Ratings based on 269 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom lanarkshire

Fantastic luxury hotel

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Situated in a quiet residential area this hotel is the epitome of luxury. Staff excellent couldn't do enough for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Australia

Great hotel .

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Pros: Clean and friendly staff
Cons: Nothing
Quite a walk to the city and train station, ok if not raining. Staff very helpful. Room spacious and quiet. Really enjoyable stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel let down by restuarant service

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Good sized room and nice fresh decor in a grand old building. However our stay was let down by disinterested Staff at breakfast and limited buffet selection which was not replenished. First thing left at our table was the bill even before the food came which didn't set a good impression. Moreover we were then ignored by numerous staff wandering about seemingly busy but apparently not doing much so we had to then ask for toast which every other table had received. When we eventually got the cooked breakfast, the food was nice but overpriced at £8 with only one slice of bacon on the plate. Check in/out was also slow and didn't feel like staff were really interested in much. Would only stay again if price was right.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Nice room with nice view of city. Good car parking and only 5min walk from George's St and princes st.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Aberdeen

Lovely central hotel

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Absolutely loved this hotel. Can't wait to go back for a second visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Bonham Hotel

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: Cooked breakfast, reception and dining areas, jazz / ambient background music softly playing, comfortable bedroom, views from up top.
Cons: Sandwiches could be nicer. Some room repairs were needed (broken floor tiles and a blind that didn't work).
Location: Edinburgh is one of my favourite cities - so much to do...
We had a lovely time in the hotel. It's relaxed and friendly. The bedroom was on the 3rd floor and a pleasure to sleep in - very comfortable mattress and such a quiet room. The cooked breakfast was tasty. Staff in the restaurant and reception were helpful and courteous. Good value for bed and breakfast. I'd stay there again. The only downside was a slightly disappointing sandwich at lunchtime - the bread the hotel uses could be better e.g. more rustic than an the ordinary sliced loaf we were served.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom orlando

Nice old hotel...

Posted Dec 25, 2014
With helpful staff and within walking distance of everything a tourist wants to see.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom orkney

Very enjoyable.

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Really enjoyed my stay. Staff were very helpful and never once felt rushed out in the morning. Beds were exquisite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Aberdeen

up to expectation

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Pros: Relaxed and pleasant staff, the hotel has the ambience of a well run stately home.
Cons: Did rather lack porterage.
Location: Well located at the west end of the new town and within an easy walk of the best shops and restaurants.
Rarely would I give a hotel full marks on all counts, but this establishment did live up to expectation.