Ratings based on 700 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Rugby weekend

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: Location. the breakfast was also very good.
Fantastic location - very close to Prince's Street and even closer to the Royal Mile. Went for a rugby weekend and the hotel is close to bars and restaurants. The hotel staff were OK but didn't go out of their way. The room was comfortable, however, extremely warm - even with the radiators turned off and the noise from the pipes in the bathroom was quite loud.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Scotland

Too quirky for its own good. Disappointed

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: View, near rail link
Cons: Ensure things work like the room keys, TV, heating can be turned off, taps don't trip. Improve lift speed and speed of help when requested
Location: Near National Art Gallery and City Gallery. Handy for Princess St shopping and St James Mall. High St and Royal Mile just a 5 min walk away
On the plus side, the hotel is right by the rear entrance of the Waverley station and has a rear door and lift access to reception. We were able to check in, and on departure, leave bags securely. Whilst the room was pleasant, we had requested a King Size bed and only got a double - not great for guests at 185cm tall. We baked - we turned off all the heating we could see, opened the window - concierge had to do this. Never the less, we sweated all night. Huge problems with the TV - not connected for a start, then it went off mid programme as if on an eco-timer. The tray that houses refreshments pops up from under a cupboard, but then you cannot get past it to a wardrobe and it is really stiff to release again. Wardrobes tiny and stuffed with guest dressing downs. Toilet seat narrow and a phone has been badly placed on the side wall so in jeopardy of being knocked off. Taps dripped and toilet basin ran, causing irritating noises. Staff were generally friendly but rarely announced themselves on the phone and it took ages for them to arrive and resolve a problem. Too many things just weren't right and we did not get that relaxing break we had treated ourselves to.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

City Break

Posted Jan 10, 2015
Pros: Location and comfort
Location: Asolutely ideal location for exploring Edinburgh
The location of the hotel is ideal for exploring Edinburgh by foot. The executive room was very comfortable and quiet. The staff were pleasant and helpful throughout our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central Edinburgh, beautiful

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Pros: Service and quality.
Wonderful old hotel. Excellent facilities and excellent staff. Nothing to much trouble, just the way it should be!! My partner is asthmatic so sadly can't have down quilt or pillows and when asked they changed them within the hour. Highly recommend the Northcote Brasserie and also take the time to have afternoon tea which is well worth it. Prices are very reasonable considering the high quality.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Dec 12, 2014
A great breakfast , comfortable clean rooms . Spa nice the only gripe it was cold once out of pool. Would definately go back !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Croydon

Ticks all the right boxes

Posted Nov 28, 2014
Pros: Location, style
Cons: Nothing
Location: Very central close to station , Princes Street and Royal Mile
I've been to Edinburgh on numerous occasions but The Scotsman is a new one for me. The site of the former print offices of the newspaper of the same name it is on nine floors with the entrance on North Bridge on the fourth, a spa in the former printing rooms on the lower floors (including a stainless steel pool) and even a penthouse suite. The marble and oak paneling has been retained where possible especially in reception and the stunning breakfast room/restaurant. The location is perfect, being 5 minutes from either the Royal Mile or Princes Street without the tourist hustle and bustle of actually being on either. Waverley station is right outside the ground floor exit albeit four floors below Reception. We were greeted on arrival by the Concierge who took care of our bags and directed us to check in with a welcoming yet businesslike informality that immediately put us at ease. Indeed all of the staff we encountered had the same easy charm. As we were heading off, the concierge offered some recommendations for restaurants and even offered to book tickets online for the Castle so that we could avoid any queues. Our standard room was of a reasonable size, although it had a view of rooftops (which is not as awful as it might be in other cities), it was very well laid out with good storage and a decent sized bathroom (including a bath and two showers). There was even a hatch which let into a cupboard so that shoes could be returned cleaned or breakfast/newspapers delivered
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Hotel with charm

Posted Nov 25, 2014
This hotel has a lot of old charm/characters...however the furnishing is tired, except the bathroom is nice/modern. The staff are super-friendly and very accommodating. The location is excellent.....very close to Royal Mile and Princes Street, therefore ample shopping and eating out places to choose from. Overall, a comfortable stay but would not describe this as a 5-star hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Good hotel, staff amazing, perfect location

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Spa nice but expensive for pretty average services. Hotel staff amazing, rooms clean bit bedding could be better, pillows. I would give a four star rating not 5.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to City Centre

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Excellent hotel with first class service and facilities
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Williamfrom Massachusetts

A great place to stay in Edinburgh

Posted Nov 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a wonderful stay at The Scotsman. The location is great, and we were able to walk to everything we wanted to see. The concierge was especially helpful, and we enjoyed our room. The bed was comfortable and the layout workable and easy. We did the "breakfast included" plan and really enjoyed the breakfast buffet. This is the second time we've stayed at The Scotsman, and both times have been great.