Ratings based on 272 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Detroit, MI

I will never stay anywhere else in Edinburgh

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Cons: Nothing I coul see.
I always struggle with what makes a great hotel. Is an expensive "5 star hotel" really TWICE as good as a solid "2.5 star hotel"? What I can tell you is that this hotel has the things that make it great: 1. close to central Edinburgh-castle (and IN the major shopping district). 2. large rooms (important if you are trying to avoid the "one foot of space around the bed-sized rooms that often predominate in GB). 3. extremely helpful and friendly staff. During my visit the concierge and bellman became my lifesavers. They did all those things they are SUPPOSED to do but with that extra degree of competance and friendliness. I won't bore you with the details but these guys are great 4. very comfy room. I want that bed at my own house! 5. really pleasant bar. Tiny but the kind of bar you'd frequent if you had unlimited time and money. Friendliest barkeep you'll ever find. Oh...and a telephone book sized scotch menu. That alone gets it my kudos.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Great Location. Great Service. The Castle is impresssive. Few steps to the train station. Edimburgh was Incredible!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classic grand hotel

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Location, location, location. Absolutely the most helpful staff. Great room, 12 foot ceilings, nice bathroom, tons of hot water, lots of pressure, clean. Good gym. Good food. Great scotch bar. Highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

The Grand Edinburgh Hotel

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Pros: Service, room quality and dimensions including the high ceilings, Spa and location.
Cons: In-Room Service. Breakfast delivered at wrong time due to misunderstanding, which meant long delay. However, Duty Manager was excellent.
Instantly struck by the grandeur of the building when leaving Waverley railway station and climbing up to Princes Street. Couldn't believe we were staying in this hotel and because it was for a special occasion that was a great feeling. The lobby area was old-fashioned but contemporary and the service by the staff member that checked us in at the reception desk was perfect. Great experience overall, only stayed for one night but we could have easily stayed a week or more, especially being able to walk from room to spa swimming pool dressed in robe and slippers. That was a luxury, can't do it often but it was good. Very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Paisley

Best service this year by far

Posted Nov 5, 2014
Pros: From the staff's positive and warm service to the quality of food and accommodation it demonstrates what can be possible from a Scottish hotel.
Cons: It would be difficult to identify an area for improvement without being petty.
Location: The hotel could not be more central in a city that is world ranked in what it has to offer in terms of tourist options
Staff found out it was our wedding anniversary they made our stay special and it was a complete surprise to us. our room and the restaurant experience was individualized and linked to the celebration and made particularly memorable. Thank you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Nice hotel in great location

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: Everything was wonderful. No complaints
Cons: None
Location: The hotel is across the bridge from the Edinburgh's old town
The hotel is across the bridge from the Edinburgh's old town which give you great view of the city. It is right next to the main train station and GBP 20 taxi ride from the Edinburgh's airport. From the hotel you can pretty much walk to the main attractions. The hotel was beautiful with nice pool/fitness center. It has really nice bar to tastes whisky and restaurant (Number One) was excellent. Room (we stayed in cheapest room) was large, clean and comfortable. Bathroom was also large with extra mirror for my wife to do makeup, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great classic hotel

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Really enjoyed my stay. Room could be updated a bit. Breakfast was ok, but they should keep milk and yogurt cold.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oregon

Balmoral Visit

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: Very high quality facility with a great location
Cons: Nothing
Location: Easy walk to everything in town and the train station
Very nice hotel that is in the center of everything in Edinburgh. Room was small and inside with no view
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Swansea

Fantastic hotel .wonderful location .

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Great stay. Hotel fantastic and staff could not be more helpful. Room clean and spacious with fresh fruit served daily free a lovely extra! The hotel situated in the most convenient place being central for all the attractions in Edinburgh. A definitive must in which to stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room Choice is important

Posted Sep 3, 2014
I expected nice view from room, but I couldn't see Edinburgh Castle from my room. Also, my room was in front of a big road and I couldn't sleep well because of noise of outside traffice and people. I was really disappointed because I paid over $400/night.