Ratings based on 365 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel stay for engagement weekend

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Excellent staff, beatiful room with rose petals and champagne provided on arrival. The bar downstairs is also great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Lovely hotel, excellent staff.

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: The decor was welcoming. Staff were very obliging and willing to help you with any queries that you had, You felt valued as a guest.
Cons: The bath was a little high for me and I could have done with a stool to step into the bath.
Location: Excellent location as you are near the shops and art galleries.You are also near to the station.
We were treated like royalty. Staff were very welcoming and the spa facilities were great. The room was spacious and very clean. The bed was very comfortable as I have a back problem. The breakfast gave a great choice and again very attentive waiting staff. We would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom North London

Lovely hotel with very attentive staff.

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Staff and quality of room
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Excellent location near to the shops and tourist attractions
Had a great weekend. Staff were very helpful and I couldn't fault our classic room which was much larger than I expected.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cambridge , UK

Five-star Valentine's stay

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: Service, quality and comfort. Finally a spa with a pool at a decent temperature!
Cons: Interior decor of rooms not very inspiring and height of bath-tub not very friendly for a short adult to negotiate when getting in and out.
Location: Centre of town and that says it all..
Arrived in fog and to a warm and sincere welcome at the Balmoral.. This was followed by some adventurous cocktails in the bar and a swim in a warm pool followed by the sauna and steam room at the spa... Dinner at Hadrian's Brassierie was beautifully prepared and delicious and the service impeccable.A misbehaving TV was promptly sorted out and the evening salvaged for a relaxing time watching a movie before bed.Breakfast was frantic and the queue was long...The reason was clear once we made it into Hadrian's as the selection and quality of choices for starting the day were fantastic. The concierge found us a florist to get some bouquets for granny and after one last fancy cocktail at the bar we bid the Balmoral a sad goodbye...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

An exquisite hotel

Posted Feb 13, 2015
It was my first time to Edinburgh, and I could not be happier with my stay at the Balmoral. The staff were beyond kind and helpful. Upgraded to a suite with a castle view, and it was the loveliest hotel experience I've ever had. Bed and shower is blissful. Do ask for a castle or Old Town view, they're breathtaking. If you're a Harry Potter fan, it's even more magical... One of the staff was kind enough to privately show us the J.K. Rowling suite, which was surreal... A memory I will cherish forever. The location couldn't be better. Everything is within walking distance. If you are looking for a beautiful five star experience in Edinburgh, I highly recommend this hotel. Authentic Scottish character of the hotel adds to the perfection. One of the staff was kind enough to even carry our luggage down to the train platform being that it was so heavy. Honestly cannot say anything negative. The only thing I would change is the length of my stay, wish it didn't end so quickly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Great stay, excellent property! The location is easy access to Waverly station and very close to the "royal mile".
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

WIFI

Posted Jan 24, 2015
WIFIが遅く回線が細い上、時間制限があるが短時間で終わらせたので我慢が出来た。1Fの中庭側で真っ暗だったがチェックインが遅く出発を早めにしたので我慢が出来た。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Very charming and comfortable.

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Pros: Staff, very clean and comfortable rooms. Amazing location.
Location: Everything is a pin drop away - from bars to tourist things. All walking distance. Easy cab ride from the airport.
Great all around - great service, polite, top notch on all aspects. We did not even expect this - but truly great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Fabulous hotel and staff. Great atmosphere with a real Scottish feel. Unfortunately our mattress was very uncomfortable. But I would defiantly go back as long as the mattress comfort was guaranteed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 31, 2014 on Hotels.com