Ratings based on 841 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakville

Edmonton visitl

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: Clean, friendly staff
Cons: Parking was a costly added expense.
Location: Downtown location....however the immediate area is not the best place to walk at night.
Good central location. Unfortunately we were more interested in the U of Alberta area.. Construction was a small distraction.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from grande prairie, ab

Clean and right downtown

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: clean and quit room
Cons: Parking was to expensive $31 per night!
Location: lots to do near by stores are right across the hotel
It was pleasant stay and close to lots of amenities
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Central location
Cons: It will be way better when construction outside is completed
Sauna and pool area were great, lots of towels, clean area. Quiet room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from winnipeg mb

Great staff ok hotel

Posted Aug 27, 2014
The staff at this hotel is fantastic. Very friendly and informative. However the hotel need work. All the smoke alarms on our floor were coming off the wall. The wallpaper was coming off the wall in my room. The ice machine on the floor both above and below my room were broken so I had to go 3 floors either way for ice. The hotel is located right across the street from city center mall which was convenient for eating.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alberta

2 double beds???

Posted Aug 26, 2014
I booked a room for me, my wife and my 2 kids, ages 7 and 4. The hotel itself was ok, kind of old and dated but not terrible. The room was clean but sleeping accommodations were brutal. I have never seen a hotel that had 2 double beds before, I guess I should have read the review a little closer because the bed was very small for a couple to sleep in. Not only that, there was only 2 pillows on each bed, which I also found a little odd. Needless to say, our sleep was not great. I think maybe next time I would spend a little more money and stay somewhere else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Great retreat

Posted Aug 26, 2014
I enjoyed the night. The staff were very polite and helpful. My room was neat and clean. If was a restful night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Beware the $31 daily sur charge for parking

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Convenient to downtown.
Cons: Room was only average & close captions on TV only worked on some channels.
Location: downtown high end restaurants mall shopping.
Location was OK but if you have a car go somewhere else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Edonton Hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Location, has Chop restaurant on site, friendly staff
Cons: they are currently renovating so improvements already being taken care of
Location: We went for 1 specific reason, great location for train access to all city events.
We stayed in Edmonton for the Canadian Derby, hotel in great location for train access to the whole city. Hotel staff were great and we were given an expedia upgrade without having to ask.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Just a Joke!!!!!! Money Grabber!!

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Location was blocked by street closures and no free hotel parking
My wife and I had stayed at the Sutton Place Hotel in Vancouver and had an unbelievable fantastic experience. We were going to Edmonton and thus expected the Sutton Place Hotel to be at the level we had experienced in Vancouver. Boy What a Let Down!!!!!!!!. First of all the room rate seemed reasonable until we were told after check in that there was a $30.00 fee for parking as well. What is up with that!!! Our room had filthy old carpets so bad that we kept our shoes on all the time. The air conditioning was a joke it barley worked. The shower head in the bathroom had so much white calcium build up on it that you could almost scrape it off. The swimming pool was so hot and humid you could not breathe so we never went . The hallway lights by the elevator were burnt out. I went down to the front desk and asked if we could each have a bottle and I was told to take it from the cooler beside the front desk. While checking out I payed my bill and left not realizing that I had been billed $5.00 for the water. I was also charged for 1 local phone call. Not a very good way to treat a club member. As a result they have lost all my future business and i definitely will not ever recommend this hotel. We stayed the following night at the Radisson South where for the same price included parking warm pool,2 free liquor tickets and 3 buffet breakfasts. The room they gave us was a business suite with a couch that was like a palace compared to the Sutton. We became members
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Great downtown location.

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: The location and our upgraded room. Wonder It is worth upgrading your room and paying more so that you pay less for the parking. Parking is $31 a day
Cons: Maintenance of the pool and a choice for breakfast on the weekend. Why not add a simple coffee and muffin stop off the main lobby on weekends?
Location: The location is perfect for downtown and having the mall right next door is a real bonus.
The location and staff are great. The Monday to Friday breakfast nook is well worth the visit but do NOT go to the Chop Restaurant breakfast on the second floor on the weekends. It is very dark and overpriced. Take a walk and find something else. We had read other reviews on the hotel and chose to stay away from the elevators and on a high floor. Those were great tips. One elevator in three was not working but we were able to live with that. The hotel is in renovations but that poses no problem for guests. The swimming pool was a disappointment. Two out of the three times I visited it I would not swim since the pools water was not circulating and there was a terrible frothy scum all over the surface. We had a very enjoyable room service meal. All in all, we will be happy to return to the Sutton but will avoid breakfast in the overpriced cavern Chop as well as avoid the pool (unless it is better maintained.) Good experiences at the front desk.