Ratings based on 699 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom west midlands

Good hotel, noisy location

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Excellent location for all of lovely Edinburgh. Staff very helpful and efficient. Nice spacious rooms. Hotel was let down by a taxi rank, right outside the hotel which, from 2am to 4am had fights, drunks and people doing the conga (!!) aplenty which caused disrupted sleep every night...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Excellent location and good facilities.

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014. Easy stroll from Waverley Station; comfortable room looking east towards Carlton Hill; excellent breakfast choices; leisure facilities (pool, sauna etc) a little down at heel but all working well; good value. Great for buses and walking to Princes St and The Royal Mile. I am sure I will stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but needs upgrading

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: The entrance
Cons: The room was very dark and need of refurb.
Location: Great location.
The room was very disappointing seemed empty and tired.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new york

Great location!!

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Very nice hotel,staff was very friendly and helpful. Could easily walk to major attractions.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Preston

Great location

Posted Nov 24, 2014
The hotel is in a great location for the station and all the places you could want to visit. Our room was somewhat small and dark (but with a large bathroom) but nonetheless was clean. Staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was ok.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom toronto

Well located

Posted Nov 24, 2014
We only had one night at this hotel but it was good. The room was big with a view of the street. The staff was very helpful, nice and knowledgeable. Excellent location near the high mile and all main attractions. Clean. My only complaint would be the mattress. You could feel the springs and a long piece wood along.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Como

Albergo vecchiotto, ma in posizione eccellente

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Posizione eccellente per visitare Edinburgo a piedi, questa è la migliore qualità. Per il resto non è particolarmente confortevole e non merita quattro stella. Il personale è peró sufficientemente disponibile
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Jerusalem

Good hotel in the city centre

Posted Nov 2, 2014
A very clean hotel . The staff were great . The room was lovely. But was incredibly hot! Even with the Windows open we could not cool it down.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom 品川区

Wonderful Hotel

Posted Oct 30, 2014
Edinburghに相応しい、重厚で整った施設と、行き届いたサービスの、施設素晴らしいホテルでした。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom scotland

A special city break

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Pros: Location, views and leisure facilities.
Cons: Temp control in the rooms
Location: Nearby bars we enjoyed: The Mitre and The Inn on the Mile
Had a wonderful time in the Carlton and very much appreciated the room upgrade we received. All staff were very helpful and particularly enjoyed the chats with the late night bar staff (Phillip) The gym and leisure facilities were good and of an acceptable standard. My only criticism would be room temp control. The air con did very little and the heat from the mini fridge made the room uncomfortably hot. I would definitely come to the hotel again and would recommend it.