Ratings based on 256 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom orkney

Very enjoyable.

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Really enjoyed my stay. Staff were very helpful and never once felt rushed out in the morning. Beds were exquisite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Aberdeen

up to expectation

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Pros: Relaxed and pleasant staff, the hotel has the ambience of a well run stately home.
Cons: Did rather lack porterage.
Location: Well located at the west end of the new town and within an easy walk of the best shops and restaurants.
Rarely would I give a hotel full marks on all counts, but this establishment did live up to expectation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey,USA

Beautiful boutique hotel in great location

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Location: Location is like staying in a $50 million Upper East side brownstone in New York City within walking distance of all major Edinburgh tourist areas.
From the time we checked in to the morning we left, excellent experience. The staff were friendly and fun ! They made great recommendations for restaurants and things to do off the beaten path. Will definitely go back on our ext trip to Scotland.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ireland

Quiet hotel but only few minutes walk to restauran

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Lovely hotel in quiet area but only few minutes walk from Restaurants, bars and main shopping street. Great location, staff very pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful boutique hotel in quiet location

Posted Oct 19, 2014
The Bonham is a lovely hotel in a quiet location with private parking available. Clean room with King Size bed. It is within easy walking distance to the old part of the city. There are many restaurants nearby and the hotel also has its own very nice restaurant. Staff were friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom idaho

No ham

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Nice hotel, easy to walk to everything. Helpful, nice staff. Room was hot, no air conditioning or fan, and window only opened about 4 inches.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oldham

Weekend Break

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Old style charm of the building and the high ceilings are impressive.
Cons: Nothing particularly just that with the design of the hotel the walk from the bedroom to the bathroom made me feel a bit like a lab rat.
Location: The location was convenient, to walk to the bottom end of Princess Street was only 5 minutes away but it was in a quiet square.
Had a great 2 night stay at The Bonham staff were all friendly attentive and courteous. Had the afternoon tea in the hotel that was very good and an indulgent treat. Breakfast was excellent particularly the smoked salmon the room was well appointed and one of the more comfortable hotel beds I've slept in giving good back support without being to firm. Also choose the hotel as it had car parking which is situated at the back of the hotel (you are as well to ask at reception for guidance). The only thing was that there is some double parking other users handed in their cars to allow the hotel staff to move cars for you to gain an exit. Overall very civilised and would recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by DesSmifrom London

Lovely Hotel

Posted Aug 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was our second visit to The Bonham, another lovely stay, staff friendly & v helpful, v clean & comfortable, breakfast delicious, in a perfect location for sightseeing or shopping.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Ashby de la Zouch

Overpriced and understaffed

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Other than the service, the hotel is pretty comfortable. Good range of food at breakfast
Cons: The d├ęcor is dated and tired. My bathroom would have been state of the art in the 1990's
Location: Stayed there to visit the Fringe. A bit away from the action - but all the better for that. Nice 19th century residential area
Levels of service way below what you should get the prices they charge. Arrived back at 1145 pm to find 2 other couples waiting for their key (no-one on reception for a long period - we had to go behind the desk and help ourselves in the end) and everyone else in the lounge complaining about slow service. Plus the rudest waitress at breakfast I think I've ever met in a hotel.....and a lingering beastly smell outside my basement room