Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Northumberland

Lovely room, walking distance to city centre

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: Lovely large room, really good breakfast to keep you going most of the day
Location: Walking distance to city centre
Lovely room within walking distance of city centre and main attractions. Only a few minutes walk from the Haymarket railway station.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Patrickfrom Rutland

A lovely three night stay in Edinburgh

Posted Oct 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a three night stay at the Victorian Town House and really enjoyed our visit to Edinburgh. The hotel was lovely and Aileen the hotel owner was super - very warm and welcoming and her Scottish breakfast kept us going all day. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends and family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Andreafrom Bassano del Grappa (VI)

Incantevole

Posted Oct 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
La nostra stanza era la "The Colonial Room", a tema "Africa", arredata con stile, spaziosissima (praticamente un mini appartamento!). Bagno en-suite enorme! Molto gradito il regalino di benvenuto, composto da fiaschetta di whisky ed assortimento di dolci vari! Ottima ed abbondante la colazione. La signora Aileen è una padrona di casa deliziosa e disponibille ed è dotata di una simpatia travolgente, come anche le sue collaboratrici! Super consigliato!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Gloucestershire

Ticks all the boxes

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Pros: The size of the room, the size of the beds. The little touches ie toiletries in the bathroom and the whiskey and chocolates in the room.
Cons: Nothing needs improving.
Location: On 100 bus route from airport and 20 minute walk to Princes Street. A visit to Royal Yacht Britannia at Ocean Terminal is well worth a visit.
Really good location, on 100 bus route from airport and 20 walk to Princes Street. Room very comfortable and very clean, with the extra touch of whiskey and chocolates in the room. Great breakfast in the morning, plus muffins to go. Aileen very welcoming and very informative regarding things to do in Edinburgh and buses/trains to catch etc. Will be coming back to Edinburgh and will definitely be staying at The Victorian Town Hotel again. Can't wait to go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Jacksonville, Florida, USA

Huge room, fabulous host!

Posted Sep 19, 2014
We stayed with Aileen for 2 nights in the Caledonian room - a HUGE room with a very roomy bathroom. She had chocolates, water and scotch Whisky waiting for us when we arrived (in addition to teas, coffee and hot chocolate). Aileen is very gracious, extremely accomodating, quite comical and provided an excellent breakfast with fresh berries, full cooked breakfast, cereals, yogurt, fresh fruit....and fresh muffins to go! Her home is beautiful and kept very clean. Was a 10 min walk to the city center - close enough but nice and quiet at night. We would definitely recommend this place and I would love to stay again if back in Edinburgh!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Wien

Ein sehr fürsorglich geführtes Boardinghouse !

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Die Lage und die fürsorgliche Art unserer Hausfrau.
Cons: Mehr Möglichkeit der Kleiderablage im Zimmer f. zB. getragene oder regennasse Kleidung. Eine Stehlampe in der Sitzecke.
Location: Das ViktoriaTownhouse befindet sich im neueren, eleganten Stadtteil Edinburghs und ist verkehrsmäßig sehr gut angebunden.
Es war zwar für mich eine Überraschung das Zimmer im "Basement" vorzufinden - das Haus ist im georgianischen Stil gebaut und damals wäre dieses das Zimmer des Buttlers gewesen. - Die nette fürsorgliche Art der Hausfrau gefiel uns aber ausgesprochen gut. Zum Frühstück gab´s immer frisches Beerenobst und alles was wir uns wünschten. Joghurt u. Müslis war jederzeit verfügbar. (auch zB. Bananen und Geschirr f.Tee usw.) Da wir innerhalb des einwöchigen Aufenthalts drei mal zeitig zu Tagestouren aufbrachen, bekamen wir ausgesprochen feines Lunchpaket statt des Frühstücks vorbereitet. Außerdem konnten wir uns im Zimmer mittels Wasserkocher d. Frühstücks-Tee zubereiten. Eine kl. Karaffe Whisky u. Bonbons stand en ebenfalls am Regal als "Betthupferl"?! Unsere Gastgeberin bestellte uns auf Anfrage selbsverständlich Taxis und beriet uns was Wegzeiten u. Lokale betraf. Im üppig eingerichteten Zimmer lag auch genug Prospektmaterial auf. Wir fühlten uns von Tag zu Tag wohler, werden den Aufenthalt schön in Erinnerung behalten und dieses zentral gelegene Vierstern-Bed and Breakfast-Quartier unseren Bekannten weiterempfehlen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom london

I recommend this B&B after our very enjoyable stay

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Spacious & clean rooms; welcoming & helpful owner; lovely breakfast; lots of little extras; walking distance to city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Thibautfrom Molsheim

Superbe B&b très bien situé.

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Avons profité de ce b&b pour le tournoi des 6 nations. Il est très bien situé à 10 minutes à pied de Murrayfield et 10 minutes de princes street (centre ville). Nombreuses lignes de bus à 2 minutes à pied. Super accueil de la part d Aileen. La chambre est spacieuse et le literie très confortable. Petit déj très copieux. Nous y retournerons sans hésiter.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great City Break Accomodation

Posted Feb 5, 2014
Pros: Large rooms, Very well kept, Very clean, Excellent Breakfast and very friendly and helpful owner.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: About ten minutes walk from Princes street. Easy access to buses for all local attractions.
In Edinburgh for a three day city break - this was an ideal place to stay in a lovely Victorian (Georgian style) House.