Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manila

Reasonable workplace for a few days

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: view, staff
Cons: as above
Location: bit of a rort getting a cab to town, the drivers never have change so 700 VT pretty much always becomes 1000 if you don't have change.
Restaurant menus are super dull and bland. Food was very disappointing. I've gone back several times and found the menu never changes. Internet is sporadically excellent and terrible/unusable. BUT the staff were excellent and the outlook is nice, and the activities. Swimming pool was WAY too cold.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2014 by Thomas, Hotel Management
Good Morning Julie Thank you for taking the time to write a review. In the next two weeks we will be changing the menu's and adding a couple of new dining experiences into the resort which should be up and ready for your next trip. Sorry to hear about the internet speed something I have asked the team to check with our suppliers to ensure it is perform as designed. Look forward to welcoming you back to Vanuatu in the near future. Tankiu tumas Thomas Tait General Manager Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sam

Great place for family and kids.

Posted Apr 26, 2014
Wonderful! Few to many stairs but great place and staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2014 by Thomas, Hotel Management
Good Afternoon Sam Thank you for the review and comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Vanuatu in the near future. Tankiu tumas Thomas Tait General Manager Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jan from Sunshsine coast, Australia

Over the water bungalows highly recommended.

Posted Feb 6, 2014
Pros: Loved the surrounding grounds and the scenery were beautiful. The gardens and beach were mmaculately attended by all the staff.
Cons: The hotel blocks of accommodation very dated need a refurbishment asap!
Location: We hired a car and travelled around the island. Visited the Cascades - well worth the hike to the top-beautiful. Snorkelled at hideaway beach - great
Initially disappointed but after discussion with the managers moved to an overwater bungalow which made a huge difference. Loved it. Treated like a VIP all week and the staff were brilliant. Thank you especially to Kimberley and Mark who made our holiday very special.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alexandra from Sydney

Very nice resort

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Pros: I liked the overwater bungalows which were private and away from the main resort and noise of the kids.
Cons: Some solar lights along the whole road from the main resort to the island so you can walk safely. It was difficult to see as there are no lights.
Location: Location was great walking distance to Port Villa.
Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Holiday Inn. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the overwater bungalow was great very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Olga from Sydney , Australia

Second stay for us, will be back!

Posted Sep 21, 2013
We loved the hotel last year and came back again just last week. Freindly stuff, even though this time it was so many guests. Food is excellent, especially a la carte, maybe a bit more variety will be nice. Kids club is very handy, ladies there are so good, my boys loved to play there and I had time to relax at the pool. I love how big the area of hotel and lagoon is so peacefull ( after couple cups of kava especially :) ), you just want to come back. Don't miss happy hour at the pool bar, kava tasting and fire dancing show! We will be back again for sure, keep it up guys!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2014 by Thomas, Hotel Management
Good Morning Olga Thanks for the review! By the time you arrive back for that next stay we will have introduced our new Pizza Oven down at the pool bar and our Executive Chef James Robinson has the team ready for a complete menu change mid-October which will certainly add that little more variety into the dining experiences. Look forward to seeing you back for that third stay soon. Thomas Thomas Tait General Manager Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jo from brisbane

Lovely staff & great place to stay

Posted Sep 20, 2013
Besides a problem with our booking, we had a perfect holiday at holiday inn resort!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2014 by Thomas, Hotel Management
Good Morning Jo Thanks for the review. Sorry to hear that there was a problem on your arrival at the resort but it would seem we made up for it during your stay! Hope to welcome you back to the resort in the near future. Tankiu tumas Thomas Thomas Tait General Manager Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by casey from sydney

Posted Sep 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Had dinner at restraunt twice. Pretty expensive and they got the order wrong twice
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 14, 2013 by Thomas, Hotel Management
Good Evening Casey Thank you for the review and I am sorry to hear that the restaurant did not meet your expectations on this trip. Hopefully we will see you back in Vanuatu in the near future. Tankiu tumas Thomas Tait General Manager Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by PW from Sydney, Australia

