Ratings based on 576 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.2 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
2.7 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
1.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Alberta

Very nice stay actually

Posted Jan 14, 2015
The hotel is under renovations so their doing what they can. We stayed in a recently reno'd room and it was beautiful way better than the last room we stayed at here about a year ago. Elevator works again and the restaurant should be up in a few weeks. Greg was our front door man and I absolutely loved him. Very helpful and made the stay worth while.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bait and Switch

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Listed as having a pool. No Pool. Under heavy construction. Very dated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2015 by Adrian T HoJo Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for writing a review regarding our hotel. We appreciate your constructive comments, in particular, about the swimming pool. There is an indoor swimming pool and sauna facility in our hotel, however to the best of our knowledge, it was closed by the previous owner due to cost efficiency reason. Ever since we took over this hotel in late 2013, we did visit all the known websites and update as appropriate. After reviewing your comments, we revisited the website of the online travel agency through which you did the booking, however we could not locate the swimming pool being listed as part of our hotel features and amenities on their website. We then searched all related websites for our hotel and could only locate one of the websites describing "… game room complete with pool and video games …” as part of our features. To ensure we can effectively correct any inaccurate information of our hotel, please kindly advise source of the information you referred to in your review comments. We are pleased to inform you that our restaurant and guest room renovations are now 75% complete with our buffet restaurant scheduled to be opened this month. After that, the indoor swimming pool and sauna facility will be our next ongoing "expansion" project. We value your business and look forward to having you back to enjoy our new buffet restaurant and all other upgraded facilities. Sincerely; HoJo Team
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The hotel itself was alright but

Posted Dec 23, 2014
this hotel is nice its being renovated and improved but it gets a lot of transient foot traffic and had people moving around at all hours. it is annoying and loud. This was only one visit so it may not always be like this. it was cheaply priced hotel so we got what we paid for
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 30, 2014 by Adrian T HoJo Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Guest; We appreciate the time you have spent to write this review. We apologize for the noise that you experienced during your stay with us. Thank you for acknowledging our effort to the improvement of our facilities to serve you better. With the help of our guests like you, we would be able to minimize these kinds of incidents by letting the front staff know the issue and have them resolved immediately. We hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to the city to try our new guestrooms, restaurant and more. Sincerely, The HoJo Team
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary

No good hotel

Posted Dec 15, 2014
The hotel has terrible entrance and dirty. It was with a lot of noisy. In the middle of the night people walking and making noise.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 30, 2014 by Adrian T HoJo Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Guest; We would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are saddened to read that you left the hotel disappointed. We have addressed all of your comments with the concerned departments so as to ensure that they are not repeated in future. The management and staff of the Howard Johnson Hotel is aware that the ongoing renovation of the property has created additional noise. We have asked our contractors to limit their activity to regular business hours. We hope that these incidents will not deter you from visiting The Howard Johnson Hotel Edmonton in the future and you will allow us the opportunity to restore your confidence in us. Once again, thank you and hope to welcome you back again soon. Sincerely; The HoJo Team
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom kelowna

Very old hotel and very run down part of town.

Posted Dec 8, 2014
The restaurant was closed for renovations. The dispensing machines were out of order. There was no place to get so much as a coffee or a bottle of water on the premises. The carpets were so dirty in the rooms I wouldn't walk on them even with socks. The place is generally run down Howard Johnson should be ashamed
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2014 by Adrian T HoJo Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Guest; Thank you very much for spending your time in writing this comment. The issues that you wrote above are very important to us. If you will give us another opportunity to serve you once again, we would be glad to let you try our upgraded deluxe rooms. These are rooms with totally new carpets, furniture, bath and more. We are also excited to invite you to try our new restaurant whcih will open before Christmas. So as with the totally new designed lobby, hallways, buffet and conference center which is the next phase of our makeover. Please call us directly and look for yours truly so that we can talk about all of your concerns. We look forward for your next visit and change the impression you first had at the Howard Johnson Hotel Edmonton. Sincerely, Adrian T. HoJo Edmonton
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

For work

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Not bad, but i was expecting more than we they offer such as low price, free breakfast
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2014 by Adrian T HoJo Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We appreciate your comment. In the coming couple of weeks, our new restaurant will open and food and beverage will be added up to our service and facilities that you will enjoy. As of the moment, our competitive rate will be just for accommodations and basic services. The new Howard Johnson Hotel Edmonton is looking forward for you to try us again, as we are near to the completion of our renovation. Sincerely, Adrian T. HoJo Edmonton
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom b

cleanliness

Posted Nov 10, 2014
This building is in need of a vacuum and just some overall maintenance. Has potential but needs a total make over
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2014 by Adrian T HoJo Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Guest; Thank you for your comment. We apologize for the inconvenience that you encountered during your stay in our hotel. We will definitely have these concerns passed on to the involved departments. The total makeover of the hotel is not far from happening. Next phase of the renovations will be the remodeling of the lobby and hallways, new restaurant (which will open in mid-December) and exterior renovations is scheduled to be early next year. We look forward to have you back once again to let you have a better experience. Sincerely' Adrian T. HoJo Edmonton
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom alberta

Noisy

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Add more computers and staff to assist guests when checking in and out.
Location: Just stayed there for 1 night. Did not get the chance to go around the area. Although there were pharmacies and a bank close to the hotel.
Doors slam when closing making so much noise. "Quiet time is 10 pm", but the doors were just noisy as guests come and go even at the middle of the night. And the other guests when they talk were so loud. The hotel needs to do renovation to improve the sound proofing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2014 by Adrian T HoJo Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Guest; We apologize for the inconvenience that you have experienced during your stay with us. Our next phase of guest room renovation will take place in a couple of weeks from now. And part of it is better insulation and sound proofing of our rooms. We would be glad to see you once again and try our freshly upgraded rooms which are ready for your occupancy. Sincerely, Adrian T. HoJo Edmonton
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2014 by Adrian T HoJo Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Guest; We very much appreciate the time you have spent to rate your stay with us. We would be glad to have you back again soon. And have a better experience with new Howard Johnson Hotel Edmonton that we offer. Sincerely; Adrian T. HoJo Edmonton
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2014 by Adrian T HoJo Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Guest; We very much appreciate the time you have spent to rate your stay with us. We would be glad to have you back again soon. And have a better experience with new Howard Johnson Hotel Edmonton that we offer. Sincerely; Adrian T. HoJo Edmonton
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I would find a different hotle

Posted Oct 25, 2014
Pros: Very quite.
Cons: The housekeeping and front desk, must work together.
My wife and I arrived at 4;30 PM. We were given keys to are room however, the room was not made. We returned to the front desk to ask for another room. The front desk clerk did not believe us, so the manager took a look for himself. We received keys to another room, and the manager assisted us. The room was made, so he left. However, when we turned on the bathroom light, the exhaust fan just screamed. So, back to the font desk. The manager offered us an upgrade room. However, the front desk clerk said they where all booked. The manager looked and two rooms were available. The upgraded room was a lot nicer than the standard room. The finished work in the washroom was very messy. We had the room booked for two nights. We returned back to the hotel around 10PM in are second night. Guess what?? The room was not made.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2014 by Adrian T HoJo Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Guest; We are very saddened of the very unpleasant stay that you have experienced while you are with us. And basing on your review, we had met with all the concerned staff and we made sure that your concerns are taken seriously for better service to our guests in the future. One step that we took is we hired new sets of housekeepers which are more reliable, responsible and more efficient in doing their tasks. We are very hopeful to have you back with us once again. experience a better and more comfortable stay. And try our new facilities which is on it's way. Sincerely, Adrian T. HoJo Edmonton