Ratings based on 357 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ft. McMurray

Nice hotel close to downtown amenities.

Posted Sep 15, 2014
I liked the hotel as a whole. It has beautiful river valley views The only complaint was room was too warm. I had turned thermostat to 16 C. but it didn't make a difference. Wondering if they had it over ridden due to time of year.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rip-off

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Cons: Obviously, parking, free parking.
This hotel does not have free parking like every other hotel. You have to pay $24 to park overnight! And that is only until 9 a.m. After that it is an additional $7 per hour. This parking crap alone is a cause to not stay here again and I will not recommend this place to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are so appreciative of your review. My sincere apologies for the frustration you experienced due to parking. In the Edmonton Downtown area valet parking is the standard; it is convenient for our guests and still allows them access to their car 24 hours per day at no additional cost. I'm sorry you did not find us to be a good value, but I welcome your feedback as it allows us to monitor and improve our guest experience. Best, Paul Feddema General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great river valley view

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: It was clean and the staff were pleasant.
Cons: The shampoo/conditioner/location samples in the room... our lotion bottle was there, but it was empty. They should be changed/checked more thoroughly.
Location: It's a great location to check out the downtown sites and it's not far of Whyte Ave. Plus, it easily accesses the River Valley trails.
The room we had overlooked the river valley at it was a really beautiful view to wake up to. The staff at reception were very friendly and super helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Not for Families on a Weekend

Posted Sep 9, 2014
I had stayed at the Courtyard by Marriott on my own some years ago for business. I had been impressed by the rooms and the staff. This time we went as a family unit (mother, father, 16 year old and 13 year old) on a weekend to attend a school reunion. The staff was just as great as experienced previously: very helpful and going above and beyond the call of duty. But the hotel is beginning to show its age. The rugs in the elevators were worn, the upholstered furniture in the room and the bistro downstairs were worn and toilet in the en suite appeared to be the same model used for elementary schools. But, the room was of a great size, the view of the river was grand and the Marriott is one of the few Edmonton downtown hotels with queen sized beds. And they take pets. A family of four can be quite comfortable. Until the "battle of the bands" starts: from Saturday at 10:00 p.m. to Sunday at 2:00 a.m., the music from the bar 5 floors below permeated through the walls and floors. We were exhausted by morning, still to face the road trip home. Perhaps we should have been warned when, returning from the reunion Saturday evening and to get to the elevator, we had to walk past the numerous patrons of the show taking a smoke break with 2 security officers keeping a watchful eye. I do not know if this weekend was unique but as a result of my recent experience, if you are travelling with your family on a weekend in Edmonton, I cannot recommend the Courtyard by Marriott.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Brenda, Thank you acknowledging our spacious rooms and friendly service even though you did not have a restful stay. I’m sorry to hear that noise pollution kept your family from having a restful night’s sleep; please forgive us. Your comfort is our highest priority and I regret that we left you less than completely satisfied. Your feedback is welcomed as it encourages change for future stays. Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Best, Paul Feddema General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great location

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Great location quiet downtown Tavern 1903 across street right hand side excellent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B.

Great stay!

Posted Sep 4, 2014
This is well maintained property that overlooks the river. The room was very comfortable and I slept very well. The staff are very friendly and helpful. I ate in the restaurant and really enjoyed the food. I would recommend this to anyone staying in Edmonton!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Amazing location and service

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Loved it! Staff was great, break was amazing. Location was convenient to downtown.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to downtown.good location,nice staff

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Parking is expensive, food is OK. close to everything, shopping center, west mall is not far either.otherwise is good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in downtown

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Clean rooms, tiny reception, polite staffs. Check out time at 12:00 but they pushed it to 12:30 for us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

NIce hotel....in the downtown core.

Posted Aug 3, 2014
The hotel is extremely close to the LRT station. It was clean and well kept. The hotel staff was accommodating and helpful The only downfall was paid parking. Through the hotel it was $25/night for a small car. Otherwise great location with a beautiful patio restaurant overlooking the river.