Fun family stay

Posted Aug 23, 2013
Pros: - Facilities : pools, kayaking on the lagoon - Beds : extremely comfortable - Breakfast - Happy Hour
Cons: - Some of decor is dated - More energised kids club staff - Better scrutiny of bill at checkout - numerous big errors, took 25 mins to check-out
Location: - Good restaurants in Port Vila; Chill, Elan, both beautiful location/good food + atmosphere. Jardin des Saveurs - good French food, but pretentious
We visited in August 2013 with our two young children. The Holiday Inn is a nice complex and very geared up for families. It's in a beautiful location eight on the lagoon, and as others have commented, the grounds are beautiful and very well maintained. A few comments : - Facilities are very good, swimming pools are fantastic, though not heated so it does get a little cold in the winter months. Adult pool is a peaceful haven, and we found this was virtually unused during our stay - Rooms on the whole are nice. We had adjoining ground floor lagoon view rooms. There is a definite musty smell in the rooms, but we've encountered similar in other resorts in the Pacific, so nothing that really concerned us. Beds are great, very comfortable. The rooms themselves are fine, though a bit rough around the edges (worn paint in corners, cushions not spotlessly clean, etc). - Kids Club has nice facilities for younger children; lots of puzzles, toys etc. The staff are friendly, though we did find most had a distinct lack of energy when it came to playing with the kids. Our 4 year was never buzzing with energy when he left, and was sitting watching TV every time we picked him up - Breakfast is excellent in the hotel. A great choice, varying menu and very good quality. Joe the omelette man is a star! Our dinner experience was average, though we only dined in the hotel once. Kids meals are good. Overall we'd recommend the Holiday Inn to others.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2014 by Thomas, Hotel Management
Good Morning PW Thank you for your 'fun' review. Some great feedback for the team and sorry to hear that the kids club didn't quite hit the mark with your four year old. We will certainly take the feedback on-board as the the range of activities in the kids club should make the TV not really that interesting! Hope to welcome you all back to Vanuatu in the near future. Tankiu tumas Thomas Thomas Tait General Manager Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by candandice from Australia

Great place

Posted Jul 25, 2013
Pros: Helpful staff. Lovely rooms. Great to have use of catamaran and other equipment in the lagoon.
Cons: Fire show not using traditional music.
Location: Close to town you can walk but its up a hill.
Had a wonderful time. Lovely friendly staff. The room was very clean and comfortable. The only thing I would change nothing to do with the hotel itself is to add more traditional music to the fire show. I have to admit i cringed with some of the music chooses. Loved the traditional band by the pool. Thank you so much.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2014 by Thomas, Hotel Management
Good Morning candandice Thank you for the 'great' review. We will certainly pass the message onto Won Smal Bag reagrding the fire show but as you sure the team is fairly young and certainly enjoy some of the current hits which I would admit are not to everyone's taste! Hipe to see you back in VAnuatu in the near future. Tankiu tumas Thomas Thomas Tait General Manager Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Caryn from Sydney, Australia

Thumbs up to refurbed Holiday Inn (ex Meridian)

Posted Jun 29, 2013
Pros: Jill & the Kids Club Staff (even though our boy is too old now) still remembered us & were full of big hugs & laughs! Very Vanuatu!
Cons: No Tanna Coffee! Should be an option at the least (it is the best coffee- smokin'!)
Location: Good Location - AUD$5 to town in taxi. Just off the beginning of the ring road around the island - easy drive to all the best beaches & attractions.
It has had a much needed refurbishment -pool area is fantastic for children. A shame that they have dispensed with the "chief" concept for concierge - Sam is still there but not in the full regalia. The Ni-Vanuatan staff are much more professional which is good and bad as a few have lost their natural charm & gorgeousness. Care should be taken to prevent the "staged" feel of Fijian hotels & staff. Good to see local fruits & produce on the menu & buffet. It is a great place for families and for conference groups. The Ni-Vanuatan activities team are brilliant and fun - always willing to start up beach volleyball, soccer - anything that the kids want. For couples probably lacks nightlife (apart from Casino) and with children comes chaos. Best restaurant in Port Vila is Le Jardin des Saveur (ex Santo) over past Le Lagon & past the turnoff to the docks. Traditional French cuisine with organic local produce.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2014 by Thomas, Hotel Management
Good Afternoon Caryn Thank you for your review. Couple of good points here for us to be mindful of and we have certainly discussed them since your review to ensure keep that true Vanuatu experience alive as much as possible. Hope to see you back in Vanuatu in the near future. Tankiu tumas Thomas Tait General Manager Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu