Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York State

Great place

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Loved this hotel. A bit out of the way, but it's beautiful and comfortable, the staff are friendly and helpful, and the "do not disturb" sign was actually honored. My extremely tiny room was surprisingly comfortable and well-designed. A great value, and literally right in front of the bus stops to the city center and airport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxfordshire

Well maintained quality hotel

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: It was individual and homely, very well maintained.
Location: Within easy reach of Edinburgh's attractions Prices Street and Castle
We spent one night whilst travelling on business. The hotel was in a good position to get into the centre of Edinburgh. Princes Street was a walk and tram ride away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kate from Brighton

Smart friendly hotel near to centre of Edinburgh.

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: friendly helpful staff, room cleaned daily - nicely decorated, well positioned.
Cons: pillows need to be changed and softer. mattress maybe also
Location: i don't know , i was at a conference so didn't see anything
Great room, great place, great location - the only negative comment would be the pillows - rock hard and not comfortable, really let the room down
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Great experience.The Hotel & staff were brilliant.The only small problem was the heat in the building & our room.Air conditioning is needed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bally

Edinburgh

Posted Jun 14, 2014
I got to the hotel just after 1120pm the gentlemen at reception was lovely. They up graded me to a double bed. It was very late but still managed to make me a sandwich. Booked a taxi for me for the morning. Breakfast was lovely the choice was endless.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Phoosh from Tennessee

Two buildings separated by a busy street!!!

Posted May 30, 2014
Pros: Staff attitude was wonderful; we send our special thanks to Dayne, who seemed to be there 24/7!!
Cons: Information about the hotel needs upgrading, so that people who do not like a lot of stairs or crossing busy streets would be better informed.
Location: It is walking distance from Hop-on-Hop-off tour buses,which we used to access the old city, specifically the castle.
We arrived in the rain on May 24, entered the lobby, got our key and then were escorted ACROSS the street to our room in the RAIN. Expedia, you need to STATE this point in your description; a CITY room is across the street from the main building, which includes the restaurant. The room was too small for a couple, not even room to lay our suitcase on the floor! At dinner we complained about the room size and location; they gave us a reasonable option in the main building for our second night. They discounted the rate; it was big and roomy, MUCH better. Overall, their willingness to accommodate us improved our view of this hotel. They wanted us to be happy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Two nights in Edinburgh

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: Easy to find, free parking and great location for going into the city.
Location: Excellent location with bus stop just outside. Loads to do nearby museum and history wise. We also enjoyed The Stand comedy club.
Lovely and interesting hotel with very helpful staff and good information about events and what to see which helped us find evening entertainment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michael from L

Enjoyed the food

Posted May 16, 2014
Great people and wonderful fish and chips. Convenient to center city
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shoten from D

Great convenient hotel with excellent service

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Good rooms. Lovely staff. Well located - very easy to go anywhere from here using the bus. Nice breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 13, 2014 by Samantha, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for leaving your review. It really helps us to hear how we are doing! Hope to see you again soon at Dunstane. Thanks! Samantha
5 out of 5
Recommended
by SJH from Portsmouth

lovely hotel

Posted Mar 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely hotel, friendly staff and the rooms are well decorated but the room we had was on the small side.