Ratings based on 165 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Princes street, quiet location, beautiful

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: Everything
Visited for an overnight stay, all the staff were so friendly and so helpful. Rooney excellent, clean, cosy. Would be delighted to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by vernon

Short walk into Princes Street

Posted May 31, 2014
Welcoming staff. Free and convenient parking. Good food
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bonham Hotel

Posted May 9, 2014
Pros: Location and character
Cons: Could provide tea/coffee facilities and improve room service menu.
Booked hotel only for proximity to meeting venue. Pleasantly surprised. Comfortable hotel and ideal for an overnight stay for business meetings the next day. Comfortable and quiet room. Loved the high ceilings and large windows. Disappointed room service menu was so limited, not much more than sandwiches so had to use restaurant rather than work in room over dinner, which some would say is no bad thing!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant stay

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: Old fashioned with character - great they are still around and affordable.
Cons: nothing - all good
Location: 10 mins walk from where the airport bus dropped us off and 20 mins walk back to the city center - great location.
Enjoyable stay at a hotel with character, the staff were very friendly and helpful on arrival and the room was well equipt. Great location for walking into the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joao from Portugal

Nice hotel not to far from city centre

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: Room space
Cons: Continental breakfast. Improve kindness and smile of some of reception staff
Location: Well located, in calm square
Spacious rooms with pleasant facilities and comfort. Continental breakfast could improve in several aspects
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jackie from Birmingham

Nice boutique hotel in quiet area.

Posted May 1, 2014
Gorgeous hotel with very professional staff who responded quickly and efficiently to any complaints/requests. Clean and spacious room with good view. Good heating. Not great comfort of bed/pillows but that's a common problem for me. The minor problem of blown fuse in room and broken kettle were positive examples that made me confident in staff competencies rather than inconvenienced. Look forward to visiting again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jc from c

Bonham hotel edinburgh

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Nice hotel, friendly staff petit room very small, free parking was great and quite close to everywhere central.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ali from West Yorkshire

Characterful hotel close to the sights

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Pros: The character of the hotel, a beautiful building and well appointed; in a quiet location yet close proximity to Princes Street and the sights.
Cons: Breakfast service on Saturday was not as well run as Thurs/Fri; appreciate it is very busy but it was a bit chaotic resulting in poorer service.
Thoroughly enjoyed a 3 night break at The Bonham; it is within easy walking distance to the sights, restaurants, pubs etc though it also has a lovely bar of its own with an open fire!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nick from Aberdeen

Central but quiet location

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: Only minutes from the city centre and all the attractions we are interested in.
Cons: No negatives come to mind but wouldn't recommend for young families
Location: Royal mile and castle a little walk away, shopping and restaurants, etc. only minutes and yet a lovely quiet street.
Lovely period building and atmosphere in hotel was quiet and relaxed. Service was good and staff polite and friendly. Room was clean and well ordered with a nice period type feel to it.
2 out of 5
by Edinburger from London

Trading on former glories

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Having been resident in Edinburgh when the hotel first opened I had fond memories of eating in its restaurant and enjoying one of the first genuinely boutique hotel experiences in the city. Coming back for a romantic valentines break I thought I would try the Bonham as I was looking for a cool city centre hotel and thought it would retain it's relaxed luxe charm. While the location in the stunning Victorian West End and the views from the rear across the dean valley to the Forth and Fife remain impressive the hotel clearly hasn't had a make over since the nineties, with trendy but tired furnishings in the bedroom; scuffed tables, an old bathroom with weak shower and dingy curtain and a tv that was of the mid noughties were not really up to scratch. Other details let it down too, the tea and coffee offering was poor as were the toiletries, the duvet was thin and clearly well used, the bed poorly made and the room cold without the addition of a rather depressing electric heater. Downstairs things weren't much better not helped by amateur service; no offer of help with bags and being shown to our room, no follow up at breakfast for more tea and coffee and not even a friendly hello on our return after dinner. All this could be excused at a lower price point but at nearly £150 per night and with a bar charging £11 for a glass of wine (cue another surprise on check out) I expect substantially better.