Ratings based on 149 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Errol, Scotland

A stone's throw from the Grassmarket

Posted Oct 31, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: 2 minutes form the Grassmarket. Great for the shops, sightseeing and gigs. Dungeons a short walk away.
Never stayed here before, but we will definitely be back. The hotel is quirky, the rooms comfortable, and ridiculously close to the centre of Edinburgh. Loved the iPod docking station in the wall of the room, which relayed your music to the bathroom while you got ready. The staff were welcoming and couldn't have been more helpful. I will be recommending this hotel to everyone I know, & we will definitely be back for another memorable stay. Thanks.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Cologne, Germany

Excellent location, slow internet

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Internet speed/connectivity
Location: Offers everything within walking distance
The hotel is in an excellent location to do sightseeing by foot and, if you are looking for a good scene, offers a nice club on the ground floor. However, the internet is so slow that it did not even process many of my requests. Unless you are not looking for internet while you are visiting, I would not recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sammamish, WA

Its a nice place -just don't get room on 1st floor

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: I liked the location, it was easy to walk to the Royal Mile and Grass Market - as well as the many stores and pubs in the area.
Cons: Don't get a room on the first floor. Just a suggestion. Especially room 104 - unless you can sleep through loud noises.
Location: Easy access to Royal Mile and Grass Market - as well as the tour bus locations. You can walk to see a lot from this hotel. Happy with the location.
We were tired travelers and were put in a room right across the hall from the door - to the bar attached to the hotel. After a visit to the front desk, they were able to move us floors/rooms and found the new room much more reasonable. The rooms are nice and fairly new; the beds are comfortable and there are safes in the rooms along with beverages and hair dryers. The staff was nice - and we were much pleased to have not had to stay in the room across from the bar. There is a busy inside/outside bar/pub in the courtyard outside the front door to the hotel. Which made it fun, loud and interesting at the same time. Great for those ages 20's to 30's. Didn't strike me as a family friendly hotel and don't recall seeing any families while there. We had a strange dizziness feeling every time we waited for elevator...but it went away as soon as we stepped off the elevator to the 3rd floor. I would recommend this place to friends travelling without their young. Night life is great and very central.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia

Party Central

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Cons: Better exterior signage, perhaps a way-in that bypasses the crowds from Three Sisters.
Location: BrewDog, Grassmarket, Royal Mile
Once you get inside, its a pleasant-enough place. Comfortable bed, spacious bedroom, large wardrobe. Staff were pleasant and helpful. And as I am a craft beer nerd, I was please to discover it was right next door to BrewDog's Edinburgh pub. The main drawback was that Stay Central shares a courtyard with the Three Sisters bar and restaurant--very popular with nearby U of Edinburgh students and others. Not a bad thing in itself, but makes the entrance hard to find, difficult to navigate when the courtyard is full of folks watching football (soccer) on the large screen. The rooms are all on the opposite side of the building from the party spot, so for the most part noise was well-managed, but on Saturday night the noise impacted my room into the wee hours. Finally, for those not familiar with Edinburgh--the map can be misleading. Cowgate, the street on which it is located, is lower than surrounding streets and therefore does not directly connect with most of them, making for a bit more walking than the map might suggest.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Unique situation in central Edinburgh

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: The room was of a good size, well equipped, well arranged, and quiet. The staff are excellent - knowledgeable and helpful. The location is convenient.
Cons: The main towels were rather small, and it would help to have shelves in the bathroom. Breakfast was cheap and OK, though service sometimes a bit slow.
Location: Very central and close to fringe festival venues, and the popular Grassmarket, and not far on foot to the Royal Mile and other highlights.
My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights near the end of the Edinburgh festival, attracted by the central location in Cowgate - particularly because it's close to St Cecilia's Hall, an important venue for classical music. Our taxi driver was sceptical, as were friends of our based in Edinburgh; Cowgate is not smart and is best known for student and backpacker hostels. We wondered whether we had made the right choice as we arrived, because the approach to the hotel is through the forecourt of the Three Sisters, a major free fringe festival venue and street food and drink venue. However, once we got through the throng, and found that we had a nice quiet room as far away as possible from all the activity and noise, we were very pleased with the hotel. Do not expect comfortable and quiet public rooms such as you might find in a different kind of hotel. But you will find a very well organised operation, with helpful and co-operative staff. The rooms vary, we were in 403 a double on the fourth floor. The next two to us were for 6 each and there's even a dormitory. Catering is from the Three Sisters, and most of the time this was noisy. We only had breakfast there so we can't speak to the quality of the food etc otherwise. Breakfast wasn't great, and was sometime rather slowly served, but it was OK and cheap. We would happily go back and stay there on a future visit to Edinburgh.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Derbyshire

Hotel well situated for the fringe

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: good central position
Cons: nothing
Location: 20 minutes walk to castle and princes street and other tourist attractions
enjoyed the stay, staff very friendly and helpful, the hotel has been refurbished and re-named since our last visit in 2008, rooms very clean, each day, rooms cleaned and beds remade each day, tea and coffee making facility replenished daily.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Excellent, convenient

Posted Jul 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Recommended. Friendly, efficient staff. Nice room. Lots of thoughtful extras. Great coffee at reception : )
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel, just a bit noisy

Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Would be perfect for the younger crowd, a bar and a club on site, be prepped for some late nights!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Wilsonfrom Calgary

Good place good price

Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel, everything according to what you see advertised, good value for the money
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 18, 2014 on Hotels.com