Ratings based on 93 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, nice staff, not so good rooms

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Location, Staff
Cons: The room need to be cleaned better
Good location, nice staff. The room was very small and dirty. Not sure if this was a one off but the room was worse than many other hostels that have stayed in that were far cheaper.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Netherlands

Nice hostel. Clean, good beds and in the centre

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Good hostel in the centre of Edinburgh. Clean and good beds. Great facilities like the bar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, Washington

Great hostel

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Took bus to city from airport, easy to find, clean, friendly staff, clean spacious rooms, in city walking distance to sights, bar in hostel little noisy at night if windows open
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Wrong room type available when we arrived and we're given a different room for the first night. Then next day when we were to get the right room there was further confusion and another wrong room. Finally sorted and free breakfast provided
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The price is good

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Pros: The location and the price.
Cons: The window in the room could not be closed. Occupants should be able to open or close that window as they wish.
Location: It is walking distance to everything.
The hostel is clean with friendly staff. My only complaint is that some occupants were boisterous in the middle of the night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hostel in old town edinburgh

Posted May 20, 2014
Pros: Spacious rooms, location
Cons: Shower curtains in showers having a common lounge room away from bar for residents to socialise
Location: Old town edinburgh
Spacious rooms but can get hot in the top floors. Can get noisy due to the bar downstairs. Overall a good experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by Aine from Dublin

Lovely hostel just off the Royal Mile

Posted Feb 7, 2014
We booked into the hostel on Tuesday to stay for two nights, we arrived early and they let us leave our bags in the luggage area until it was time to check in. The bar is very nice for food and drinks and always has a nice number of people in it. Bathroom and shower facilities also very good. We came back after a night out with food and one of the staff opened the kitchen just for us so very happy about that. Thank you!! Would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Thomas from Sydney, Australia

Good location and staff yet frustrating to stay at

Posted Jan 8, 2014
Pros: Location on the Royal Mile.
Cons: Music in the bar, shower curtains in the bathrooms, better WiFi range into the rooms, better elevator.
Location: Walk to the Castle or the many places to see along the Royal Mile or Princes Street.
We stayed in a private twin for three nights over Hogmanay. The location is excellent, just off the Royal Mile. The rooms are a little tired but functional - the beds were comfortable enough and there was a cupboard for storage. Unfortunately our experience there was one of small frustrations. No shower curtain means the bathroom gets flooded and without a squeegee it meant there was a permanent pool of water in the bathroom for our entire stay. The cleaning staff only empty the rubbish bins, leaving you with the swimming pool. The bar space is lovely with good food (except the oily breakfast) and drinks at good prices but an absolutely woeful music selection played at maximum volume through the worst speakers I have ever heard. It was positively unpleasant to stay there for more than 30 minutes... which is unfortunate, because it is the only place the WiFi works. There are no other common areas unless you want to sit outside in the rain. The elevator was unreliable and we ended up taking the stairs every time as you could end up waiting more than 5 minutes. Overall a disappointing experience that could be significantly better with just a few small changes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay!

Posted Nov 10, 2013
Cheep and cheerful! Clean and pleasant! Very helpful staff! I couldn't believe how close it was to the Royal mile! Half a block!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overnight stay in a lovely hostel

Posted Oct 24, 2013
Cons: There was a constant noise (like a bathroom fan) that became quite annoying over time but it wasn't a big deal.
Location: Calton Hill, Palace, Edinburgh Castle, ghost tours
The hostel is in a handy location, lots of brochures and maps of Edinburgh City. Didn't get a chance to go to the bar but that looked nice too. Met some really friendly people in my room!