Ratings based on 440 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ireland

Good hotel and very central

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Overall a very good hotel. Most staff were very good eg reception and concierge but the bar staff were inexperienced and slow. A minor issue.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Kirkcaldy

Great Location

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Pros: The location.
Cons: Staff training so that reported faults are dealt with promptly.
Location: 'Mathers' is an authentic Edinburgh hostelry. Recommend the 'Shebeen' restaurant in Morrison Street.
We only stayed for one night and did not experience the leisure facilities nor did we partake of breakfast. The hotel had been recently taken over by new owners. Unfortunately a faulty television, reported to reception staff in the morning, had not been attended to by 5.30 pm. The television was eventually replaced by the Duty Manager. Large comfortable bedroom with very good bathroom facilities. There were a few hairs around the bath but overall the standard of cleanliness was good. Excellent location - very good pubs and restaurants close by. We found the bar in the hotel to be expensive and the staff not particularly welcoming.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

convenient spot, good value if through Expedia

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Close to everything I was doing, nice place, food good but not excellent. Breakfast however was very good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom N W ENGLAND

HOGMANAY HOTEL FAILING TO ACHIEVE BILLED STANDARD

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: LOCATION GOOD , ROOM QUALITY GOOD
Cons: NEW OWNERSHIP , CLUB LOUNGE FACILITIES UPGRADED TO MATCH CUSTOMER EXPECTATIONS
Location: EXCELLENT LOCATION FOR SHOPS , BARS ,RESTAURANTS , CAFES ,ETC.
3 NIGHT STAY AT THIS 4* HOTEL WAS BOOKED FOR THE EDINGBURGH HOGMANAY FESTIVAL . A CLUB STANDARD ROOM WAS SELECTED AND PAID FOR IN ADVANCE TO INCLUDE ALL THE CLUB STANDARD FACILITIES . UNFORTUNATELY CLUB LOUNGE FACILITIES WERE INADEQUATE . LACK OF STAFF AVAILABLE TO DEAL WITH GUEST REQUIREMENTS . COFFEE MACHINES IN CLUB LOUNGE WERE NOT WORKING . EVENING DRINKS AND CANOPES WERE EXTREMELY LIMITED IN TERMS OF BOTH QUALITY AND QUANTITY . RESTAURANT RAN OUT OF FOOD EARLY ON LAST NIGHT OF STAY . LIMITED MENU OFFERED . DISCOVERED TOWARDS END OF STAY THAT HOTEL WAS IN PROCESS OF BEING SOLD OFF BY CROWN PLAZZA ,AND AS A RESULT NORMAL STANDARD WAS NOT BEING PROVIDED .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom kent

Close to Edinburgh New Years party and all amintie

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: Workers building
Cons: Food
Location: Excellent everything you would want from Edinburgh
Very friendly food was a bit disappoting though room was lovely and clean view was on castle which at night looked lovely bath room was excellent and bits they put in there for us , tea and coffee etc biscuits everyday , breakfast was good service
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Leawood, KS

Great Edinburgh location

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: Location, staff
Cons: Back street noise
Location: Edinburgh Castle, Christmas Market on Princes Street, St. Giles Church, Holyrood Palace, great restaurants
Hotel was just one block off Princes Street where all the shopping and restaurants are so it was quiet and yet easily accessible. We walked to Edinburgh Castle, took a bus to Holyrood Palace. Easily done. Staff was excellent ... helpful, cheery, pleasant, and professional. Our only complaint was that our rooms were located on the back side of the hotel and there was a lot of noise from deliveries and trash. I did mention it to the front desk and they were willing to relocate one of our 3 rooms but we wanted to stay together on the same floor as we were a family so we chose to keep the room and put up with the noise. Breakfast was good and service was excellent. We did not eat in the hotel other than one morning for breakfast. I especially liked the quiet reading or lounge area separate from the main lobby. We could sit and have a cup of tea or coffee, or a glass of wine, and read or even play cards. It was nice. I strongly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Edinburgh.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom uk

Fantastic hotel

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Close to most city sights. 5 min walk from tram & bus stop to airport. Stayed for hogmany - great time had!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom amsterdam

weldadigigheid en verwennerij

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Pros: engelse sfeer gastvrijheid luxe sportvoorzieningen wellness
Cons: sluitende ramen gelijkmatige temerperatuur douche
Location: princess street om te winkelen grassmarket, castle hill, het kasteel allemaal prima te belopen pubs en restauarant op loopafstand
zeer gastvrije en professionele staf, prachtig hotel met allure, heerlijke wellnesse en sportvoorzieningen , heel fijne kamer. Centrale ligging
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Leawood

Edinburgh

Posted Dec 26, 2014
Pros: Staff, location, cleanliness.
Cons: Do not stay in rooms which back up to the street behind the hotel
Location: Lots of shopping and restaurants nearby. Within walking distance to Edinburgh Castle. Easy to catch a bus or tram to other tourist sites.
Staff was excellent and really made us feel welcome! Location was good for us because we prefer not to stay on the main streets with all the activity. This hotel was only one block off Princes Street. Our only complaint was the noise, especially in the King bed room, from trash being taken out. The hotel was willing to move us to another quieter room but then our family would have been split on 2 separate floors. We chose not to move as we were only staying 2 more nights. Other than that, I would recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Edinburgh.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Tayside

Overnight stay in central edinburgh

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Pros: Location fantastic.
Cons: Decor, lift, speed of service
Location: Right in the hub for shops, sights etc
The hotel is a bit tired and while the bed was comfortable the room and bathroom were not the best. Smallest bath ever in fact! One small and slow lift. Slow service in the lounge area. Nice central open area.