Ratings based on 1,589 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Interesting and noisy clients.

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: Downtown and close to events.
Cons: A quieter experience, which understandably is not entirely within the hotels control.
Location: Hotel is located downtown, close to city transportation options, shopping, and restaurants.
The guests in the room across the hall were very noisy throughout our stay. Lots of slamming doors and loud voices throughout the night. Although this is not the fault of the hotel, it made for a long, tiring experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AB

Great location

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Very nice place to stay in a safe and pretty part of the downtown-friendly staff, free parking, wonderful breakfast included-and a great Starbucks and restaurant on the main floor! We loved it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable, quiet hotel - very nice.

Posted Jun 20, 2015
We stayed for 5 nights during a conference. The room was very comfortable; staff friendly. Lobby area very pleasant, with a small garden outside. Absolutely excellent buffet breakfasts.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Very nice hotel. Our initial attempt at check in was very unpleasant but manager was very kind and made up for our bad experience. Hotel is very nice, great rooms. Breakfast needs a little more variety, like different eggs, bacon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Spotlessly clean rooms and good breakfast buffet

Posted Jun 13, 2015
Room clean but very small closet immediately adjacent to room door was awkward. Companion room had open pipe work owing to faulty facia. Otherwise rooms very comfortable and clean, breakfast buffet good, and conveniently located for metro and exploration on foot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from British Columbia

Great hotel close to beautiful Parliament Building

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Cons: Better air-conditioning in rooms.
I'm super picky when it comes to service and cleanliness and was very pleased with both at the Matrix. This hotel offers a modern decor and rooms were clean and tidy. Our room and bathroom were small but cozy. Nice to have a fridge included in the room (ask beforehand to have it cleared out if you're looking to fill it with your own items). Very pleased with the free hot breakfast buffet. Most, if not all food was home-made (including pastries). We LOVED having free access to the espresso/latte/americano machine all day! - Nice touch Matrix. Also, impressed to see a custodian disinfecting the stairway handrails, doorknobs etc. Hotel is a few minutes walk from the beautiful Parliament Building. Starbucks located in the same building and many nice restaurants close by. Will definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Matrix

Posted Jun 7, 2015
Excellent and highly recommended. Very tasteful and well staffed. Scroumptious brekkie
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AB

Room was nicely decorated and laid out.

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Not alot of room in the parking areas for a full size pickup. Thermostat in the room read 16c but felt much hotter but we were unable to turn it down. Cordless phone was dead and would not recharge...needed new batteries.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Very nice hotel near downtown.

Posted May 25, 2015
Pros: Location of hotel, size of hotel, comfortable rooms, very good breakfast included.
Cons: Nothing really needs improvement.
Location: I only needed a place near Canada Place. Only a 15 minute walk away.
Comfortable rooms. Convenient to get downtown. Breakfast included was excellent. Staff friendly. No complaints.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Modern and economical

Posted May 22, 2015
Clean rooms, modern decor, breakfast buffet and parking included - in comparison to other hotels in the area - a good choice. Shower could have had a little more pressure for my liking and with the wrong neighbors it had the potential to be loud.