Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Cheshire

disappointing stay

Posted May 6, 2015
Pros: Food was excellent at breakfast and the complimentary tea/coffee being made for you
Cons: Building work
Location: good pubs very reasonably priced. Bus tours were very good as well
disappointed with the hotel - needs building work to level the rooms and beds in the room. Felt seasick walking around the room especially from the bed to the window. Big crack in the wall. Supposed to be one of the better rooms as was for a special occasion would not like to see the other rooms then. Free tea and coffee at all times was a nice touch. Bit of a hike up and down from Edinburgh to the hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

エジンバラ満喫!

Posted May 2, 2015
Pros: スタッフが大変感じ良く、親切、丁寧。紅茶飲み放題。広く清潔で静かな部屋。古いヨーロッパ調のインテリア。歴史ある建物、しかし内装はリフォームされているのできれい
Cons: 全てそのままでずっと頑張って欲しい。ただ、入口が少しわかりにくい。看板か、何かわかりやすい表示があればもっと良いと思う。
Location: ぶらぶら歩いてすぐエジンバラの街。普通の住宅街の一角にある。他のアパートメントと見分けがつかないほど。
街の中心からは少し離れていますが、真のエジンバラライフを満喫するには最高のホテルです。入口が少しわかりにくく一度通り過ぎてしまいましたが、一歩中に入ると、そこはヨーロピアンクラシカルなインテリアや家具がとても素敵な落ち着いた雰囲気のホテルです。スタッフはとても明るく親切丁寧に対応してくれます。ウエルカムドリンクの紅茶かコーヒーは、ぜひ「バー」で入れてもらうのがおすすめです。コーヒー紅茶は滞在中何度でもお部屋まで無料サービスで持ってきてくれます。 お部屋も広く明るく、ベッドは大変寝心地良くぐっすりと休めます。1820年代にできた建物ですので、朝ルームメードがお掃除を始めたりすると上階の音が少し響いたりきしんだりしますが、滞在中は大変静かに快適に過ごせました。広いバスタブとシャワールームが別々になっているのもくつろげます。 レストランはミシュランで星2つ獲得しているだけあり、シェフの心意気が所々で感じられます。ただ、欧米全般で言える事ですが、量が大変多いので、日本人は1皿を2人でシェアするくらいで丁度良いと思います。2人なら、前菜1皿、メイン1皿、デザート1皿で十分、大満足でした。スコットランドの伝統料理だという、Haggis Neeps & Tatties もここで賞味できました。 英語力に自信のある方には絶対お薦め、そうで無い方でもぜひ行ってみる価値があるホテルです。ただ、前述のとおり、中心部から離れているので大きな荷物を持っている場合は歩いていくのは大変です。 European classical interior is not over decorated, but very cozy and comforting. The original building was constructed in the 1820's. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The restaurant is graded 2 stars in the Michelin Guide. It was great having breakfast in our room. Would love to go back again!!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Hampshire, England

Professional Refurbishment Required

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Pros: Breakfasts were excellent and the beds were extremely comfortable.
Cons: A professional refurbishment supervised by professionals )architect/designer) and not using maintenance quality workers.
We'd previously stayed at the Howard just after it initially opened and were very impressed by the traditional style and overall high quality of this hotel. On returning last week, and having now read a few recent traveller reviews, I can only say that this hotel is now long overdue a major refurbishment. Our main criticisms were with the bathrooms which were extremely poorly maintained (presumably by what is known these days as 'multi-trade' operatives) who were clearly not the same people who originally converted this hotel. Broken and chipped tiles, blackened and missing floor grout, shower wall tiles with black fungus, poor silicone work, peeling paint at shower bases, shower valves with rusted and missing incorrect screws, plastic poorly fitted mirror surrounds and wallpaper (why in bathrooms?) peeling off walls. Bedrooms are lovely spaces, beds are extremely comfortable but the choice, quality and condition of some of the furniture left a lot to be desired. Staff were on the whole very attentive, although when we insisted on moving rooms (we were placed initially in one of the Howard's "best terraced rooms" (a below ground basement room) as the space was dark, people could look in from the pavement above and there was a door with direct access to the outside (a security issue) the initial butler looked very displeased with us. Sadly, we won't be returning to the Howard as this hotel seems to be be living on it's past reputation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Glennfrom Kingswinford

"Superb Place"

Posted Feb 21, 2015 
Superb place cozy and intimate, All staff are superb special mention to Jessica a lovely Spanish girl so pleasant with a smile always means such alot. We go travelling around Scotland every year, our first time at The Howard Will visit again.Thankyou.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Edinburgh

Relaxed stay in a great location

Posted Feb 17, 2015
The Howard is a discrete hotel in a great central location. A few aspect feel a bit tired and in need of refurb, like the entrance door could be re painted. The breakfast was superb and a mid day check out is very civilised. Nice bar area. Staff very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fantastic hotel, great service

Posted Jan 21, 2015 
We had a one night stay here at the end of our holiday to Edinburgh to treat ourselves. We were upgraded to a terrace suite and it was fantastic, I have never seen a room and bathroom like it and the terrace outside was lovely. The room was clean and tidy and well laid out, the shower in the bathroom was the best I've ever used!! The service was exceptional. Our bags were taken to the room by one of the butlers who was very helpful and friendly. The high level of service continued in the bar area where the setting was lovely and the service very good. The highlight was having our breakfast delivered to the room in the morning, fantastic way eat and the food was so good. Again, the staff were all very helpful and extremely friendly. The hotel is fantastic and has a true 5 star feeling, attentive staff and great customer service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Anurafrom London

Good service, very clean. Good value for money

Posted Jan 14, 2015 
Positives - great service. good value for money Negatives - stayed at the garden mews. although the hotel is advertised 5*, this cottage didn't have that 5* feel to it..perhaps 4*
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Debra

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 12, 2015 
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ingofrom Mannheim

Hotel wie Zuhause

Posted Jan 8, 2015 
Sehr gute Lage um die Innenstadt zu Fuß erleben zu können.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jefffrom Singapore

Good spot...

Posted Dec 22, 2014 
Helpful staff. Great breakfasts. Excellent location.