Ratings based on 434 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Watch out for rate tricks

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Refused to honour discounts offered on the website after refusing to match Expedia rate. Be very careful if booking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Lethbridge, AB

Varscona Hotel

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: Valet parking, outside appearance, second cup in the lobby
Cons: Lobby bathrooms for patrons, renovations in the room
Location: Location is great as it is right on Whyte Ave with many restaurants and shops nearby
Hotel bathroom and bedroom was clean and comfortable though the bathroom was aged and the tub appeared to be quite old. It overall was a pleasant stay as they staff is very accommodating and the valet parking was well executed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Montreal, Quebec

Great for a business trip!

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: The location for me was terrific, and the staff was always ready to answer my questions with a smile!
Location: Funky restaurants, fun little shops, all close by. There were a few 'colourful' types around at all hours but overall it was fine.
The staff provided exceptional service - I travel a lot and really appreciate the extra little touches that I found at the Varscona - bathrobes, lots of places to plug in cell phone chargers and laptops, fridge and microwave, a great desk for working. The fitness facilities were top of the line and the neighbourhood is interesting with lots of restaurants close by.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Katefrom Fort McMurray

Needs some updating

Posted Aug 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was outdated and not very clean. Overall dirty room The AC didn't work There was a bar outside of our window and music played until 2am The hotel was a maze not laid out very well Service was good front desk was friendly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom HB

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Fore sure, I advice this hotel to my friends. The room was very clean and comfortable and in one word excellent!!! Breakfast was very good and I liked the hotel staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary, AB

Great Hotel on Whyte Ave

Posted Aug 14, 2014
The hotel was lovely, clean and right in the middle of the great nightlife on Whyte Ave. The continental breakfast was great too, fresh and delicious. I would highly recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel. Nice experience

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Vale parking it was good to just walk in! Hotel staff was nice and very accommodating to our needs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to all amenities

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Excellent service and cleanness. Recent re-furbish.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jessicafrom Spruce Grove

Posted Aug 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great friendly staff, nice rooms and excellent location. Would definitely stay here again!