, Staff
Cons: The room need to be cleaned better
Good location, nice staff. The room was very small and dirty. Not sure if this was a one off but the room was worse than many other hostels that have stayed in that were far cheaper.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Netherlands

Nice hostel. Clean, good beds and in the centre

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Good hostel in the centre of Edinburgh. Clean and good beds. Great facilities like the bar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Caroline from Rhode Island, USA

Simple but Satisfactory

Posted Jul 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
The location was fantastic: a few minutes off The Royal Mile and about halfway between Edinburgh Castle and Parliament. The room was well organized and the bathroom functioned well, hot water and good shower pressure. This is a good place to stay if you're adult looking for a less expensive alternative or a family with older children. The hostel is a little noisy at night, as there are many young people and a pub/bar in the hostel, but it usually quieted down by 11pm. They don't clean your room daily, but they replace the towels. The front desk staff was helpful with any questions we had. Definitely consider this if you are a no frills travel kind of person who just wants clean and safe with a functioning bathroom.