Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Top notch in every way

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Cannot say enough about all aspects of our stay. Fabulous staff, service, location and so very clean and comfortable. If you are planning a trip to Edinburgh, this is the place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and well located

Posted Apr 17, 2014
The staff is incredible. The room was very comfortable and the bathroom as well
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Janel from Geneva, Switzerland

A revisit

Posted Mar 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
The greeting was welcoming; good location; unique style; quiet in the room even though on busy street. The air system didn't function well and guests can not open windows. We would stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 20, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Shopping
by Jayne from Scotland

Great location and service

Posted Dec 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Only stayed one night as part of a shopping trip and thoroughly enjoyed it. Great central location. Highlights were the very friendly staff and the room with a fantastic view of the castle and Princess Street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by wyrtaj from Ballater

Great location, friendly staff

Posted Dec 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel is in a great location next to Princess Street and Lothian Road. The staff were very friendly and helpful. My only minor concern was the shower which was a great size but lacked power.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mark from USA

Truly unique hotel experience

Posted Oct 23, 2013
Pros: Everything but the WiFi
Cons: WiFi
Location: The best. It's close to everything that matters in Edinburg
Thought this "High Concept" hotel and it's staff were a wonderful departure from the ordinary room. Front desk was warm and friendly. The room was an odd and unusual treat. Well appointed, and comfortable. My wife and I dined at both of the restaurants and they were very good. My only complaint was the dodgy and rather complicated WiFi. The issuing of multiple password codes, re-logging on all the time as a result of being kicked off or not remembered when you return from shopping or sightseeing is a real inconvenience. They need to replace that system. Don't allow the rest of the hotel experience to be undone by the complication and/or failure your WiFi. This should now be a basic modern convenience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mel from Brisbane, Australia

A great hotel and fabulously welcoming staff!

Posted Oct 9, 2013
Even before we arrived, we received great and friendly customer service. On arrival the hotel, it's accommodation and location exceeded our expectations. Our room was very large but cosy and welcoming with the personal touches - mineral water and a freshly baked muffin greeted us on arrival. The bar was a great place to end the day. If I was to return to Edinburgh I would definitely stay at the Rutland again and have already recommended it to a friend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Suzanne from Boston

Great hotel close to everything.

Posted Sep 22, 2013
Pros: Service, location, rooms.
Cons: not much
Location: right at the end of Princes Garden close to New Town but easy walking to Old Town the castle and Royal Mile.
the Rutland Hotel is a smallish hotel that is in a perfect location to explore Edinburgh. Additionally the comfort and service is superior. The staff was amazingly friendly and helpful. The restaurants were great - a perfect way to start or end your day. We stayed their two different times and both rooms were very comfortable and attractive. I would highly recommend this hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by zoe from london

Great central location, nice quiet room.

Posted Sep 21, 2013
Pros: Friendly staff, the naked dogs!, large wine portions!
Location: Shop & eat!
Really great 3 nights, friendly staff, great location