Ratings based on 1,386 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was nice and comfortable, staff was excellent

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Booked it for the One Direction concert and had a great experience. The staff was great and very informative. Food was great! Service great! Easy and safe access to the concert.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nothern alberta

Nice hotel in the heart of the city

Posted Jul 21, 2015
The room was nice and clean. The tub however was worn and paint was chiping. The food was fairly bland. The staff was nice. Check in and out was easy.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what it used to be - disappointing

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: The restaurant is still great for breakfast. In fact, it's like a separate hotel experience. Otherwise, I only liked what it used to be.
Location: Close to the downtown core and LRT
I used to stay frequently at Chateau Lacombe. It was a Crowne Plaza property then, now it belongs to Nova. According to staff the renovated rooms are nice but I got a junior suite that was in really bad shape, in so many ways I won't bother to list. I stay at a lot of hotels and know the difference. To top it all off the phone didn't even work and so I had to go down to the front desk in order to get services. The staff didn't even apologize - this place has lost it. Couldn't get a refund because I booked through Expedia. So this $180 waste of money has also made me realize Expedia is not the way to go. I expect the hotel assigns inferior rooms to discounted (Expedia) customers - they didn't fully admit it but did not deny this.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Great view, central location

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Location: Timmies, Starbucks, LRT entrance 1 block north. Mall 2 blocks north.
Was allowed to check in early. AC was on and the room was nice and cool when we arrived. River view is excellent. No breakfast included though, and continental starts at $15/person. Check out time is noon - so nice to lay around in the morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice concierge upgraded rooms

Posted Jul 16, 2015
I would say the extra few dollars for the concierge rooms are worth it. Upgraded rooms and bathrooms, breakfast and cocktails complimentary daily, and just a better overall experience. Other rooms are a bit dated and cold feeling. Nice location downtown and close to a few pubs and dinner places! Quick cab ride to whyte ave and further down jasper. Staff were very friendly and accommodating!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Montréal, QC

Vue sur la vallée de la Saskatchewan N.

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Location: Emplacement parfait ; calme.
Distributrices sans jus, produits Coke seulement ; déjeûners couteux !
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bc

Convenient location with a nice view

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Pros: Location and view
Cons: Mostly cleanliness
Location: Convenient location, art gallery and lots of other things in easy walking distance.
This hotel needs a good cleaning and update. The entrance smells of old cigarette smoke and even for a smoker, that is not nice. The carpets in the lobby looked like they hadn't been cleaned in years. It was not a good first impression. The room itself was ok but was not clean. The light switch cover in the bathroom had months if not years of built up grime. It is in a decent area and was convenient to my event at the convention centre.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The only good thing with this hotel was location.

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: Location - walking distance to everything you need to go downtown.
Cons: Comfortable beds, better pillows, provide a fridge in every room?
The room was just ok. It was disappointing to come in and realize that you have to still pay separate for parking which was 15/day. There was no fridge in our hotel room and if you wanted a fridge it would cost you $20. One of the phones did not work. Overall if you want access to downtown shopping and business conference, the location is great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great location

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Pros: Location, general ambiance, staff.
Cons: Speed of Internet - gym layout - installing a pool/sauna/steam room.
Location: Good walks to town centre/square /Churchill square and generally about. Again nothing on local culture-1st Nations, surprising boring otherwise.
We had to wait 2 hours before we could get access to our room having arrived at 4pm - this was a bad start. Not much thought gone into Gym area - during my stay there was high traffic therefore important to guests. It would be great to have a pool/sauna/steam room on site as well. Internet was unbelievable slow and frustrating - as an overseas traveler this was important for me to communicate with family and likewise, them with me.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Outdated hotel, good location

Posted Jul 10, 2015
Paid extra for river view and was greeted by window washer ropes on all the length of the window so curtains were closed most of the day throughout my whole 3 day stay - waste of money. Hole in the wall as if someone punched it. Chunk missing out of an electrical outlet (very safe). Tub was more yellow than while from so much use. Mold on the sink. Fan in the bathroom full of dust. Sheets were too short for the bed so the matress was exposed. Hotel needs a serious renovation. Buffet breakfast $20, pet fee $75 per stay, underground parking $15 for self and $20 for valet, wifi free but signal is poor in the room.