Ratings based on 413 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Has to be the best hotel in Edinburgh

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Perfectly located. Wonderful staff, good food and the best whisky bar on Earth.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Historic hotel, great location, excellent staff. Restaurants surprisingly good. Air conditioning in the room did not work very well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Balmoral, a Hotel and a Castle Fit for Princes

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Pros: The whole experience but especially the attentiveness of staff.
Cons: Nothing
Location: The Balmoral is convenient to shopping, the gardens, castle, Royal Mile, Holyrood, and the theatre. The Botanical Gardens are within walking distance
What a climax to a very special trip! My husband and I had returned to the land and city of my birth to celebrate my 70th birthday and we could not have selected a more suitable destination for the actual eve and day. From the moment we arrived the staff did everything possible to make it a memorable stay. Our room, which was one of only two shown in the brochure, was spacious and had a magnificent view of the castle and Princes St. Although Number One restaurant was fully booked when we asked for a reservation, the front desk called down to the maitre d', who made room for us when he heard what we were celebrating. When we thanked him at the end of a superb meal, he replied. "Welcome home". A complimentary Happy Birthday plate of macrons arrived in our room the next day while we were out! Everything about our stay was top-notch. The hotel is located in the heart of town, convenient to everywhere we wished to visit. We were able to walk to the Royal Mile and to the Meadows as well as the Botanical Gardens by venturing through the New Town. Since the hotel is located on Princes St., the gardens were at our doorstep as were a range of levels of shops. This is a high end hotel that thoroughly deserves its reputation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Best place to relax after a busy week very nice staff room was very clean just the business
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Great hotel!

Posted Jun 10, 2015
We had a wonderful experience at the Balmoral. It was our favorite hotel during our holiday in London and Edinburgh. Staff was very friendly and the room was excellent. Highly recommend the Afternoon Tea at the Palm Room. They accommodated us at the last minute on a Sunday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Convenient to train station. Beautiful building.

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Pros: Historic building. Conscientous staff.
Location: Convenient to many tourist destinations, particularly bus tours, Scott monument and train station.
Staff was incredibly helpful and courteous. Concierge went above and beyond to assist us and make us feel welcome. Hotel staff took our luggage to the train station and loaded it on our train to London.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 30, 2015
It was the most beautiful, comfortable and relaxing hotel that I have ever stayed in. All of the staff was extremely helpful and nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Not worth the cost

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: location, staff, bathroom
Cons: double glazing in rooms, to reduce noise, and Nespresso machines please!
Location: the hotel is on top of Waverley Station, the main railway station in Edinburgh, so it is very practical if arriving by train, and is very central
Our internal room was noisy, because of the restaurant fan in the court. It operates until midnight and from 5 AM, and it disturbs sleep. Also, we saw 3 rooms (booked 2, and had to change 1 because of the noise), and none had a coffee machine in the room. Finally, there is no garage, so the only option is valet parking, and it can take up to 30 minutes to get the car back. Rooms were nice, and the staff is super nice, but then you would expect that in such an expensive 5-star hotel. All in all, a good hotel, but in my view not worth the price tag.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Remscheid

Luxushotel in bester Lage Edinburghs

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: Lage, Zimmer, Frühstück, Bar, Restaurant etc...
Cons: Die Qualität des Kaffee beim Frühstück ließ zu wünschen übrig.
Location: siehe oben, beste Lage.
Wir haben einen 4 tägigen Städetrip nach Edinburgh unternommen. Aufgrund der Lage, Altstadt und Neustadt sehr kurze Wege, fiel unsere Wahl auf das Hotel Balmoral. Es gehört zu den LHW und bietet alles was ein gutes Grandhotel ausmacht. Wir waren mit den Zimmern und dem Service des Hotels sehr zufrieden.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted May 5, 2015
Can't fault the hotel on anything. Excellent service all round. Be warned however if you want to eat in number one it is worth booking in advance, it was fully booked every night we were there.