Ratings based on 58 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Pros: The spacious room, not many stairs and the bed.
Location: The location is perfect and very easy to hop onto a bus. A bit of walk to the Royal mile but an easy bus trip.
Our stay was perfect. The room was clean, the bed comfortable, and the room was spacious. The best place we stayed at on our trip through Ireland and Scotland by far!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing stay

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: The outside. The manager was pleasant. Only 30 minutes walk to centre.
Cons: Everything in the light of safety and hygiene.
Location: Good location. Near all the sights.
Should have read reviews first. Lovely house but disgusting hygiene. Slept with table lamp on my pillow as cable couldn't stretch to table. Stained pillows with no protectors nor on mattress. Very small en suite. Brown liquid oozed from sealant when showering. Toilet seat was loose and wouldn't stay up. Lino was lifting. Filthy kettle had to be on floor. No milk. No refill of teabags or shower gel etc.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: central, well priced for what it is
central place to stay in old town, nothing fancy, but comfortable
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Schönes Haus, leider nicht besonders sauber.

Posted Jun 18, 2015
Wer Wert auf historisches Ambiente legt, ist hier gut aufgehoben. Leider müssen beim Thema Sauberkeit Abstriche gemacht werden. Schade eigentlich, denn Zimmergrösse und Lage sind völlig ok.. Man kann zu Fuß ins Zentrum gehen oder den Bus nehmen. Die grundsätzlich sehr schönen historischen Zimmer sind leider nicht besonders gekonnt renoviert worden. Der Teppichboden ist recht schmutzig und an den Badezimmerwänden wurde Plastikfolie in Marmoroptik verwendet.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Nice guest house near the city centre

Posted Jun 4, 2015
The room was clean when we arrived, however the shower was terrible, no pressure and water dribbled out. the hotel was warm with heaters operating great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from kent

Friendly check in

Posted May 30, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff. Spacious room.
Cons: The double bed in our family room might not have been comfortable enough for a longer stay.
Location: Within walking distance of the city centre as long as you are relatively fit.
We received a friendly welcome when we arrived. The room was spacious and clean. The beds were comfortable enough for our one night stay and the complimentary shower gel and shampoo an unexpected extra. The heating had been put on for us for, although it was May, it was a chilly evening. We didn't take advantage of the complimentary coffee and toast in the morning but very much appreciated having this option in the morning. All in all this was an inexpensive option, which was well worth the money. The guest house is within walking distance of the city centre as long as you are reasonably fit amd was easy to find. We would go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 20, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Great guesthouse for a few days in Edinburgh

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Clean, room was quite spacious, breakfast was good (although it cost extra for a full breakfast).
Cons: Random bags of towels and sheets were scattered about, and the entryway was not very tidy. Not a good first impression.
Edinburgh was great, and staying here was fantastic. This place was clean and well-kept, as was the bedroom with an ensuite bathroom! When we came in, there were bags of towels and sheets everywhere, but we did arrive way before the check-in time, to their credit. (Still, that should never happen!)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Nattyelle from Leeds

OMG THAT ROOM

Posted Apr 8, 2015 on Hotels
First topic, it's a guest house, not a hotel. They changed the manager recently, and they are reforming the rooms, furniture and space. I was afraid of the bad reviews I saw, but as it was the only place i found in Edinburgh a day before traveling, i had to get it. And i don't regret it. The ceiling was so high, omg! I loved it. The bed... enormous. I'm still impressed. Everything in there was a bit 'antique', what i don't thing it's bed. The only thing that could be much better is the shower. The water didn't have pressure when hot, and the shower box was tiny. Apart from that, nothing to complain. I loved to stay in there, the staff was really friendly. I haven't tried the breakfast included, so i can't say about it. But the guy at the reception said it was only cereal, and if you want a complete english breakfast it was plus £5 (not bad for a meal to be honest). Ah! The checkout it's at 11am, not 10am.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 8, 2015 on Hotels