Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very accommodating staff

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Nice, spacious rooms that were clean, good food.
Cons: WiFi doesn't make it to all rooms... I had to sit in the lobby to use the internet.
Location: Location is fairly distant from the city centre, but you can get there with a 20 minute bus ride, and then a 10 min walk to the Royal Mile.
The hotel was more expensive than I wanted to spend, but perhaps that's just Edinburgh for you. 20 minute bus-ride from the city centre, which may be a turn-off for some. The rooms are clean and the staff helpful and accommodating. Food was good. The WiFi is decent, though it may not reach your room if you're very far from the lobby - mine was too far. Complementary shortbread is definitely a nice bonus :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quick Decision to have a break in Edinburgh

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: How can you improve on perfection
Location: central with a short bus ride to the city centre
We made a spur of the moment choice to have a visit to Edinburgh and our stay in this very friendly hotel certainly made such a difference to our stay. We had a truly wonderful time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ray from Glasgow

Checked in at 4p.m.

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Pros: The friendliness of the staff and the breakfast.
Cons: As mentioned above a larger duvet, T.V.re-positioned, provision of bath towels, serviceable shower, bed spot lights serviced.Correct pricing of room.
Location: Excellent possition for Leith.
Hotel was oblivousy in a process of renovation and when checking in was told we should have checked into a superior room. When checking in at 4p.m., room wasn't ready ready as bed still had to be made. Room was very small and although very clean, seemed very spartan. Shower door came off runners and had to be re-hung before using. Shower strips around base were lose and need re-fixing. Spot-lights at bed were too lose and need tightening to be serviceable. Only hand towels were supplied which were totally inadequate for shower use. Room in June on a hot night was very warm and when window was opened for fresh air, road noise was oppresive. Duvet was too small to cover double bed. Breakfast was very good, juice, cereals and excellent hot breakfast. Staff were attentive and keen to please. I got the impression that the hotel will become very good in time and definitely worthy of a. second visit, but this room was overpriced for the facilities currently offered.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Traveller

Excellent staff in a pleasant hotel

Posted Jun 2, 2014
The staff are tremendous and obliging beyond their call of duty, the hotel is pleasant, in a nice area of Edinburgh slightly detached from the noisy bustle of the city centre.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well Positioned

Posted May 19, 2014
Very attentive Manager, nothing too much trouble. Hotel is a mixture of old and new
2 out of 5
by Tom from Wales

Nice location but not nice conditions

Posted May 4, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Cleanliness, breakfast, customer service
Location: Close to the city centre but not noisy
When we arrived we needed to wait until our room was ready. The carpet on the stairs and in our room was dirty, disgusting. Water stains were all around the walls in the room and the bathroom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Beccy from wiltshire

Nice hotel free parking

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Pros: Free parking lovely breakfast friendly helpfully staff nice room comfy bed.
Cons: Add a shower to room 10 bigger cups for breakfast coffee and 2 drinking glasses in the rooms.
Location: It is a good walk to city centre but possible and interesting there is a nice park opposite the Royal Botanic gardens are close by as is leith shore .
Hotel is good friendly helpfully staff free parking a great bonus the room was a good size huge comfy bed and a huge bath with loads of hot water cleanliness was good breakfast excellent, all though we ate out the menu in hotel looked good. Nice bar area and outside seating, overall great value and we would defiantly use again, good walk into town but achievable and pleasant. Leith shore line easy walk.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Yorkshire

Very ordinary hotel

Posted Mar 3, 2014
The hotel room had very little sound proofing from the above room. It was extremely noisy in to the early hours. However the staff were very friendly. The room itself, room 4, was tiny. The shower was running cold at times. Overall i wouldn't revisit this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Last Minute Break

Posted Feb 24, 2014
We decided to visit Edinburgh as a last minute decision and were very pleased with the choice of hotel. The staff where extremely helpful and welcoming. The hotel was small but clean, warm and friendly with a nice restuarant and bar offering a good selection of food and drink. Would return to this hotel in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Good breakfast, and ample sized accomadation

Posted Aug 7, 2012 on Hotels.com
We booked this hotel based on the reviews been really good, we were a little disappointed, the room was a really good size but not as clean as you should expect, obvously we only saw the one room so this might not be reperesntative of them all. no valance on the bed so you could see all the marks on the base etc, dust in places, bathroom was clean but some mould around the shower which is a little off putting, really good shower though very refreshing after a day of traveling. It wasn't the worst accommodation we've stayed in, it just needed a freshen up, lick of paint etc but we didn't feel it was reflective of the reviews we had previously read or of the price. Service was good, breakfast was nice, lovely waitress and good choice, qulity of food, bar is a good bonus if you want to chill out but not stray too far. We used this hotel to visit Edinburgh...good bus route a small walk from the hotel but we booked as it was listed as little over a 1mile walk, the walk described to us was through a park so wouldn't have been too pleasant once it got late. If staying here to visit edinburgh factor in travel costs during your stay.