Ratings based on 721 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wales

A fab experience

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Jacuzzi a bit small but now I am being extremely picky
Location: We where within walking distance of all the sites. With access to transport if we needed it. Great !!
I can only praise this hotel. A beautiful room. Lovely facilities. We will be back next year. The staff couldn't do enough and worth every penny!! I had the best sleep in months. Loved the quilts it was like sleeping on a cloud !!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Well placed

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Pros: Very comfortable and well positioned for Royal Mile and Parliament
Cons: Brasserie a bit cold and cheerless
Location: Good for touristy things and nearby excellent restaurants
Great hotel, courteous staff and lovely rooms make this a great place to stay. Sadly it's usually too expensive. Brasserie ok but nothing special
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Rugby weekend

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: Location. the breakfast was also very good.
Fantastic location - very close to Prince's Street and even closer to the Royal Mile. Went for a rugby weekend and the hotel is close to bars and restaurants. The hotel staff were OK but didn't go out of their way. The room was comfortable, however, extremely warm - even with the radiators turned off and the noise from the pipes in the bathroom was quite loud.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Scotland

Too quirky for its own good. Disappointed

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: View, near rail link
Cons: Ensure things work like the room keys, TV, heating can be turned off, taps don't trip. Improve lift speed and speed of help when requested
Location: Near National Art Gallery and City Gallery. Handy for Princess St shopping and St James Mall. High St and Royal Mile just a 5 min walk away
On the plus side, the hotel is right by the rear entrance of the Waverley station and has a rear door and lift access to reception. We were able to check in, and on departure, leave bags securely. Whilst the room was pleasant, we had requested a King Size bed and only got a double - not great for guests at 185cm tall. We baked - we turned off all the heating we could see, opened the window - concierge had to do this. Never the less, we sweated all night. Huge problems with the TV - not connected for a start, then it went off mid programme as if on an eco-timer. The tray that houses refreshments pops up from under a cupboard, but then you cannot get past it to a wardrobe and it is really stiff to release again. Wardrobes tiny and stuffed with guest dressing downs. Toilet seat narrow and a phone has been badly placed on the side wall so in jeopardy of being knocked off. Taps dripped and toilet basin ran, causing irritating noises. Staff were generally friendly but rarely announced themselves on the phone and it took ages for them to arrive and resolve a problem. Too many things just weren't right and we did not get that relaxing break we had treated ourselves to.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gunillafrom Växjö

Hemtrevligt och genuint hotell

Posted Jan 27, 2015 on Hotels.com
Med perfekt läge mellan Old town och New town var the Scotsman en utmärkt utgångspunkt för oss för att hinna med mycket på en helg. Mycket av historiska platser och restauranger ligger runt hörnet eller en kort promenad bort. Intedningen känns mysig och personlig och passar bra i den vackra gsmla byggnaden som tidigare varit tidningskontor. Frukosten var bra och erbjöd både varmt och kallt och man kunde beställa från meny. Tillgång till spa och gym är ett plus. Ett riktigt bra hotell som vi gärna återvänder till.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

City Break

Posted Jan 10, 2015
Pros: Location and comfort
Location: Asolutely ideal location for exploring Edinburgh
The location of the hotel is ideal for exploring Edinburgh by foot. The executive room was very comfortable and quiet. The staff were pleasant and helpful throughout our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Carolfrom Larbert

It's just perfect!

Posted Jan 6, 2015 on Hotels.com
Excellent in all aspects.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

My winter holiday

Posted Jan 3, 2015 on Hotels.com
Lovely stay, great service and comfortable room. I could not locate an electric outlet/plug for the hotel hair dryer in the bath room therefore I had to go dry my hair in the far end side of the room by the desk. The front desk came straight away to offer assistance but there isn't an outlet maybe for some safety purpose. The pool is fantastic. Wi-Fi was spotty and too many times I had to log on to restart the entire thing. Overall very nice experience. Thank you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Meredith

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 1, 2015 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central Edinburgh, beautiful

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Pros: Service and quality.
Wonderful old hotel. Excellent facilities and excellent staff. Nothing to much trouble, just the way it should be!! My partner is asthmatic so sadly can't have down quilt or pillows and when asked they changed them within the hour. Highly recommend the Northcote Brasserie and also take the time to have afternoon tea which is well worth it. Prices are very reasonable considering the high quality.