Ratings based on 169 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, great location

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Had a great 2 night stay: very helpful staff, well appointed room, great location. We stayed in Room 6 (2nd floor), so well above any week-end bar room noise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fantastic room, Lively bar & perfect location.

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Cons: A lift to upper floors or a porter to carry luggage up the stairs.
Perfect venue for our overnight stay to celebrate joint 60th birthdays.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by SJSC from Scotland

Great location and service

Posted May 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very good stay in a well managed and refurbished hotel in a great location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Anne from Perth

Week night

Posted May 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent location, beautiful rooms, great food & very friendly staff who made me feel very welcome. Would highly recommend the Inn on the Mile to anyone wanting to stay in Edinburgh.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ebony from Sydney, Australia

Great hotel in a great location

Posted May 3, 2014
Pros: The shower was incredible - the size of the waterfall shower head was so luxurious and it was so nice to come back to it after being out in the cold!
Cons: The only thing that could be improved is the bright lighting at the front of the building, which shone through at night but wasn't a big deal at all.
Location: The Grassmarket is great for pubs, lots of cute shops nearby and Edinburgh castle was just a short walk away.
We had a wonderful stay at The Inn on the Mile, and it exceeded our expectations. For accommodation that is above a bar it had all the comforts of a very nice hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful, it was clean and comfy, and really close to all the main attractions in Edinburgh. I would both recommend and stay here again without hesitation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mike Malone from Dundee

Live Like A King For A Few Days

Posted Mar 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Fantastic bedroom, super king-size bed, waterfall shower and freestanding bath. What more can I say -worth every penny.The complimentary drinks and chocolate covered strawberries on arrival were an added extra touch. The busy traffic does take some getting used to - but after a few drinks in the plentiful local bars -I could sleep through anything. I never tried the meals but I'm sure they tasted as good as they smelled! Would definitely stay again. Its hard to top perfection!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kelly & Phoebe from London

Top Marks for The Inn on The Mile

Posted Mar 13, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Thrillingly my daughter received offers from University of Edinburgh and St Andrews and we had to book a last minute trip to check out both universities. We literally could not have chosen better, as the hotel scored A*'s on all fronts. Ideally located, it's a short walk from Edinburgh University's main campus, the pubs and restaurants around Grassmarket, right down the road from the Castle, and just across the bridge from all that Prince Street has to offer. Not really a typical hotel at all, The Inn is more of a cool pub with rooms upstairs. Chicly minimal decor and well appointed - my daughter and I loved our room. The breakfast was delicious and staff polite and helpfull. They even kindly watched our bag after checkout the next day while we dashed to the trainstation - literally moments down the hill - to catch the train up for a quick tour around St. Andrews. It was perfect for our needs and I look forward to 4 more years of staying there - regardless of where she gets in!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Wow!

Posted Mar 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
I only booked one night here and wished that I had booked the rest of my stay here, it was wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Very comfy on Royal Mile

Posted Feb 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
A great location for all the sites of Edinburgh. The hotel is above a cool bar, which once you've checked in you can bypass or stop by for a drink and/or good food. The rooms are comfortable and nicely kitted out with TV, kettle, hair dryer and straightners, nice en-suite, magazines, complementary mineral water.