Ratings based on 353 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from N.Ireland

hotel closely situated to both Old and New

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: convience and staff
Cons: as I stated above also most areas would be improved by redecoration and new lifts which were so old and creaky I thought they were going to brekdown
Location: as I said previously very convenient for old and new towns
imposing hotel well situated.However we were unaware we couldn't check in until 3pmwhich was an inconvenience as we arrived on an early morning flight.Similarly we had to check out ' 11am again inconvenient as our flight wasn't until 6pm.we discovered afterwards that if we had paid 20 pounds we could have checked in earlier and used the room longer we felt we should have been told this at time of booking.the hotel bedroom was comfortable and as requested no street noise .However I wasnt happy with the food served as neither the breakfast nor the lounge menus were up to a high standard
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Great location for day tours from Edinburgh

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Location: Just off the Royal Mile, Princes Gardens and 5 minute walk to both Edinburgh Castle and Holyrood Palace. Good variety of restaurants in area.
My daughter and I just got home and really enjoyed this location. Convenient to restaurants, tour meeting places and all other sights. Internet is slow, but free. The street noise is a little loud if you have the windows open.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice hotel in Old Edinburgh.

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: My room was clean and quiet. Friendly staff.
Cons: well pleased with the accommodations.
Location: Great location for site seeing.
Delicious breakfast. I would stay here if I ever return to Edinburgh. Within walking distance of the Edinburgh Castle. Easy access from the Edinburgh International airport via local bus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Close to Waverly train station, Princes Street, and the Royal Mile. Room was low on towels and missing a fan (stuffy with no AC) and also missing and iron/board. There was only a single available wall outlet for our adapter and multiple devices (often the case in many European hotels but frustrating nonetheless). Staff and location more than made up for the deficiencies.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location within walking distance to sites.

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Convenient to High Street. Fast cab service.
Cons: Needed to have better flushing toilets.
Location: Castle and Holyrood and plenty of restaurants.
Had a great experience in Edinburgh. Lots of historical sites and very helpful people wherever we went.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Excellent ith centre hotel, BUT.....

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Stayed 2 nights from 29 June 14 and will most certainly NOT stay again. The rooms are tidy and clean but in dire need of refurbishment. The bathroom of room 349 was adequate but the towels were well worn and to call them white is pushing the colour boundaries a little too far. The tiles in the bathroom floor appear to be ingrained with the tillers grout in all the wrong place. I managed to make good use of the Yellow pages and Gideons bible to keep the ancient sash window from closing to allow some fresh air into the room - not sure if this was wise as the sound of early morning and late night trains filtered in from Waverley Station underneath. Choice of cereals and fresh fruit at breakfast was limited. Staff were very pleasant, eager to please and extremely friendly but their numbers meant they appeared to be thin on the ground at busy time. All in all - not a great experience for a visitor to Scotland's capital city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic location, friendly, helpful staff.

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Hotel is perfect location for getting to everything in the city. Lovely architectural building with very helpful and friendly staff. Would stay again anytime.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from connecticut

The trendy facade belies the tired facilities.

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: Only the location.
Cons: The attitude of the front desk clerks, the air system, the lighting and the service all need to improve before we could recommend this hotel.
We were unimpressed by the clerks at the reception desk; their demeanor seemed akin to that of the jaded civil servant. There was no resolution to the poor lighting in the room, a double room with one low-wattage lamp on one side of a double bed. a torchere on the other side of the small room did not offer light to read by. The clerk's "solution" was to see if there might be another lamp available; in the end, no spare lamps could be found, which for a hotel of this size suggests they are not equipped to handle a needed repair or replacement. The rooms were quite stuffy and the windows did not open. A floor fan could be provided upon request; no fans were present in either of the two rooms we were offered. In addition, the wake-up call we had requested was never provided.
3 out of 5
by Tina from Maine, USA

room service was poor

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: the location was great
Cons: update the motel. improve maid service.
the door to our patio was broken, they left dirty mugs in our room for 2 days until we asked for clean coffee mugs, they did not refill our coffee after our first day.The hotel was old and not well kept.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Standard hotel, great location

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Good standard hotel. Great location. Beds werent the comfiest and the slowest elevators on the planet, but overall good.