Ratings based on 170 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from idaho

No ham

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Nice hotel, easy to walk to everything. Helpful, nice staff. Room was hot, no air conditioning or fan, and window only opened about 4 inches.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oldham

Weekend Break

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Old style charm of the building and the high ceilings are impressive.
Cons: Nothing particularly just that with the design of the hotel the walk from the bedroom to the bathroom made me feel a bit like a lab rat.
Location: The location was convenient, to walk to the bottom end of Princess Street was only 5 minutes away but it was in a quiet square.
Had a great 2 night stay at The Bonham staff were all friendly attentive and courteous. Had the afternoon tea in the hotel that was very good and an indulgent treat. Breakfast was excellent particularly the smoked salmon the room was well appointed and one of the more comfortable hotel beds I've slept in giving good back support without being to firm. Also choose the hotel as it had car parking which is situated at the back of the hotel (you are as well to ask at reception for guidance). The only thing was that there is some double parking other users handed in their cars to allow the hotel staff to move cars for you to gain an exit. Overall very civilised and would recommend.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ashby de la Zouch

Overpriced and understaffed

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Other than the service, the hotel is pretty comfortable. Good range of food at breakfast
Cons: The d├ęcor is dated and tired. My bathroom would have been state of the art in the 1990's
Location: Stayed there to visit the Fringe. A bit away from the action - but all the better for that. Nice 19th century residential area
Levels of service way below what you should get the prices they charge. Arrived back at 1145 pm to find 2 other couples waiting for their key (no-one on reception for a long period - we had to go behind the desk and help ourselves in the end) and everyone else in the lounge complaining about slow service. Plus the rudest waitress at breakfast I think I've ever met in a hotel.....and a lingering beastly smell outside my basement room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Walking distance from the Tram.

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Nice hotel. Walking distance from the tram, Princes and George Street. Quiet location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Princes street, quiet location, beautiful

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: Everything
Visited for an overnight stay, all the staff were so friendly and so helpful. Rooney excellent, clean, cosy. Would be delighted to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by vernon

Short walk into Princes Street

Posted May 31, 2014
Welcoming staff. Free and convenient parking. Good food
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bonham Hotel

Posted May 9, 2014
Pros: Location and character
Cons: Could provide tea/coffee facilities and improve room service menu.
Booked hotel only for proximity to meeting venue. Pleasantly surprised. Comfortable hotel and ideal for an overnight stay for business meetings the next day. Comfortable and quiet room. Loved the high ceilings and large windows. Disappointed room service menu was so limited, not much more than sandwiches so had to use restaurant rather than work in room over dinner, which some would say is no bad thing!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant stay

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: Old fashioned with character - great they are still around and affordable.
Cons: nothing - all good
Location: 10 mins walk from where the airport bus dropped us off and 20 mins walk back to the city center - great location.
Enjoyable stay at a hotel with character, the staff were very friendly and helpful on arrival and the room was well equipt. Great location for walking into the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joao from Portugal

Nice hotel not to far from city centre

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: Room space
Cons: Continental breakfast. Improve kindness and smile of some of reception staff
Location: Well located, in calm square
Spacious rooms with pleasant facilities and comfort. Continental breakfast could improve in several aspects
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jackie from Birmingham

Nice boutique hotel in quiet area.

Posted May 1, 2014
Gorgeous hotel with very professional staff who responded quickly and efficiently to any complaints/requests. Clean and spacious room with good view. Good heating. Not great comfort of bed/pillows but that's a common problem for me. The minor problem of blown fuse in room and broken kettle were positive examples that made me confident in staff competencies rather than inconvenienced. Look forward to visiting again.